LISTENER

Brightlight

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 8
  • ratings
  • Where the Forest Meets the Stars

  • By: Glendy Vanderah
  • Narrated by: Lauren Ezzo
  • Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 16
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14

After the loss of her mother and her own battle with breast cancer, Joanna Teale returns to her graduate research on nesting birds in rural Illinois, determined to prove that her recent hardships have not broken her. She throws herself into her work from dusk to dawn, until her solitary routine is disrupted by the appearance of a mysterious child who shows up at her cabin barefoot and covered in bruises. The girl calls herself Ursa, and she claims to have been sent from the stars to witness five miracles.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great first Novel. loved it❣️👍

  • By Miss Jane Louise Sexton on 18-03-19

HTRAE resident

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-03-19

I absolutely loved this so many issues dealt with in this captivating novel . I’ve been to earth and back again with this one ! So well read but to be honest they had an easy job because it’s just so wonderfully written . I’ve just one complaint, that it had to end .The character Ursula for me was so complex and detailed I feel she’s with me now as are jo have and tabby . I’ll be reading more Glenda vanderah books for sure !

  • Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square

  • By: Heidi Swain
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 372
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 330
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 334

The heartwarming new audiobook from the number five Sunday Times best-selling author, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Cathy Bramley. Kate is on the run from her almost-divorced husband, who is determined to have her back, and she has found the perfect place to hide...a little cottage on Nightingale Square in Norwich, far away from her old life in London. But the residents of Nightingale Square don't take no for an answer, and Kate soon finds herself pulled into a friendship with Lisa, her bossy but lovely new neighbour.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another heartwarming story .

  • By Esther on 26-01-19

Jax

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-03-19

I liked this but for me it was a little too nice . If you like happy books and want to feel uplifted and tick all the boxes then this is for you . It’s very sweet peas . Well read just a little twee for me . Sometimes there’s no pleasing people!? Gave it a 4 .5 .

  • One Day in December

  • By: Josie Silver
  • Narrated by: Eleanor Tomlinson, Charlie Anson
  • Length: 10 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,332
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,203
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,206

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn't exist. After all, life isn't a scene from the movies, is it? But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man whom she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there's a moment of pure magic...and then her bus drives away. Laurie thinks she'll never see the boy from the bus again. But at their Christmas party a year later, her best friend, Sarah, introduces her to the new love of her life. Who is, of course, the boy from the bus. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • made me laugh and cry lovely story.

  • By jules on 26-10-18

I loved this !

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-02-19

So where do I start a complicated story of boy meets girl . So well read that the long winding waits are forgiven ! Like having a fluffy cuddle blanket or a bar of delicious chocolate you’ve hidden away and your secretly nibbling at and don’t want to share . Realistic and current . Eleanor Tomlinson has the most soothing voice and expressive tone it’s magical . And Charlie anson pitched it perfectly and both understood the characters josie silvers has done a superb job so well written and such fun to listen to .believable endearing story . Hoorah for fiction !!

  • The Italian Girl

  • By: Lucinda Riley
  • Narrated by: Eva Alexander
  • Length: 15 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 162
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 149
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 148

Rosanna Menici is just a girl when she meets Roberto Rossini, the man who will change her life. In the years to come, their destinies are bound together by their extraordinary talents as opera singers and by their enduring but obsessive love for each other - a love that will ultimately affect the lives of those closest to them. For, as Rosanna slowly discovers, their unison is haunted by irreversible events from the past.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Good book ruined by terrible accents in Narration

  • By Apts48 on 09-08-14

This has everything !

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-02-19

So well read . It makes all the difference you can understand the pace and setting of the story . It was like a game badminton . Bach and forth with the drama ! And little sprinkles of happiness every now and then and some hard moments of their life’s too . Very fast moving plots that sopped you being bored a real whirl wind of romance drama and at one point I cried . You’ll find out if it moves you to tears when you read it . I got to know the characters so well because of the narrator working so well with a well written book . II couldn’t wait to be alone to listen to the next excerpt . !t was Just what I needed. My family will think I’m having an affair as I’ve ditched them at every opportunity to get my fix . I haven’t watched tv the whole time and I feel like I’ve been living with Italian family relatives . Might not be for everyone cup of tea but I’m giving it 5 stars as it ticked every box .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Helena's Secret

  • By: Lucinda Riley
  • Narrated by: Lucinda Riley, Harry Whittaker
  • Length: 13 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 27
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 20
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 21

Please note this title is also published as The Olive Tree. It has been 24 years since a young Helena spent a magical holiday in Cyprus, where she fell in love for the first time. When the now crumbling house, 'Pandora,' is left to her by her godfather, she returns to spend the summer there with her family. At the difficult age of 13, her son, Alex, is torn between protecting his mother and learning the truth about his real father.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Read all her books round the wrong way !

  • By Brightlight on 21-02-19

Read all her books round the wrong way !

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-02-19

Well wasn’t expecting this at all ! It was quirky and I think if not her first book very early . I really enjoyed it ! Loved the dead pan voice of Alex and his character . I couldn’t put it down because it was just so easy to listen to and I identify with .typical chaotic family life .