LISTENER

Jane Smith

  • 18
  • reviews
  • 34
  • helpful votes
  • 60
  • ratings
  • Blood Orange

  • By: Harriet Tyce
  • Narrated by: Julie Teal
  • Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 272
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 252
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 250

An electrifying debut thriller for fans of Anatomy of a Scandal, Apple Tree Yard and Gone Girl. Alison has it all. A doting husband, an adorable daughter, and a career on the rise - she's just been given her first murder case to defend. But all is never as it seems.... Alison's client doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband - she wants to plead guilty. And yet something about her story is deeply amiss. Saving this woman may be the first step to Alison saving herself. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Superior Thriller well narrated

  • By Janet biglari on 04-03-19

Superb

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-04-19

Absolutely bloody brilliant. I deliberately rewound it because I didn’t want it to end! 10/10

  • The Binding

  • By: Bridget Collins
  • Narrated by: Carl Prekopp
  • Length: 15 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 562
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 530
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 529

Emmett Farmer is working in the fields when a letter arrives summoning him to begin an apprenticeship. He will work for a Bookbinder, a vocation that arouses fear, superstition and prejudice - but one neither he nor his parents can afford to refuse. He will learn to handcraft beautiful volumes, and within each he will capture something unique and extraordinary: a memory. If there’s something you want to forget, he can help. If there’s something you need to erase, he can assist. Your past will be stored safely in a book and you will never remember your secret, however terrible.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • amazing, breath taking, heart wrenching

  • By Tiina on 15-01-19

Insomnia cure

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-01-19

I imagine this book is an excellent read, however the narrator has a voice like a cup of cocoa and a cosy blanket on a snowy day. It’s monotonous and without emotion. If a cure for insomnia is called for, this is the book for you.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Don't Wake Up

  • By: Liz Lawler
  • Narrated by: Zara Ramm
  • Length: 8 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,403
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,252
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,252

A dark and gripping debut psychological thriller with a horrifying premise and a stinging twist. Alex Taylor wakes up tied to an operating table. The man who stands over her isn't a doctor. The choice he forces her to make is utterly unspeakable. But when Alex re-awakens, she's unharmed - and no one believes her horrifying story. Ostracised by her colleagues, her family and her partner, she begins to wonder if she really is losing her mind. And then she meets the next victim.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyable

  • By artlover on 17-10-17

Implausible

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-11-18

The most implausible story line since Noah populated the Ark.
8 hours I will never get back.

  • Now You See Her

  • By: Heidi Perks
  • Narrated by: Kirsty Dillon, Julie Maisey, Sally Scott
  • Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 144
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 143

She was your responsibility. And now she's missing. Charlotte is looking after her best friend’s daughter the day she disappears. She thought the little girl was playing with her own children. She swears she took her eyes off them for only a second. Now, Charlotte must do the unthinkable: tell her best friend, Harriet, that her only child is missing. The child she was meant to be watching. Devastated, Harriet can no longer bear to see Charlotte. No one could expect her to trust her friend again. Only now she needs to. 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By Jane Smith on 28-09-18

Disappointing

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-09-18

This book started really well but descends into an implausible plot. It drags on far too long at the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Bad Apple

  • By: Zoje Stage
  • Narrated by: Gabra Zackman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 52
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 52

Seven-year-old Hanna has never spoken a word. She is a sweet but silent angel in the eyes of her adoring father, but with Mummy, things are different. Suzette loves her daughter, but difficulties with babysitters and teachers over the years have put a strain on their relationship and her sanity. Then Hanna speaks for the first time, to Suzette alone, and what she says is chilling.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good story, slow ending

  • By Amy Hegarty on 17-11-18

Superb

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-09-18

Loved this book from the very beginning. Stayed up until 3am listening. Best thing I’ve read for ages!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Little Liar

  • By: Lisa Ballantyne
  • Narrated by: Peter Kenny
  • Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 46
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 37
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 37

Richard and Judy and international best-selling author of The Guilty One returns with a nail-biting ride of 'he said/she said' between a teacher and his pupil. For fans of Anatomy of a Scandal and TV's Liar and Dr Foster. While Nick Dean is enjoying an evening at home with his family, he is blissfully unaware that one of his pupils has just placed an allegation of abuse against him - and that Nick's imminent arrest will see the start of everything he knows and loves disintegrating around him. Because mud sticks, right? No matter if you're innocent or guilty.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Book Full of Victims

  • By Simon on 02-08-18

Strange narration

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-08-18

The narrator’s voice here has a really strange inflection. He accentuates the last word in every sentence, as if there was an exclamation mark. I’m afraid he makes this sound like a children’s book. The story is good, such a shame.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

  • By: Gail Honeyman
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,703
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 11,724
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,695

Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live. Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka to drink every weekend. Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Viva Eleanor!

  • By Kaggy on 30-06-17

A joy

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-07-18

From beginning to end this book was both deliciously funny and deeply moving. Highly recommended.

  • The Silent Wife

  • By: A. S. A. Harrison
  • Narrated by: Emily Pennant-Rea
  • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 195
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 175
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 177

A chilling psychological thriller portraying the disintegration of a relationship down to the deadliest point when murdering your husband suddenly makes perfect sense. A novel perfect for readers of Sophe Hannah, Nicci French, and Barbara Vine. Todd Gilbert and Jodie Brett are in a bad place in their relationship. They've been together for 28 years, and with no children to worry about there has been little to disrupt their affluent Chicago lifestyle. But there has also been little to hold it together, and beneath the surface lie ever-widening cracks.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A real find!

  • By M on 28-08-13

Awful narration

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-04-18

The narrator speaks very quickly, she constantly swallows. Drove me crazy and I could listen beyond 15 minutes.

  • Bring Me Back

  • By: B A Paris
  • Narrated by: Kevin Hely, Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 7 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 645
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 599
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 597

The million-copy best-selling author returns with a breathtaking thriller. The disappearance. The suspicion. The fear....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I Love Paris in the Springtime!

  • By Simon on 08-03-18

Awful

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-03-18

So disappointing. Unrealistic plot and ending. I never want to hear ‘Russian doll’ again. Not recommended.

  • Silent Scream

  • Detective Kim Stone Crime Thriller, Book 1
  • By: Angela Marsons
  • Narrated by: Jan Cramer
  • Length: 8 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 929
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 822
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 825

Five figures gather 'round a shallow grave. They had all taken turns to dig. An adult-sized hole would have taken longer. An innocent life had been taken, but the pact had been made. Their secrets would be buried, bound in blood. Years later a headmistress is found brutally strangled, the first in a spate of gruesome murders that shock the Black Country.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good story, dreadful narrator.

  • By G. Willoughby on 04-10-15

Inaudible

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-11-17

Never before have I downloaded an audible book where the narration is inaudible! Give this one a miss.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful