LISTENER

Kindle Customer

Oxfordshire
  • 23
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 29
  • ratings
  • Shadow over the Fens

  • DI Nikki Galena Series, Book 2
  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Henrietta Meire
  • Length: 7 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 372
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 340
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 337

Detective Nikki Galena's friend and neighbor meets a tragic end, but there's more to his death than meets the eye. And someone terrible from DS Joseph Easter's past is back.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Total landslide. Lancashire isn't Lincolnshire.

  • By Pen Name on 19-02-17

Shadow over the Fens By J Ellis By H Meire

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-07-19

Well thought out murder mystery. Very enjoyable one that you feel you can't stop reading. Enjoyable series so far and seem to get better.

  • All the Dark Secrets

  • The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas, Book 1
  • By: Jennie Felton
  • Narrated by: Janine Birkett
  • Length: 13 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 77
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 63
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 66

A powerful new saga, in the grand tradition of Katie Flynn, Dilly Court and Josephine Cox, of one woman's quest for happiness after a bitter tragedy, filled with romance, drama and triumph in adversity.When terrible tragedy strikes at the local colliery, the residents of Fairley Terrace's 10 houses suffer more than one loss, and for Maggie Donovan the word turns upside down. Turning for comfort to the one man she can trust, she finds a sudden and undeniable passion instead.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant story line

  • By sylvia on 31-03-15

All the Dark Secrets By J. Felton By J Birkett. <br />

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-07-19

Very good read. Everything you wast in a book murder love. Everything in between. Worth the read. I'm sure that many people out there will enjoy this book.

  • Bay Tree Cottage

  • By: Anna Jacobs
  • Narrated by: Penelope Freeman
  • Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 13
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 12

The houses in Saffron Lane are being filled with artists thanks to the efforts of Nell and Angus. Ginger doesn’t win a place there but gets a job running the small café/art gallery, taking refuge there from her abusive bully of a son. When she meets Iain, sparks fly between them, the first time she’s felt attracted to anyone for years. But will her son spoil it? 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • BAY TREE COTTAGE By Anna Jacobs<br /><br />

  • By Kindle Customer on 21-06-19

BAY TREE COTTAGE By Anna Jacobs<br /><br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-06-19

Another stunning book by an amazing author. She makes the characters perfectly believable. You feel their warmth and hostility as in real life. Please Please write more.???

  • Schindler's List

  • By: Thomas Keneally
  • Narrated by: Humphrey Bower
  • Length: 16 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 166
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 143
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 143

The acclaimed best-selling classic of Holocaust literature, winner of the Booker Prize and the inspiration for the classic film Schindler's List. In the shadow of Auschwitz, a flamboyant German industrialist grew into a living legend to the Jews of Cracow. He was a womaniser, a heavy drinker and a bon viveur, but to them he became a saviour. A stunning novel based on the extraordinary true story of German war profiteer and factory director Oskar Schindler, who came to save more Jews from the gas chambers than any other single person during World War II.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story

  • By Mr. B. McLaren on 15-04-19

Shindler's List By Thomas Keneally Humphrey Bower.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-06-19

Well thought about, dialogue did enhance it although as was said it may not have been their exact words. Just brilliant and poignant how could we let it happen. The trou le is it still happens to a lesser degree even in our enivhtned times. Brilliant. Brilliant. Brilliant.

  • The Christmas Promise

  • The cosy Christmas book you won't be able to put down!
  • By: Sue Moorcroft
  • Narrated by: Laura Kirman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 108
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 98
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 99

Count down to Christmas with your new must-have author as you step into the wonderful world of Ava Bliss. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Carole Matthews and Katie Fforde. On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hatmaker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily good ones. Times are tough for Ava - she's struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and, worst of all, it's nearly Christmas.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • The Christmas Promise Sue Moorcroft Laura Kirman

  • By Kindle Customer on 10-06-19

The Christmas Promise Sue Moorcroft Laura Kirman

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-06-19

Must say not y kind of book. I struggled to finish it. it wasn't the book it was just me not enough to get your teeth into.

  • The Godforsaken Daughter

  • By: Christina McKenna
  • Narrated by: Sue Pitkin
  • Length: 12 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 25
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 19

When Ruby Clare's father was alive, they toiled together happily on their dairy farm in Northern Ireland. Since his death Ruby - thirty-three, plump but comely - has been forced indoors and made a domestic drudge for Martha, her endlessly critical mother, and her prettier younger sisters, May and June.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • the godforsaken daughter by Christina McKenna. <br />

  • By Kindle Customer on 02-06-19

the godforsaken daughter by Christina McKenna. <br />

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-06-19

Enjoyable read would follow this author. Interesting story easy to follow. Just the thing for an easy relaxing read with a bit of twist to keep going.

  • Ruby Flynn

  • By: Nadine Dorries
  • Narrated by: Noreen Leighton
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 110
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 95
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 93

The FitzDeanes are wealthy. They have Ballyford Castle in Ireland and a growing shipping business in Liverpool, but a previous generation made a terrible mistake and now there are whispers that the family is cursed, unable to produce a living heir.

When young Ruby Flynn arrives to work at Ballyford, rumours start swirling around this beautiful girl with a mysterious past. Who is she really? And what will her arrival mean for this powerful family divided by tragedy?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book 😊

  • By sarah on 17-06-17

Ruby Flynn By Nadine Forties. By Noreen Leighton.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-05-19

Good start but struggled to Finnish. it just seemed to go on and on I the story was ok it might have been just me? I would read the authors books again.

  • Push Not the River

  • By: James Conroyd Martin
  • Narrated by: Dawn Harvey
  • Length: 19 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3

Push Not the River is the rich story of Poland in the late 1700's - a time of heartache and turmoil as the country's once peaceful people are torn apart by neighboring countries and divided loyalties. It is then, at the young and vulnerable age of seventeen, that Lady Anna Maria Berezowska loses both of her parents and must leave the only home she has ever known.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Push Not the River by J. C. Martin. by D. Harvey

  • By Kindle Customer on 13-05-19

Push Not the River by J. C. Martin. by D. Harvey

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-05-19

A book that transforms you to a time that is forgotten. Of asignasions intrigue love and betrayal. You get it all in this book. It was well read very enjoyable. Don't know any of the history, but the writer's made it believable. Well Done, would read these authors again.

  • Every Single Secret

  • A Novel
  • By: Emily Carpenter
  • Narrated by: Kate Orsini
  • Length: 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6

Emotionally guarded Daphne Amos always believed she’d found a kindred spirit in her fiancé, Heath. Both very private people, they’ve kept their pasts hidden from the world, and each other, until Heath’s escalating nightmares begin to put an undeniable strain on their relationship. Determined to give their impending marriage the best chance of succeeding, Heath insists that Daphne join him on a seven-day retreat with Dr. Matthew Cerny, a psychologist celebrated for getting to the root of repressed memories. 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • <br />

  • By Kindle Customer on 18-04-19

<br />

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-04-19

very interesting and well worth the read. I started the first 10 chapters again, because it took me that long to realize that it was two different stories coming together. After that I found it hard to put down.
well work a read.

  • When the War Is Over

  • Far from home, far from family, safe from the war - a true story of two Second World War evacuees
  • By: Barbara Fox
  • Narrated by: Janine Birkett
  • Length: 8 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 13
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 10

Gwenda and Douglas Brady were among the millions of British children sent to live with new families for their own safety during the Second World War, leaving behind their parents, their friends and all that felt familiar and safe. Evacuation could be a scary experience, but five-year-old Gwenda and her brother were lucky enough to be housed with a kindly schoolmaster and his wife, and soon the realities of the war felt very far away.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Boring

  • By M. J. Kinvig on 16-05-19

When the War is Over By Barbara Fox,Janine Birkett

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-04-19

It was nice to read from the children's point of view. Children back then had to do as I say not as I do. it was before my time, but my sister remembers those uncertain days. very readable and nice to hear. some of the thoughts real or imaginary.