LISTENER

J.J & G Robson

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 12
  • ratings
  • No Other Darkness

  • DI Marnie Rome 2
  • By: Sarah Hilary
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 179
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167

A mesmerising, gripping novel from the winner of the 2015 Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year for Someone Else's Skin. Perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood. Two young boys. Trapped underground in a bunker. Five years later, the boys' bodies are found and the most difficult case of DI Marnie Rome's career begins. She has to find out who they are and what happened to them. For no-one has reported them missing - and it seems she is the only person to care.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Will be reading more by S.Hilary

  • By Mr Adrian Wilson on 07-11-16

Unusual- well written - beautifully narrated.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-01-19

Another great read with such a likeable team - A team who work together & not tear each other to shreds constantly — on to the next !

  • Quieter Than Killing

  • D.I. Marnie Rome, Book 4
  • By: Sarah Hilary
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 101
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 98
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 96

The winter cold is biting, and a series of assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out into the frosty, mean streets of London far more than they'd like. The attacks seem random, but when Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have been committed only by a child - and someone who knows all about her. It will take a prison visit to her foster brother, Stephen, to help Marnie see the connections - and to force both her and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another great case.

  • By Mary on 19-03-17

Brilliantly unusual concept.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-12-18

Such a great story & a lovely change to find a heroine who is effective but likeable - not the usual vinegary strop of a woman in a man’s world. Imogen Church works her usual brilliance - so sorry it’s finished.

  • The Life I Left Behind

  • By: Colette McBeth
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 13 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 137
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 124
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 126

Everyone tells her she's a survivor. No one knows she's dead inside. Six years ago Melody Pieterson was attacked and left for dead. She coped by locking away her memories, burying herself. The man responsible was caught and convicted. Even his release from jail won't derail her new life. She's a survivor after all. Then the body of another woman is discovered in identical circumstances. Like Melody, she has blond hair and green eyes. Like Melody she is found holding a gold bird cage chain.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Read

  • By sharon on 08-02-15

Fantastic read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-06-18

Couldn’t stop reading but didn’t want it to end - great concept - narrator brilliant as ever.

  • Little Girl Lost

  • Detective Robyn Carter Crime Thriller Series, Book 1
  • By: Carol Wyer
  • Narrated by: Emma Newman
  • Length: 14 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 183
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 157
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 157

A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances and a man is murdered at a local reservoir. For Detective Robyn Carter, there's no obvious link between the cases. But as she starts to delve into them, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail's connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Painfully narrated

  • By Sharon Binns on 14-04-18

Good story but totally ruined by the narration

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-12-17

So sad for this author - narration was a disaster, Amelia sounded like a young Lady Bracknell & Jackson a sulky schoolboy & PLEASE Audible stop the current rot of turning the indefinite article 'a' into 'ay' - ay hay cart ???

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Silent Child

  • Audible's Thriller of 2017
  • By: Sarah A. Denzil
  • Narrated by: Joanne Froggatt
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,094
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,661
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,669

Introducing Audible's Thriller of the Year: Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil, performed by Joanne Froggatt. In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned. His body was never recovered. Ten years later Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life...until Aiden returns.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By madison on 06-09-17

Brilliant story spoiled by the speed of the narration

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-11-17

Joanne Froggett is a brilliant actress & the characterisations in the book extremely good - although I normally listen to books many times I will be returning this as I found the speed of the straight narrative very jangling - building up drama & suspense doesn't mean that the speed of speech needs to increase. I even tried it on a slower than normal setting - that was not good. This excellent book from Sarah deserved the very best - I enjoyed the concept & 'plot'.