LISTENER

Kate

Flinders, Australia
  • 23
  • reviews
  • 56
  • helpful votes
  • 198
  • ratings
  • Good Me Bad Me

  • By: Ali Land
  • Narrated by: Hannah Murray
  • Length: 10 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,368
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,266
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,260

Annie's mother is a serial killer. The only way Annie can make it stop is to hand her in to the police. But out of sight is not out of mind. The secrets of her past won't let her sleep, even with a new family and name - Milly. A fresh start. Now surely she can be whomever she wants to be. But Milly's mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Download this book NOW

  • By Anne on 23-01-17

Phenomenal performance!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-01-18

Perfect narration for this book! Story was excellent too. Some bits maybe a bit predictable but really enjoyed it.

  • Why Mummy Drinks

  • By: Gill Sims
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 11 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 713
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 642
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 640

Why Mummy Drinks is the brilliant novel from Gill Sims, the author of the online sensation Peter and Jane. It is Mummy's 39th birthday. She is staring down the barrel of a future of people asking if she wants to come to their advanced yoga classes and polite book clubs where everyone claims to be tiddly after a glass of Pinot Grigio and says things like 'oooh gosh, are you having another glass?'

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • LOL

  • By Sarah on 04-01-18

Started so well...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-12-17

Loved the beginning. It was really funny and great observations on parenting that I could relate to. By the end it had turned in to ditzy drunk materialistic shopaholic-esque story. Loved the parenting bits, because they were genuinely hilarious. Sadly by the end they were few and far between.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Friend Request

  • By: Laura Marshall
  • Narrated by: Elaine Claxton
  • Length: 11 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,066
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 951
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 950

Maria wants to be friends. But Maria is dead. Isn't she? When Louise Williams receives a message from someone left long in the past, her heart nearly stops. Maria Weston wants to be friends on Facebook. Maria Weston has been missing for over 25 years. She was last seen the night of a school leavers' party, and the world believes her to be dead. Particularly Louise, who has lived her adult life with a terrible secret. As Maria's messages start to escalate, Louise forces herself to reconnect with old friends....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Clever thriller with some unexpected twists

  • By Grab This Book on 20-10-17

Excellent!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-08-17

Really really enjoyed this audiobook. Excellent narration and equally excellent story. Would recommend to anyone.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,408
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,222
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,224

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A must read/listen

  • By Annie Tompkins on 30-03-17

Fantastic!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-07-17

I loved this book. Took a little while to get in to it, but once I was, I was hooked! Plot twists were fantastic.

  • The Tent, The Bucket and Me

  • By: Emma Kennedy
  • Narrated by: Emma Kennedy
  • Length: 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 562
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 526
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 528

For the '70s child, summer holidays didn't mean the joy of CentreParcs or the sophistication of a Tuscan villa. They meant being crammed into a car with Grandma and heading to the coast. With just a tent for a home and a bucket for the necessities, we would set off on new adventures each year stoically resolving to enjoy ourselves. For Emma Kennedy, and her mum and dad, disaster always came along for the ride no matter where they went.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great fun.

  • By c jennings on 02-12-15

So funny! Wonderful.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-06-16

I really didn't want this audiobook to end. It was so lovely, warm and funny. It was wonderful having the writer narrate too, she was excellent!!

  • Beside Myself

  • By: Ann Morgan
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 13 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,920
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,764
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,769

Six-year-old Helen and Ellie are identical twins, but Helen is smarter, more popular, and their mother's favorite. Ellie, on the other hand, requires special instruction at school, is friendless, and is punished at every turn. Until they decide to swap places - just for fun, and just for one day - and Ellie refuses to switch back. Everything of Helen's, from her toys to her friends to her identity, now belongs to her sister.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely outstanding

  • By Kaggy on 08-12-17

Loved this

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-03-16

Absolutely loved this audiobook! Even though I'm not a twin let alone identical twin it was such a frightening concept. Great narrator too!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Because She Loves Me

  • By: Mark Edwards
  • Narrated by: Napoleon Ryan
  • Length: 11 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 977
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 883
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 878

When Andrew Sumner meets beautiful, edgy Charlie, he is certain his run of bad luck has finally come to an end. But as the two of them embark on an intense affair, Andrew wonders if his grasp on reality is slipping. Items go missing in his apartment. Somebody appears to be following him. And as misfortune and tragedy strike his friends and loved ones, Andrew is forced to confront the frightening truth.…

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Scary

  • By Tim Miller on 06-11-16

Strange voices!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-03-16

The storyline was pretty good, and quite tense in some places. Though I did find the narrator's voices for all the characters, apart from the central character, really annoying. All the women sounded the same and like they were auditioning for an 0898 number, and all the men (excluding Andrew) sounded like they call 0898 numbers. He had a really lovely voice otherwise.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • I Let You Go

  • By: Clare Mackintosh
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe, Julia Barrie
  • Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,309
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,055
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,038

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn't have prevented it. Could she? In a split second, Jenna Gray's world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief, and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever. Slowly Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fabulous debut!

  • By Ann D on 09-05-15

Oh wow!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-06-15

This was a brilliant story. I was in tears at the opening and loved every twist and turn.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Love, Nina

  • Despatches from Family Life
  • By: Nina Stibbe
  • Narrated by: Nina Stibbe
  • Length: 7 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 333
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 311
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 311

In the 1980s, Nina Stibbe wrote letters home to her sister in Leicester describing her trials and triumphs as a nanny to a London family. There’s a cat nobody likes, a visiting dog called Ted Hughes (Ted for short) and suppertime visits from a local playwright. Not to mention the two boys, their favourite football teams, and rude words, a very broad-minded mother and assorted nice chairs.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A heartwarming and hilarious listen

  • By Saffy on 24-11-13

Didn't want it to end!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-01-15

Would you listen to Love, Nina again? Why?

Yes, definitely!! It was so funny.

Which character – as performed by Nina Stibbe – was your favourite?

Not really applicable as it was letters...so herself I guess.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Sweet, warm and very funny

Any additional comments?

Please don't be put off by my review. This really is a wonderful book!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Maeve's Times

  • By: Maeve Binchy
  • Narrated by: Kate Binchy
  • Length: 11 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 71
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 63

As someone who fell off a chair not long ago trying to hear they what they were saying at the next table in a restaurant, I suppose I am obsessively interested in what some might consider the trivia of other people's lives'. Maeve Binchy is well known for her best-selling novels, the most recent of which was A Week in Winter. But for many years Maeve was a journalist, writing for The Irish Times.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An emotional goodbye

  • By Kate on 28-10-13

An emotional goodbye

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-10-13

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, absolutely. I love Maeve Binchy's novels and short stories. I hadn't read any of her journalistic work, but it was like a collection of her short stories. They were funny, sad and heartwarming. After listening to my collection repeatedly over the years, I feel like I know Kate Binchy. She is a wonderful voice for her cousin's writing.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Maeve's Times?

I loved hearing about Maeve and Gordon's cameo appearance in one of the films. They were so excited so I was too! And I must remember SINBAD to tell my sister.

What about Kate Binchy’s performance did you like?

Familiarity of her voice and the way she brings the characters to life.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Laugh and cry... I feel very sad to have finished it, knowing that there won't be anymore.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful