LISTENER

Roy Pierce-Jones

United Kingdom
  • 5
  • reviews
  • 12
  • helpful votes
  • 37
  • ratings
  • Dunbar

  • King Lear Retold (Hogarth Shakespeare)
  • By: Edward St Aubyn
  • Narrated by: Henry Goodman
  • Length: 7 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 18
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 16
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 16

Henry Dunbar, the once all-powerful head of a global corporation, is not having a good day. In his dotage he handed over care of the family firm to his two eldest daughters, Abby and Megan. But relations quickly soured, leaving him doubting the wisdom of past decisions.... Now imprisoned in a care home in the Lake District with only a demented alcoholic comedian as company, Dunbar starts planning his escape. As he flees into the hills, his family is hot on his heels.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • No ending?

  • By Andrew May on 28-03-18

Good in places.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-11-17

This is one of the weaker attempts at adapting Shakespeare into contemporary fiction. The book works best when it deals directly with Dunbar/Lear and is less interesting dealing with the daughters as they seem to have been given too much coverage here.I am not too sure about the American setting either as I cannot help thinking it only distances the tale rather than further illuminating Shakespeare's text.The lack of Shakespeare's poetic greatness in this particular play is never overcome.A brave attempt never the less.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Elmet

  • By: Fiona Mozley
  • Narrated by: Gareth Bennett-Ryan
  • Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 168
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 153
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 154

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape. Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Powerful Story of Outsiders& Family Love/Loyalty

  • By bookylady on 13-10-17

A strong debut novel.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-09-17

This new writer displays a vivid pictorial ability that is poetic in places.The book is sometimes overwritten but overall it works wonderfully well. There is a powerful and violent conclusion to the book that lingers in the mind for some time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • A Legacy of Spies

  • By: John le Carré
  • Narrated by: Tom Hollander
  • Length: 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,158
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,056
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,045

Peter Guillam, staunch colleague and disciple of George Smiley of the British Secret Service, is living out his old age on the family farmstead in Brittany when a letter summons him to London. The reason? His Cold War past has come back to claim him. Intelligence operations that were once the toast of secret London and involved such characters as Alec Leamas, Jim Prideaux, George Smiley and Peter Guillam himself are to be scrutinised under disturbing criteria by a generation with no memory of the Cold War.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • New life into a favourite series

  • By nicole on 10-09-17

A satisfying conclusion.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-09-17

There is an elegiac quality to this book which brings about a sense of completion to previous novels surrounding George Smiley and co. It is not the easiest novel to perform,particularly early on ,but Tom Holland delivers it brilliantly.

The Oedipus Plays cover art
  • The Oedipus Plays

  • An Audible Original Drama
  • By: Sophocles, Ian Johnston - translator
  • Narrated by: Jamie Glover, Hayley Atwell, Michael Maloney, and others
  • Length: 5 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 386
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 355
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 351

The three Theban plays by Sophocles - Oedipus the King, Oedipus at Colonus and Antigone - are one of the great landmarks of Western theatre. They tell the story of Oedipus, King of Thebes, who was destined to suffer a terrible fate - to kill his father, marry his mother, and beget children of the incestuous union. He does this unknowingly but still has to suffer terrible consequences, which also tragically affect the next generation.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great!

  • By Anna Maria Rusanova on 25-06-16

Formal and controlled performances.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-11-16

There are a number of excellent performances here, particularly from the leading players but the chorus ,when speaking in unison ,sound rather like thespian versions of the Daleks.The overall rather formal translation feels a little restrictive at times.There are more interesting and vivid translations of these plays available and this very strong cast would have achieved even better performances had they been working with the translation of "Antigone" by Seamus Heaney for example. These are wonderful plays and are still worthwhile listening to.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Stoner

  • A Novel
  • By: John Williams, John McGahern - introduction
  • Narrated by: Alfred Molina
  • Length: 8 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 466
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 430
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 434

Waterstone's book of the year. Colum McCann once called Stoner one of the great forgotten novels of the past century, but it seems it is forgotten no longer - in 2013, translations of Stoner began appearing on best-seller lists across Europe. William Stoner enters the University of Missouri at 19 to study agriculture. A seminar on English literature changes his life, and he never returns to work on his father's farm. Stoner becomes a teacher. He marries the wrong woman.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Probably one of the finest books I have listened to - why isn't this book better known?!

  • By ADRIAN M WATTS on 21-03-17

Modern American Classic.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-11-16

This text will be regarded as a classic of 20th century literature.Alfred Molina brings great delicacy to the reading and adds to the poignancy of the text.Highly recommended.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful