LISTENER

mrs k v southby

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 94
  • ratings
  • Fast Friends

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Esther Wane
  • Length: 16 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 106
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 97
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 97

Fast Friends is a warm and funny romantic novel from Sunday Times best-selling author Jill Mansell. For fans of Lucy Diamond, Cathy Kelly and Marian Keyes. When bored housewife and mother Camilla Stewart impulsively invites her old school chums for dinner, she hardly imagines that the evening will shatter her comfortable existence. But Roz Vallender and Loulou Marks are no ordinary guests.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • loved it

  • By Kayley Fenwick on 23-06-16

Listenable ...

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-08-18

The story was ok, nothing too gripping but an easy listen. The narrator’s attempts at Scottish & Irish accents we’re not so easy to listen to!

  • The Last Chance Saloon

  • By: Marian Keyes
  • Narrated by: Juanita McMahon
  • Length: 17 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 159
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 111
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 112

Tara, Katherine, and Fintan, friends since adolescence, are full proof that eccentricity is the spice of life. Strikingly different, yet worryingly similar, they all moved from rural Ireland to London to "seize the day" - or something like that. Now in their early 30s, success, on the surface, has made little change.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The Last Chance Saloon

  • By Leona on 23-04-10

Nice little story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-04-16

Enjoyed the story a lot, it was just a little bit marred by the narrator's Irish accent! Once you comes to terms with it, the book is great!

  • Over the Top and Back

  • The Autobiography
  • By: Tom Jones
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Pryce
  • Length: 12 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 255
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 236
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 232

In a career that has spanned six decades, Sir Tom Jones has performed with almost every major recording artist, from Jerry Lee Lewis, Elvis and Sinatra to Robbie Williams, Van Morrison and Jessie J, across every imaginable genre, from rock and pop to country, blues and soul. The one constant throughout has been his unique musical gift and unmistakable voice.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Knickers Moment.

  • By Ian on 02-04-16

Loved every minute of it!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-01-16

Jonathan Pryce is excellent at narrating this book, you are instantly submerged into the life of Tom Jones. It's funny, heartwarming & a very interesting read (or listen). I couldn't put it down!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Here Come the Girls

  • By: Milly Johnson
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 12 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 232
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 201
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 199

Ven, Roz, Olive and Frankie have been friends since school. They day-dreamed of glorious futures, full of riches, romance and fabulous jobs. Twenty-five years later, Olive cleans other people's houses to support her lazy, out-of-work husband and his ailing mother. Roz cannot show her caring husband Manus any love because her philandering ex has left her trust in shreds. And she and Frankie have fallen out big time. But Ven is determined to reunite her friends and realise the dream they had of taking a cruise before they hit 40.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Trust me ladies this book is a must read.

  • By Lisa on 17-04-13

Enjoyable read!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-04-15

As always, the characters are brought to life & believable.
The story is one of every girls dream to win the lottery and share it with the closest friends who mean the most.
A feel good book!

  • White Wedding

  • By: Milly Johnson
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 12 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 132
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 110
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 111

Bel is in the midst of planning her perfect wedding when disaster strikes. Can she hold it all together and turn disaster into triumph? Bel's friend, ice-cream parlour owner Violet, is engaged to Glyn. But however trapped she feels, she can't quite say the words, "I don't want to marry you anymore". Then, just when she's about to give up and resign herself to married life, she finds love in the most surprising of places. Max was planning a quick registry office do until she sees a TV programme about traveller brides and becomes determined to have the most extravagant wedding ever.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • another cracker

  • By Amanda on 16-12-12

Had me hooked!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-15

Another great book from this author. Lots of twists & turns to keep you interested. Characters you began to know and connect with. Just about to download another Milly book now!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Welcome to Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams

  • By: Jenny Colgan
  • Narrated by: Jane Collingwood
  • Length: 13 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 245
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 168
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167

Were you a sherbet lemon or chocolate lime fan? Penny chews or hard boiled sweeties (you do get more for your money that way)? The jangle of your pocket money… the rustle of the pink and green striped paper bag… Rosie Hopkins thinks leaving her busy London life, and her boyfriend Gerard, to sort out her elderly Aunt Lilian's sweetshop in a small country village is going to be dull. Boy is she wrong. Lilian Hopkins has spent her life running Lipton's sweetshop, through wartime and family feuds. As she struggles with the idea that it might finally be time to settle up, she also wrestles with the secret history hidden behind the jars of beautifully coloured sweets. Welcome to Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams - a novel - with recipes.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Audible v Kindle

  • By Vanessa on 14-04-13

Little Gem!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-01-15

A great easy to follow story with enough to keep you hooked!
I love Jenny Colgan books and this one didn't disappoint.
I kept going to bed early so I could enjoy just a little bit more each evening!
Will definitely be looking for another one of Jenny's to download :-)

  • Me Before You

  • By: Jojo Moyes
  • Narrated by: Jo Hall, Anna Bentinck, Steve Crossley, and others
  • Length: 16 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,346
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,509
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,506

Lou Clark knows a lot of things. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop, and she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live, and now everything feels small and joyless. What Will doesn't know is that Lou is about to burst into his world. And neither of them knows they're going to change the other for all time.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A great book but it did make me cry!

  • By R. Dang on 08-06-12

Brilliant Read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-01-15

An insightful, absorbing read that will want to keep you listening. Well written & well read by the cast. Would recommend.

  • Someone Special

  • By: Sheila O'Flanagan
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lennon
  • Length: 16 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 67
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 61
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 62

Romy Kilkenny loves her life in Australia – she has her dream job, an active lifestyle, and best friend Keith who understands her better than anyone. And she couldn’t be further from her family. But when her family needs her back in Ireland, she is thrust into the lives of her mother and half-siblings again. Romy has never fitted in with her family and now with Keith too far away to give comfort, she feels even more like an outsider.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Didn't enjoy

  • By Naomi Armstrong on 14-04-15

Enjoyable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-01-15

I really enjoyed listening to this book. Well written with great narration. I couldn't wait to listen to my next installment & even sat in my car listening & was late for work!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • I'll Take New York

  • By: Miranda Dickinson
  • Narrated by: Penelope Rawlins
  • Length: 13 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 52
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 46
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 45

A tale of love, misunderstandings and second chances in the city that never sleeps. The path of true love never did run smooth.... When Brooklyn bookstore owner Bea James is let down once too often by unreliable boyfriend Otis, she swears off relationships for good, determined instead to focus on her successful business and otherwise happy life in New York. Meanwhile, on the other side of Manhattan, Jake Steinmann is nursing a broken heart after his beautiful wife Jessica files for divorce.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Boring and obvious

  • By Sia Willms on 14-04-15

Easy listening

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-01-15

Great, simple, easy to follow story. Well written & well read. An enjoyable listen! I would recommend this great little audible book.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful