LISTENER

Kay Cookson

  • 20
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 64
  • ratings
  • Then She Was Gone

  • By: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,666
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,304
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,304

A missing girl. A buried secret. From the acclaimed author of I Found You and the Richard & Judy best seller The Girls comes a compulsively twisty psychological thriller that will keep you gripped to the very last moment. She was 15, her mother's golden girl. She had her whole life ahead of her. And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone. Ten years on, Laurel has never given up hope of finding Ellie. And then she meets a charming and charismatic stranger who sweeps her off her feet.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent

  • By Kate on 18-10-17

Absolutely fabulous

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-12-17

Really enjoyed this audio book. Great story,kept me interested all through. The only downside was the narrative, accents not good, but on saying that could bear them.

  • The Storyteller

  • By: Jodi Picoult
  • Narrated by: Mozhan Marno, Jennifer Ikeda, Edoardo Ballerini, and others
  • Length: 18 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 662
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 590
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 594

Jodi Picoult's poignant number one New York Times best-selling novels about family and love tackle hot-button issues head on. In The Storyteller, Sage Singer befriends Josef Weber, a beloved Little League coach and retired teacher. But then Josef asks Sage for a favor she never could have imagined - to kill him. After Josef reveals the heinous act he committed, Sage feels he may deserve that fate. But would his death be murder or justice?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Ambitiously promises a lot which it can’t quite de

  • By Victoria on 19-07-13

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-12-17

One of the best books from this author I have read. Throughly enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Eeny Meeny

  • By: M. J. Arlidge
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Bower, Nigel Pilkington, Lucy Gaskell, and others
  • Length: 9 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,083
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 989
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 988

The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it. Days later, another desperate escapee is found - and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: Kill or be killed. Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind? Eeny Meeny is an electrifying debut, with the nerve-shredding intensity of Saw and Along Came a Spider.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Listen!! "What would you do?"

  • By lynsey Patina on 15-05-14

What a terrible book

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-09-17

Too many characters, too long, lots of things that were really stupid,thin plots which didn't make sense ., such the mobile phones why didn't they dial 999 , how did the murdered predict how long the full tank of petrol was going to last after punching in hole in the tank and that the car would stop exactly where it was wanted and many more errors I have downloaded the next two in the series because they where on offer, I am definitely going to return.
Don't waste you money.

  • Echoes in Death

  • By: J. D. Robb
  • Narrated by: Susan Ericksen
  • Length: 13 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 205
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 181
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 181

After a party in New York, Lieutenant Eve Dallas rides home with her billionaire husband, Roarke, happy to be done with cocktails and small talk. After another party, not far away, a woman retires to her bedroom with her husband - and walks into a brutal nightmare. Their paths are about to collide....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Narrator's accents terrible

  • By Miles on 23-06-17

Dissapointing

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-07-17

I really tried to like this book,but I could,nt get over the fact it kept repeating itself,the Irish accent was terrible, the ending was quite muddled and over very quickly, it just seemed to go flat. I did,nt think the future setting was necessary, could,nt get the meaning of some the jargon,was really like the present but with little slots of the future added. Would have better written as the present

  • The Playdate

  • By: Louise Millar
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 114
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 82
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 81

Single mother Callie has come to rely heavily on her best friend Suzy. But Callie suspects Suzy's life isn't as simple as it seems. It's time she pulled away - going back to work is just the first step towards rediscovering her old confidence. So why does she keep putting off telling Suzy about her new job? And who will care for her rather frail daughter, Rae, while she is gone?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An unexpected joy

  • By Saffy on 23-12-12

Very Disappointed

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-05-17

Really disappointed with the book. It seems it was trying to be a complicated with a lots of twists and turns,but it didn't achieve that. I found the ending very unsatisfactory with several threads left in the air. The narrator was excellent,full of good accents a very soothing voice.
I feel I have wasted a lot of time trying to find something in this book to make it worthwhile

  • All the Little Pieces

  • By: Jilliane Hoffman
  • Narrated by: Anne Wittman
  • Length: 14 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 37
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 37
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 37

She could have stopped an awful crime. She could have saved a life. She tried to forget about it. But now the truth is out. The terrifying new psychological thriller from the best-selling author of Retribution and Pretty Little Things. Faith Saunders is the perfect wife, mother, and community champion - loved and admired by all who know her. One night will change everything. As she drives home in the pouring rain, a dishevelled young woman appears out of nowhere, pleading for help.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping!

  • By Rosemarie Shaw on 12-08-15

Disappointing Ending

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-04-17

I was really enjoying this book,but the ending spoilt it. Felt like the author didn't know how to finish it,just floated away to guessing the outcome.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Shall We Dance

  • By: Maggie Alderson
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Daniel
  • Length: 13 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 7

Loulou Landers is about to turn 49 and she's feeling seriously overlooked. She hasn't had a relationship for 20 years, her 21-year-old daughter Theo is giving her the cold shoulder, and is that really a bunion making it so painful to walk, or is Christian Louboutin losing his touch? Theo can't see what her mum is so hung up about. It's only another birthday. And she has more important things to think about - mainly herself. For not only is Loulou permanently single, but so is Theo – despite her legendary good looks. But over the course of a summer, everything changes.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • ABANDONED AT CHAPTER 2

  • By M R Tracy on 20-08-14

Worth no stars ,but it wouldn't let get away with it

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-04-17

I thought this was had worst book I have to ver listened to. Tried over several evenings but couldn't like it at all. Don,t waste your money.

  • Kill Me Again

  • By: Rachel Abbott
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,034
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,866
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,853

When your life is a lie, who can you trust? When Maggie Taylor accepts a new job in Manchester, she is sure it is the right move for her family. The children have settled well, although her husband, Duncan, doesn’t appear to be so convinced. But nothing prepares her for the shock of coming home from work one night to find that Duncan has disappeared, leaving their young children alone. His phone is dead, and she has no idea where he has gone or why.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Smooth and Classy Thriller

  • By Simon on 26-08-16

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-02-17

Really,really enjoyed this book. It kept me hooked from the start,twists and turns,never quite guessing outcome right till the last WORD. Definitely going read other books by this author.

  • The Sister

  • By: Louise Jensen
  • Narrated by: Natalie Blass
  • Length: 9 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 371
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 327
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 327

Grace hasn't been the same since the death of her best friend, Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie's words the last time she saw her and, in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie's. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn't know about her best friend. When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie's father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie's sister, steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and her boyfriend Dan's home. But something isn't right.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Weaves a delicate tale

  • By Know Your Writes on 20-09-16

Really did not like this book

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-02-17

Confusing going backwards and forward. It was not very thrilling as it was stated. Poor story. Does not deserve the reviews printed on here return for a refund and I will read another of her books. Complete waste of time

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,267
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,954
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,948

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

  • By Pete on 02-12-16

Very disappointing

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-01-17


I think this book was the most waste of time I have spent. A very complicated story.and very disappointing ending. The narration was good but that was really it's only saving grace

2 of 2 people found this review helpful