LISTENER

Ninja

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 16
  • ratings
  • Let Me Lie

  • By: Clare Mackintosh
  • Narrated by: Gemma Whelan, Clare Mackintosh
  • Length: 12 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 830
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 776
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 777

The police say it was suicide. Anna says it was murder. They're both wrong. One year ago, Caroline Johnson chose to end her life - a shocking suicide carefully played out to match that of her husband just months before. Their daughter, Anna, has struggled to come to terms with her parents' deaths ever since. Now with a young baby herself, Anna feels her mother's presence keenly and is determined to find out what really happened. But as she looks for answers, someone is trying to stop her.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Real Maze of a Thriller

  • By Simon on 14-03-18

Great twists

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-11-18

Really liked it. Bit slow at the start but that’s most books. the characters really come to life and leave you trying to guess the outcomes. I didn’t guess them all!

  • The Child

  • By: Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Adjoa Andoh, Finty Williams, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,136
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,813
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,796

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers, it's impossible to ignore. For one woman it's a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her. For another it's the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered. And for a third, a journalist, it's the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth. The Child's story will be told.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story!

  • By joanna Prendergast on 30-06-17

Engaging

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-11-18

Gripping and well written. Always enjoy a story where each chapter comes from a different character and you build the stories together as it gets deeper involved

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,290
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,976
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,969

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

  • By Pete on 02-12-16

Very good!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-11-18

Really enjoyed the book. The narrators were engaging and the story kept me entertained all the way through consistently. Would recommend

  • The Couple Next Door

  • By: Shari Lapena
  • Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,476
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,345
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,346

People are capable of almost anything. Fast-paced and addictive, The Couple Next Door announces a major new talent in thriller writing. You never know what's happening on the other side of the wall. Your neighbour told you that she didn't want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn't stand her crying. Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you live only next door. You'll have the baby monitor, and you'll take it in turns to go back every half hour.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An enjoyable listen

  • By Joanne on 25-05-17

Slow starter

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-02-18

First half gets a bit tedious but it’s worth the wait.
Narrator could be better .

  • Faking Friends

  • By: Jane Fallon
  • Narrated by: Sally Scott, Kristin Atherton
  • Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,041
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 954
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 953

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Faking Friends by Jane Fallon, read by Sally Scott and Kristin Atherton. Best friend. Soulmate. Confidante. Backstabber. Amy thought she knew who Melissa was - then again, Amy also thought she was on the verge of the wedding of her dreams to her long-distance fiancé. When her career begins to unravel, she pays a surprise trip home to London. Her boyfriend Jack is out, but another woman has been making herself at home....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Didn't want it to end

  • By JGC on 18-01-18

Funny and easy listening

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-02-18

Listened to the whole thing in about 2 days, couldn’t switch off. Definitely recommend this one

  • A Dog's Purpose

  • A novel for humans
  • By: W. Bruce Cameron
  • Narrated by: William Dufris
  • Length: 8 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 84
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 76
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 76

Surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy after a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders - will he ever find his purpose?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A dogs tail

  • By Tony Swinton on 23-04-17

Tears

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-02-18

Great thinking from a dogs perspective, however had me so emotional on many occasions! Just don’t listen in a public place,

  • The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck

  • A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life
  • By: Mark Manson
  • Narrated by: Roger Wayne
  • Length: 5 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,108
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,554
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,484

For decades we've been told that positive thinking is the key to a happy, rich life. "F*ck positivity," Mark Manson says. "Let's be honest, shit is f*cked, and we have to live with it." In his wildly popular Internet blog, Manson doesn't sugarcoat or equivocate. He tells it like it is - a dose of raw, refreshing, honest truth that is sorely lacking today. The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck is his antidote to the coddling, let's-all-feel-good mind-set that has infected modern society and spoiled a generation, rewarding them with gold medals just for showing up.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • First half interesting, second half meh

  • By P. Healey on 30-03-17

Re-listened numerous times

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-02-18

Gear book, really helps to get you thinking about life. Feels like you go on a story with the author, I have listened over and over again!