LISTENER

Steven

Leeds, United Kingdom
  • 39
  • reviews
  • 23
  • helpful votes
  • 44
  • ratings
  • Middlemarch

  • By: George Eliot
  • Narrated by: Juliet Stevenson
  • Length: 35 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,191
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 950
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 945

Dorothea Brooke is an ardent idealist who represses her vivacity and intelligence for the cold, theological pedant Casaubon. One man understands her true nature: the artist Will Ladislaw. But how can love triumph against her sense of duty and Casaubon’s mean spirit? Meanwhile, in the little world of Middlemarch, the broader world is mirrored: the world of politics, social change, and reforms, as well as betrayal, greed, blackmail, ambition, and disappointment.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • All consuming

  • By Caro on 27-04-11

epic

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-11-18

well why use one word when 20 will do , sums this book up. prepare for a long haul.
many many believable characters, plots sub plots relationships loves and losses, a bit confusing at times and strangely unbelievable that people went on like that. however, a good epic portrayal of the times

  • Lethal White

  • Cormoran Strike, Book 4
  • By: Robert Galbraith
  • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
  • Length: 22 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,496
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4,199
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,175

When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The most epic Galbraith/Rowling novel yet

  • By Mikey on 19-09-18

ahhhh Strike !

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-10-18

Another fantastic story about Strike and Robin.
as expected great writing, storytelling, descriptive loves laughs and twists.
A few in answered questions but I'm sure on a second listen will get them !
fantasticly narrated as always

  • Nomad

  • By: James Swallow
  • Narrated by: Colin Mace
  • Length: 16 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,178
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,100
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,098

Marc Dane is an MI6 field agent at home behind a computer screen, one step away from the action. But when a brutal attack on his team leaves Marc as the only survivor - and with the shocking knowledge that there are traitors inside MI6 - he's forced into the front line. However, the evidence seems to point towards Marc as the perpetrator of the attack. Accused of betraying his country, he must race against time to clear his name.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • excellent narration

  • By Amazon Customer on 30-05-17

Good listen

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-10-18

good listen, great plot well narrated. full of technical info easily explained. a bit unbelievable in places...or is it ??

  • Why Mummy Swears

  • By: Gill Sims
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 11 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 173
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 151
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 149

Why Mummy Swears is the much anticipated new novel from Gill Sims, author of the hilarious Why Mummy Drinks and online sensation Peter and Jane. It’s every parents’ nightmare - the start of the school holidays - and instead of sitting in the sun, reading a book over a cold, crisp glass of Pinot Grigio, Mummy has two bored moppets to attend to. After frantically booking sports camps, child minder slots, not to mention time off work, Mummy is exhausted. But this is only the beginning....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • LOVE LOVE LOVE it.

  • By Kathryn Knight on 16-07-18

Good follow up

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-10-18

A good follow up from "Why mummy drinks"
as this set the 'bar' very high any follow up would struggle as this sadly did in places
Gill Sims writes easily about every day family life with some very funny twists.
hopefully she'll bring out new stories new characters which will make us laugh out loud.
narrator very good and believable

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,189
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,883
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,877

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

  • By Pete on 02-12-16

same story different twist

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-09-18

no different from a lot of recent novels, girl in a train type. nice twist with the medical side though. Natation confusing having male and female narrators thus different voices for same charactors. easy listen easy 'who drone it'

  • Don't Trust Me

  • By: Joss Stirling
  • Narrated by: Olivia Mace, Beth Eyre, Simon Bubb
  • Length: 11 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 262
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 238
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 237

Does Jessica know what the truth is? A stunning psychological debut with a shocking twist. When she arrives at work to discover every trace of the company she was working for has disappeared, Jessica's life spirals into free fall. Her romance with Michael, a celebrated criminologist, is already in trouble. He is sick of the unpredictable behaviour caused by her ADHD and is convinced she is a fantasist. When his flat is burgled and precious belongings that remind him of his dead wife are stolen, he blames her.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Couldn't stop listening ...,

  • By Sally Rose on 08-03-18

standard plot

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-06-18

narrated well , charactors a bit unbelievable, plot and twist don't have enough depth ok as a easy listen

  • The Heart's Invisible Furies

  • By: John Boyne
  • Narrated by: Stephen Hogan
  • Length: 21 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2,255
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,112
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 2,112

Cyril Avery is not a real Avery, or at least that's what his adoptive parents tell him. And he never will be. But if he isn't a real Avery, then who is he? Born out of wedlock to a teenage girl cast out from her rural Irish community and adopted by a well-to-do if eccentric Dublin couple via the intervention of a hunchbacked Redemptorist nun, Cyril is adrift in the world, anchored only tenuously by his heartfelt friendship with the infinitely more glamourous and dangerous Julian Woodbead.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Phenomenal

  • By Kerri on 19-02-17

Fantastic story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-04-18

Fantastic story with believable characters and lifestyles. Dry wit throughout highs and low loves laughter.. Even a tear here and there.
Brilliantly narrated.
This will definitely get at least a second listen
Highly recommended

  • Everything Is Lies

  • By: Helen Callaghan
  • Narrated by: Anna Popplewell, Sian Thomas
  • Length: 11 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 802
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 747
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 744

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Everything Is Lies by Helen Callaghan. Sophia's parents lead quiet, unremarkable lives. At least that is what she's always believed. Until the day she arrives at her childhood home to find a house ringing with silence. Her mother is hanging from a tree. Her father is lying in a pool of his own blood, near to death. The police are convinced it is an attempted murder-suicide. But Sophia is sure that the woman who brought her up isn't a killer....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely mesmerizing

  • By W. M. Koolstra-dekker on 06-03-18

Not bad

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-04-18

Heard similar type story's so nothing new, decent enough. Good characters to warm to and well narrated. Inevitable plot, easy listening

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Battle for the Falklands

  • By: Max Hastings
  • Narrated by: Cameron Stewart
  • Length: 16 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 575
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 521
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 521

The Falklands War was one of the strangest in British history - 28,000 men sent to fight for a tiny relic of empire 8,000 miles from home. At the time, many Britons saw it as a tragic absurdity, but the British victory confirmed the quality of British arms and boosted the political fortunes of the Conservative government.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Comprehensive But Not What I Hoped For

  • By S. Morris on 26-07-16

Excellent account

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-04-18

Excellent account of the Falklands war, well narrated with scatterings of personal diary accounts. Well worth a listen

  • The Secret History

  • By: Donna Tartt
  • Narrated by: Donna Tartt
  • Length: 22 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,473
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,203
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,202

The smartest murder-mystery you will ever hearA misfit at an exclusive New England college, Richard finds kindred spirits in the five eccentric students of his ancient Greek class. But his new friends have a horrific secret. When blackmail and violence threaten to blow their privileged lives apart, they drag Richard into the nightmare that engulfs them. And soon they enter a terrifying heart of darkness from which they may never return.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An interesting tale

  • By mj on 06-09-16

Long winded

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-04-18

Long winded story which lacked a punchy end. Some books just don't click and this was one for me.
Narration not the best, by the author.
Don't think I'll be reading /listening to this one again... Sorry