LISTENER

Dizyrunner

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 31
  • helpful votes
  • 23
  • ratings
  • My Absolute Darling

  • By: Gabriel Tallent
  • Narrated by: Alex McKenna
  • Length: 15 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 383
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 356
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 360

At 14, Turtle Alveston knows the use of every gun on her wall; that chaos is coming and only the strong will survive it; that her daddy loves her more than anything else in this world. And he'll do whatever it takes to keep her with him. She doesn't know why she feels so different from the other girls at school; why the line between love and pain can be so hard to see; why making a friend may be the bravest and most terrifying thing she has ever done; and what her daddy will do when he finds out....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • So grim

  • By Mrs. Caroline Bradshaw on 11-01-18

Difficult to listen to at times

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-01-18

Extremely graphic and difficult to listen to at times. Found myself wondering why the writer would choose to write in this way. Had it not been for the fact that I'm studying psychotherapy I would have stopped listening. I didn't like the storytellers voice and the constant. he said; she said all the way through.

29 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • Silent Child

  • Audible's Thriller of 2017
  • By: Sarah A. Denzil
  • Narrated by: Joanne Froggatt
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,257
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,816
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,826

Introducing Audible's Thriller of the Year: Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil, performed by Joanne Froggatt. In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned. His body was never recovered. Ten years later Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life...until Aiden returns.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By madison on 06-09-17

Gripping!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-09-17

This book lives up to all expectations. Joanne Frogatt' s narration is amazing, I didn't want it to end. There were clever twists and turns throughout I couldn't stop listening.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl Who Played With Fire

  • By: Stieg Larsson
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 20 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,203
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,879
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,876

Lisbeth Salander is a wanted woman. Two Millennium journalists about to expose the truth about sex trafficking in Sweden are murdered, and Salander's prints are on the weapon. Her history of unpredictable and vengeful behaviour makes her an official danger to society - but no-one can find her. Mikael Blomkvist, Millennium magazine's legendary star reporter, does not believe the police. Using all his magazine staff and resources to prove Salander's innocence, Blomkvist also uncovers her terrible past....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Didn't disappoint

  • By Jill on 21-07-09

Struggled with the names

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-06-17

Enjoyed the story and the narrator's voice. Got a bit confused with all the names and place names.

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,652
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,443
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,444

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Utter nonsense

  • By S. Christie on 30-04-18

Disappointing and Very Confusing

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-05-17

It was difficult to follow and found myself replaying later chapters to try and work out what was going on. Not really gripping or frightening. Had hoped for more.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • I See You

  • By: Clare Mackintosh
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,996
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,650
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,648

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it's there. There's no explanation, no website - just a grainy image and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it's just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I See Something Very, Very Impressive Here!

  • By Simon on 28-07-16

Disapponted.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-03-17

Very slow going but persisted. Took a long time to get to anything interesting. The narrator's voice irritated me and sometimes I couldn't tell who was talking.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Power of Now

  • By: Eckhart Tolle
  • Narrated by: Eckhart Tolle
  • Length: 7 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,461
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,581
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,514

To make the journey into The Power of Now you need to leave your analytical mind and its false created self, the ego, behind. Access to the Now is everywhere - in the body, the silence, and the space all around you. These are the keys to enter a state of inner peace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I was sceptical

  • By Mr. Jm Bird on 25-05-11

Thought Provoking

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-02-16

Enjoyed this book very much but found the author's voice so relaxing I kept falling asleep!

  • Eat, Pray, Love

  • One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
  • By: Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 879
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 795
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 793

Eat, Pray, Love is a journey around the world, a quest for spiritual enlightenment, and a story for anyone who has battled with divorce, depression, and heartbreak. It's 3 a.m., and Elizabeth Gilbert is sobbing on the bathroom floor. She's in her 30s, she has a husband, a house, they're trying for a baby - and she doesn't want any of it. A bitter divorce and a turbulent love affair later, she emerges battered and bewildered and realises it is time to pursue her own journey in search of three things she has been missing....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Interesting

  • By M Baker on 30-06-17

A TIMELESS CLASSIC

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-10-15

This is the fourth time I've replayed this book. I'm sure I'll listen again!