LISTENER

Karen M.

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 13
  • helpful votes
  • 35
  • ratings
Bitter Orange cover art
  • Bitter Orange

  • By: Claire Fuller
  • Narrated by: Rachel Bavidge
  • Length: 9 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 171
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 159
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 158

From the attic of a dilapidated English country house, she sees them - Cara first: dark and beautiful, clinging to a marble fountain of Cupid, and Peter, an Apollo. It is 1969, and they are spending the summer in the rooms below hers while Frances writes a report on the follies in the garden for the absent American owner. But she is distracted. Beneath a floorboard in her bathroom, she discovers a peephole which gives her access to her neighbours' private lives. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant slow burner.

  • By Rhian jones on 09-11-18

Good story, poor narration

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-11-18

I enjoyed the story. It kept me gripped although the ending hardly came as a surprise. The narration however was very irritating. The narrator's voice suited the main character but the portrayal of the upper class accents was excruciating. I thought I had discovered a clue about Cara : namely that she didn't in fact originate from Ireland, because the country "Ireland" was consistently pronounced as "island" missing out the "r" completely - something I'm sure an Irish person would never do. Until I joined Audible I had no idea of the importance of the narration and what a skill the people who can do it well, possess. I'm thinking of Timothy West and Juliet Stevenson. The good ones are in the minority I'm afraid.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Finding Sky cover art
  • Finding Sky

  • Benedict Brothers Trilogy, Book 1
  • By: Joss Stirling
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Length: 8 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 84
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59

You have half our gifts, I have the other ...When English girl Sky catches a glimpse of bad boy Zed in her new American high school, she can't get him out of her head. He talks to her with his thoughts. He reads her mind. He is the boy she will love for ever. Shadows stalk her past but a new evil threatens her future. She must face the dark even if it means losing her heart. Will Sky have the strength to embrace her nd be brave enough to control her own destiny, or will the demons of her past prevent her from realizing

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Light reading

  • By Kindling Micky on 07-04-13

Unbelievable (literally)

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-03-18

Any additional comments?

I bought this book because I had absolutely loved "Don't trust me":It was intriguing, well written, exciting and the narration excellent. I am so disappointed with "Finding Sky" I find it hard to believe the two books have the same author. Puerile rubbish combined with awful narration.

Sometimes I Lie cover art
  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,679
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,470
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,471

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Utter nonsense

  • By S. Christie on 30-04-18

Absolutely brilliant.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-05-17

Any additional comments?

Loved everything about this book. Unusual story. Gripping from start to finish and perfectly narrated.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep cover art
  • The Trouble with Goats and Sheep

  • By: Joanna Cannon
  • Narrated by: Paula Wilcox
  • Length: 11 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,662
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,553
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,552

England, 1976. Mrs Creasy is missing, and The Avenue is alive with whispers. As the summer shimmers endlessly on, 10-year-olds Grace and Tilly decide to take matters into their own hands. And as the cul-de-sac starts giving up its secrets, the amateur detectives will find much more than they imagined.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 70s relived with goats and sheep

  • By Sigrin on 19-01-17

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-05-17

If you could sum up The Trouble with Goats and Sheep in three words, what would they be?

Funny, poignant and compelling.

What did you like best about this story?

Made me remember what it was like being a child brought up in the north of England.

What about Paula Wilcox’s performance did you like?

Great performance: helped bring the story to life

Any additional comments?

I hope Joanna Cannon publishes another book soon.

Into the Water cover art
  • Into the Water

  • By: Paula Hawkins
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church, Sophie Aldred, Daniel Weyman, and others
  • Length: 11 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,043
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,870
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 1,861

Random House presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins, read by Imogen Church, Sophie Aldred, Daniel Weyman, Rachel Bavidge and Laura Aikman. The addictive new psychological thriller from the author of The Girl on the Train, the runaway Sunday Times Number One best seller and global phenomenon. In the last days before her death, Nel called her sister. Jules didn't pick up the phone, ignoring her plea for help.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Out of the Hype Comes Real Quality!

  • By Simon on 03-05-17

A disappointment

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-05-17

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I quite enjoyed The girl on the Train. I didn't consider it a masterpiece but the characters were plausible and I didn't guess the outcome until nearly the end. Into the Water is completely the opposite: I couldn't believe in the characters and and I thought it fairly obvious who had done what from early on.

What could Paula Hawkins have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Started again with a different idea!

What didn’t you like about the narrators’s performance?

The narrators did their job well enough apart from the one reading the part of Jules who gave a truly awful wooden performance. If she had been tasked with reading the whole book I would have given up after 10 minutes.

If this book were a film would you go see it?

No

Any additional comments?

I wish Paula Hawkins luck with her next book.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful

Burning Bright cover art
  • Burning Bright

  • By: Helen Dunmore
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 10 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 24
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 12
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 12

Nadine, a 16-year-old runaway new to the city, is set up in a decaying Georgian house by her Finnish lover, Kai. Slowly she begins to suspect that Kai and his partner, Tony, have plans for her that have nothing to do with love. "Be careful", warns Enid, a sitting tenant in the house, whose own tragic past means that she knows all about survival. When Nadine discovers that she has been groomed for renting out to a government minister with special tastes, Enid's warning takes on a prophetic quality.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book, great narrator

  • By Katie on 23-12-12

Implausible plot

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-04-16

What disappointed you about Burning Bright?

The most positive observation I can make is that I did listen to this book all the way through but it really is the most implausible story line. From time to time it is padded out with long, boring episodes which are totally superfluous to the plot. The quality of the writing is inconsistent, but when Helen Dunmore begins referring to minor characters by that jarring recognition technique of naming them by the most obvious thing about them e.g. Grey Suit I really lose patience.

Would you ever listen to anything by Helen Dunmore again?

No I wouldn't

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

On the whole the narrator gives a good performance, although I was surprised when it was revealed that one of her impersonations , whom I had been imagining as Paul McCartney, had actually been born and bred in Manchester.

Any additional comments?


The narrator could do with taking a trip "up north" and listen to some regional accents.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The Stranger House cover art
  • The Stranger House

  • By: Reginald Hill
  • Narrated by: Gordon Griffin
  • Length: 16 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 320
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 172
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 172

For years, the Stranger House has stood in the village of Illthwaite, offering refuge to travellers. People like Sam, a brilliant young mathematician, who believes that anything that can't be explained by maths isn't worth explaining. And Miguel, a historian running from a priests' seminary, who sees ghosts. Sam is an experienced young woman, Miguel a 26-year-old virgin.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good listen in the end

  • By Lucy C. on 04-07-11

Major disappointment.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-04-16

Any additional comments?

I am struggling to continue listening to this book.The only reason that I didn't give up after 5 minutes is that I absolutely loved the Woodcutter and kept waiting to be just as absorbed by this story. It isn't happening.. The plot is disjointed and dull and the narrator doesn't help with his awful Australian accent and all the other characters, regardless of age, gender or class, sounding like elderly middle class men. What a disappointment.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful