LISTENER

Jane L A Bristow

  • 3
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 85
  • ratings
  • The End of the Day

  • By: Claire North
  • Narrated by: Peter Kenny
  • Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 127
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 120
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 120

Charlie meets everyone - but only once. You might meet him in a hospital, in a war zone, or at the scene of traffic accident. Then again, you might meet him at the North Pole - Charlie gets everywhere. Sometimes he is sent as a courtesy, sometimes as a warning. Either way, this is going to be the most important meeting of your life. The End of the Day is the stunning new story from Richard and Judy Book Club author Claire North: the voice behind the word-of-mouth best-seller The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Such a disappointment

  • By Eugene Oconnell on 14-04-17

Death?

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-05-17

This is an odd book. Almost stream on consciousness. Little happens in terms of a linear story line. Rather it is a series of episodes from which the reader is expected to draw their own conclusions.
I would suggest that this should not be read by anyone who is depressed. I found it very hard work and nearly did not bother to finish it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Burning Land

  • The Last Kingdom Series, Book 5
  • By: Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by: Stephen Perring
  • Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 762
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 618
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 617

In the last years of the ninth century, King Alfred of Wessex is in failing health, and his heir is an untested youth. The Danes, who have failed so many times to conquer Wessex, smell opportunity.... First comes Harald Bloodhair, a savage warrior leading a Viking horde. But Alfred still has the services of Uhtred, his unwilling warlord, who leads Harald into a trap and, at Farnham in Surrey, inflicts one of the greatest defeats the Vikings were ever to suffer.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Where is Jonathan Keeble?

  • By AdeG on 10-10-14

The burning Land

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-02-17

I listened to This audio book as part of the series. The story coherently followed on from those that went before however I found the change of narrator to be problematical as his voice and pronunciation to be so different from the previous narrator that it was disconcerting. Begemberg becoming Banborough for example. Previously the place and people names were I felt in keeping with the times and the Anglo Saxon. In this version they had been modernised and therefore some of the atmosphere of the period was lost. The narrator previously had a bass Yorkshire accent whereas in this book he was virtually RP and had a much lighter tone. His reading was not intrinsically poor but just was so significantly different that I felt it impacted negatively on the thread and continuity of the series.

I will be trying to see how the next book goes but I am not sure I will continue to the end of the series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Holy Spy

  • John Shakespeare 7
  • By: Rory Clements
  • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
  • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 149
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 136
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 137

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, Holy Spy features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and best-selling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, "does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's" ( Sunday Times). In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy, young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth and free Mary Queen of Scots.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent as always

  • By Dr on 15-03-15

Latest Rory Clements Shakespeare series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-11-16

I enjoyed this book. It as usual evoked the period well and mixed true events with the fictional to good effect.

However if I was recommending this series to others I would recommend that they read The Queens Man " first this second then the others in their published order so the story as a whole is chronological. At the start of this book I was confused as I had not realised that it was part of a prequel so it took me a while to get into it.
Once I had realised that however it was easier to immerse myself into this story of the Babington plot.
It is well worth a read.