LISTENER

Philip Passmore

  • 12
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 125
  • ratings
  • The Fourth Monkey

  • By: J. D. Barker
  • Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini, Graham Winton
  • Length: 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 133
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 120
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 120

Brilliant. Complicated. Psychopath. That's the Four Monkey Killer, or 4MK. A murderer with a twisted vision and absolutely no mercy. Detective Sam Porter has hunted him for five long years, the recipient of box after box of grisly trinkets carved from the bodies of 4MK's victims. But now Porter has learnt the killer's twisted history and is racing to do the seemingly impossible - find 4MK's latest victim before it's too late....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent story well read.

  • By Anonymous User on 18-11-17

Great story, well performed

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-06-18

Plenty of twists and turns, though a couple of them could be spotted a mile off. Performance was good, and kept me engaged right to the end.

  • While You Sleep

  • By: Stephanie Merritt
  • Narrated by: Caitlin Thorburn
  • Length: 13 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 60
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 57
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 58

A pacy, chilling psychological thriller, set to reinvent the genre. It begins, they say, with a woman screaming.... On a remote Scottish island, the McBride house stands guard over its secrets. A century ago, a young widow and her son died mysteriously there; just last year a local boy, visiting for a dare, disappeared without a trace. For Zoe Adams, newly arrived from America, the house offers a refuge from her failing marriage. But her peaceful retreat is disrupted by strange and disturbing events....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Dodgy Scottish Accents

  • By Katy E. Seegmiller on 24-06-18

Accents!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-06-18

Please, for the love of your listeners, stop trying to put on accents that you aren't familiar with. Listening to someone mutilate the story line with a gross approximation really spoils things.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,095
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 996
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 990

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Vanessa on 22-02-14

Took a little while.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-04-18

At first, the changing perspectives of the different characters made the story line feel a little disjointed, especially with the shifts in time line. However, as the story progressed, it seemed to work better, with a pretty good cliffhanger ending

  • I'll Keep You Safe

  • By: Peter May
  • Narrated by: Anna Murray, Peter Forbes
  • Length: 11 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,253
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,131
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,125

Husband and wife Niamh and Ruairidh Macfarlane co-own Ranish Tweed: a Hebridean company that weaves its own special variety of Harris cloth, which has become a sought-after brand in the world of high fashion. But when Niamh learns of Ruairidh's affair with Russian designer Irina Vetrov, then witnesses the pair killed by a car bomb in Paris, her life is left in ruins. Along with her husband's remains, she returns home to the Isle of Lewis bereft.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Very disappointing

  • By Michael D Hewitt on 28-01-18

Multiple narrators.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-04-18

Not sure that I felt having more than one narrator actually contributed anything to the telling of the story, just made it feel a little disjointed.

  • We Lead

  • Ark Royal, Book 9
  • By: Christopher G. Nuttall
  • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
  • Length: 12 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 199
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 184
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 184

The Second Interstellar War - pitting humans and their Tadpole allies against an enigmatic alien empire - appears to have stalemated. Neither side can push through to the other's core systems without risking substantial losses, neither side can gain a decisive advantage. But when a brilliant human scientist invents a way to jump across the stars without a gravity tramline, an opportunity arises to strike the enemy in their undefended rear. It is an opportunity that cannot be allowed to pass.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Next!?

  • By Sir Bazile on 20-06-18

No more Scottish accents, PLEASE!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-04-18

A really good story line can be ripped apart by a narrator who tries to do accents that he is clearly incapable of. Much better, just play a neutral part, please please PLEASE, it really is painful!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Warspite

  • Ark Royal, Book 4
  • By: Christopher G. Nuttall
  • Narrated by: Ralph Lister
  • Length: 13 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 284
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 268
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 266

The First Interstellar War is over, but the Royal Navy still has plenty of work to do. As Earth struggles to recover from the bombardment, Captain John Naiser is placed in command of HMS Warspite--an experimental heavy cruiser--and ordered to escort a squadron of colony ships to a star system of immense strategic importance. But as the crew struggle to survive hundreds of light years from Earth, they find themselves dealing with the legacy of the war.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A little different!

  • By S. Griffiths on 22-04-15

Good story and narration but...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-02-18

Please, please I beg of you, don't let the reader attempt any more Scottish accents! He destroys that bit of the story, and makes himself look dreadful.

  • Prayer for the Dead

  • Inspector McLean, Book 5
  • By: James Oswald
  • Narrated by: Ian Hanmore
  • Length: 12 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 907
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 826
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 820

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable, audiobook edition of Prayer for the Dead, from the bestselling Inspector McLean series by Sunday Times bestselling author James Oswald, read by Ian Hanmore. Are you ready to be reborn?; The search for a missing journalist is called off as a body is found at the scene of a carefully staged murder.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another great book in the series

  • By Lucy on 08-03-15

Poor audio

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-09-17

The whole point of an audio book is that you can hear it. The long passages where the character is whispering in a low voice, are almost impossible to hear clearly, really spoiling my enjoyment. The speaker also tries too hard to produce characters with their own voice, resulting in indistinct audio and slightly comical characterisations.

  • Five Ways to Kill a Man

  • By: Alex Gray
  • Narrated by: Joe Dunlop
  • Length: 11 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 101
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 93

An unpredictable killer is loose on the streets of Glasgow, experimenting with death. Beginning with brute force, the murderer moves on to poison and drowning, greedy for new and better ways to kill. Faced with a string of unconnected victims, DCI Lorimer turns to psychologist and friend Solomon Brightman for his insights. Lorimer is also assigned to review the case of a fatal house fire. His suspicions are raised by shocking omissions in the original investigation.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 ways to kill a man

  • By P. S. Elliott on 17-10-16

Lacklustre

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-03-17

Whole story seemed to grind to a standstill half an hour before the end. Lacking in any sort of sparkle in those closing stages.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Missing

  • By: Jane Casey
  • Narrated by: Penelope Rawlins
  • Length: 13 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 112
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 94
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 96

Jenny Shepherd is twelve years old and missing. Her teacher, Sarah Finch, knows better than most that the chances of finding her alive are diminishing with every day she is gone. As a little girl her older brother had gone out to play one day and never returned. The strain of never knowing what has happened to Charlie had ripped Sarah’s family apart. Now in her early twenties, she is back living at home, trapped with a mother who drinks too much and keeps her brother’s bedroom as a shrine to his memory. Then, horrifically, it is Sarah who finds Jenny’s body....

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Not author's best work

  • By LJP123 on 24-09-16

Good Story.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-06-16

Good story, with an unexpected twist in the tail, but really didn't like the narration with dreadful affected accents for many of the characters.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • The Damage Done

  • Inspector McLean 6
  • By: James Oswald
  • Narrated by: Ian Hanmore
  • Length: 12 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,101
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,012
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,010

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of The Damage Done by James Oswald, read by Ian Hanmore. The sixth book in James Oswald's phenomenal Inspector McLean series set in Edinburgh. Inspector McLean is back in the next gripping instalment in James Oswald's best-selling crime series. McLean must investigate the seedy goings-on of an exclusive and secretive society catering to the rich and powerful of the city.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Didn't want it to end!

  • By Louise on 06-06-16

Think I must have missed a chapter or two!

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-03-16

Whilst having something of an enigmatic plot twist, you managed to lose me completely. Not a particularly good ending.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful