LISTENER

CHRIS

Nantwich, United Kingdom
  • 5
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 94
  • ratings
  • The Magic Cottage

  • By: James Herbert
  • Narrated by: Kris Dyer
  • Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 195
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 185
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 183

The nightmare home. We thought we'd found our haven, a cottage deep in the heart of the forest. Quaint, charming, maybe a little run-down, but so peaceful. The woodland animals and birds couldn't have been more neighbourly. That was the first part of the Magic. Midge's painting and my music soared to new heights of creativity. That was another part of the Magic. Our sensing, our feelings, our love for each other - well, that became the supreme Magic. But the cottage had an alternative side. The Bad Magic.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great story, spoiled by the Narrator

  • By Nathan Carr on 11-04-16

Great book let down by poor narration !

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-11-18

I read this book in paperback form 25 years so knew it was a great story and read but was intrigued to listen to the audio version having forgotten most of the plot line. The good news is that the story still stands up after all these years as you'd expect from James Herbert. The bad news is that Kris Dyer's interpretation of the leading female starts as Julian Clary and ends up being David Mitchell. The fact that the character is called Midge makes this worse as I ended up hearing it as "Mitch" further enhancing the vision I had listening to it of David Mitchell ......seriously, as amusing as this is (for a while) it becomes increasingly more irritating and eventually starts to ruin the story. Sorry Kris, I have listened to you before and your reading has been good but on this occasion you just got it badly wrong ....!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Invention of Fire

  • By: Bruce Holsinger
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 13 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 41
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 36
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 35

The richly atmospheric new historical thriller featuring John Gower, poet and trader of secrets. Set in the turbulent 14th century, this is perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom. London, 1386: Young King Richard II faces the double threat of a French invasion and growing unrest amongst his barons - and now there's evil afoot in the city. Sixteen corpses have been discovered in a sewer, their wounds like none ever seen before. One thing is clear: Whoever threw the bodies into the sewer knew they would be found - and was powerful enough not to care.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Splendid medieval conspiracy romp.

  • By janice on 16-10-15

Hated it from start to where I gave up ....!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-05-17

What disappointed you about The Invention of Fire?

Confused story, unlikeable main character, average narration ....just very very boring

What was most disappointing about Bruce Holsinger’s story?

Lack of action, confusion in style of writing, tedium

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Simon Vance?

Jonathan Keeble, Anton Lesser

What character would you cut from The Invention of Fire?

difficult to choose just one. There were far too many who sounded the same

Any additional comments?

I was really looking forward to this book but unfortunately it was one of only 3 I have not been able to finish due to the tedium. When you consider I have listened to Shogun at 55 hours long and this is only 13 hours .....

  • The Death of Robin Hood

  • By: Angus Donald
  • Narrated by: Mike Rogers
  • Length: 13 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 97
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 90
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 90

'I charge you, Sir Alan Dale, with administering my death. At the end of the game, I would rather die by your hand than any other.' England rebels. War rages across the land. In the wake of Magna Carta, King John's treachery is revealed, and the barons rise against him once more. Fighting with them is the Earl of Locksley - the former outlaw Robin Hood - and his right-hand man, Sir Alan Dale.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So sorry it's over

  • By Kingy on 31-10-18

Like losing an old friend !

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-04-17

Where does The Death of Robin Hood rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

As a series of 8 books these are the best I've listened to... over the past few years I've listened to each book stand alone as they were released but decided to listen to them all again prior to the final installment. It's taken me 3 months but now it's over I can honestly say it's like saying a final goodbye to an old friend

Who was your favorite character and why?

Obviously Alan Dale stands out as he feels part of the listener but Angus Donald did a fantastic job with Robin making him as Swashbuckling as Errol Flyn but as flawed, inhumane yet charismatic as Alan Rickmans Sheriff of Nottingham

Have you listened to any of Mike Rogers’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I've only listened to Mike in relation to this series but what a job he does! He makes every character sound different. His tone and general reading make the books come alive

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

The Real Story of the Legend !

Any additional comments?

Please do yourself a favour and read these books. You can't help but think this is as close to how Robin and his men really were .....10/10 listens !!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Traitor's Field

  • By: Robert Wilton
  • Narrated by: Cameron Stewart
  • Length: 19 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 40
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 36
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 34

It is 1648 and Britain is at war with itself. The Royalists are defeated but Parliament is in turmoil, its power weakened by internal discord. Royalism's last hope is Sir Mortimer Shay, a ruthless veteran of decades of intrigue who must rebuild a credible threat to Cromwell's rule, whatever the cost. John Thurloe is a young official in Cromwell's service. Confronted by the extent of the Royalists' secret intelligence network, he will have to fight the true power reaching into every corner of society: the Comptrollerate-General for Scrutiny and Survey.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A nice surprise.

  • By Steven on 08-09-13

A confusing book that left me feeling frustrated

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-02-14

What would have made Traitor's Field better?

If the author had defined his characters better rather than let several of them morph into each other. The plot and style of writing was far too confusing for an audio book as it doesn't allow you to flick back to review chapters already read.

Would you ever listen to anything by Robert Wilton again?

Sadly not, he try's to write in a style similar to Hilary Mantel buts sadly fails

How did the narrator detract from the book?

He didn't , he tried his best with the material given

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

No not really. I generally enjoy listening to audio books but could not wait to finish this one. The only redeeming quality it had was that I felt the need to finish it rather than feel I'd wasted money

Any additional comments?

If you like books set during The English Civil War try Bleeding Land by Giles Kristian first

  • Dracula [Audible Edition]

  • By: Bram Stoker
  • Narrated by: Alan Cumming, Tim Curry, Simon Vance, and others
  • Length: 15 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,810
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,588
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,592

The modern audience hasn't had a chance to truly appreciate the unknowing dread that readers would have felt when reading Bram Stoker's original 1897 manuscript. Most modern productions employ campiness or sound effects to try to bring back that gothic tension, but we've tried something different. By returning to Stoker's original storytelling structure - a series of letters and journal entries voiced by Jonathan Harker, Dr. Van Helsing, and other characters - with an all-star cast of narrators, we've sought to recapture its originally intended horror and power.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Kallgren lowers the rating

  • By Amazon Customer on 15-05-16

Some poor narration lets this down !

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-10-13

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

It wasn't the book it was poor accent from one of the female actors

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

The story is a classic, it shouldn't be changed

How could the performance have been better?

One female lost me with her Yorkshire accent , I couldn't understand a word she said. She then made Van Helsing sound like Dracula with an East European accent instead of a Dutch one ........ very disapointing

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Dracula [Audible Edition]?

I would have re-cast Mina Murray with somebody who could perform the right way

0 of 1 people found this review helpful