LISTENER

Catherine Thow

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 71
  • ratings
  • Don't Tell

  • By: Karen Rose
  • Narrated by: Jeff Harding
  • Length: 16 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 78
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 75
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74

Desperate Mary Grace Winters knew the only way to save herself and her child from her abusive husband was to stage their deaths. Now all that remains of her former life is at the bottom of a lake. As Caroline Stewart, Mary Grace has almost forgotten the nightmare she left behind nine years ago. Slowly she has learned to believe that her new life, and new identity, is here to stay. Then her husband uncovers her hidden trail. Step by step he's closing in on her and everyone she loves.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good thriller

  • By Catherine Thow on 20-11-17

Good thriller

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-11-17

I enjoyed this tense thriller but what spoilt it for me was the romance part . Distracting but not in a good way quite laughable and too mills and boons for me .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Child

  • By: Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Adjoa Andoh, Finty Williams, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,349
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,010
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,992

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers, it's impossible to ignore. For one woman it's a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her. For another it's the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered. And for a third, a journalist, it's the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth. The Child's story will be told.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story!

  • By joanna Prendergast on 30-06-17

Great read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-07-17

Loved this book great writing and had me gripped till the end . Can't wait for the next book

  • Sleep Tight

  • By: Rachel Abbott
  • Narrated by: Melody Grove, Andrew Wincott
  • Length: 10 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,861
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,703
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,689

When Olivia calls the police to report that her husband and children are missing, she believes she will never see them again. Two years later,Detective Chief Inspector Tom Douglas is called to investigate, but this time it’s Olivia who has disappeared. Her car is in the garage, and her purse is in her handbag. For some reason every single picture of this family has been removed from albums, phones, and computers. Then they find the blood...

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow! Fantastic story!

  • By Liane on 12-02-15

Great thriller

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-04-17

A really good book but disliked the accents didn't sound natural and not consistently the same changed a few times

  • Every Dark Corner

  • The Cincinnati Series, Book 3
  • By: Karen Rose
  • Narrated by: Susie James
  • Length: 21 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 168
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 152
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 151

Every Dark Corner is the nail-biting new thriller from Sunday Times best seller Karen Rose and book three in the Cincinnati series, following on from Closer than You Think and Alone in the Dark, for fans of James Patterson and Tess Gerritsen. When FBI Special Agent Griffin 'Decker' Davenport wakes from his coma, he is desperate to find the missing children he knows are in danger.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic story from a brilliant storyteller

  • By Mrs. S. A. Lynch on 08-11-16

Good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-12-16

I liked this book but felt that the three book in this trilogy although filled the story had the same romance and I felt that this wasn't needed and spoilt it for me

  • The Business

  • By: Martina Cole
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 15 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 110
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 87
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 86

The Business is a tale of drugs, prostitution, and a young girl's fight for survival - against all the odds. Imelda Dooley is scared. She's played hard and fast and now she's been caught. She's pregnant and now she's on her own. Her father, not a man to mess with, will see that somebody pays for this. And it's not going to be her. So Imelda Dooley tells a lie. A lie that literally causes murders. When Mary Dooley's husband is killed in the night's events, she knows she must graft to keep the family afloat. And graft she does.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • the business

  • By sue on 08-04-13

Very slow

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-03-16

This hasn't been my favourite book . I felt it was drawn out and character reflecting on their life too repetitive

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rough Cut

  • Rosie Gilmour, Book 6
  • By: Anna Smith
  • Narrated by: Sarah Barron
  • Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 128
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 117
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 116

The death of a young Pakistani bride in Glasgow gets Rosie Gilmour's antennae twitching. She is sure this tragic accident was anything but - but she is not prepared for where her investigation will take her.... Rosie has her hands full navigating the sensitivities of this case - the girl's grieving family and the tensions between the white and Pakistani communities in the city - when she is contacted by two prostitutes in serious trouble. One of their clients has died on the job, and they've gone on the run - with his briefcase. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Yet another good one from Anna Smith

  • By mollyeyre on 21-01-16

Fab

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-02-16

A great book , really enjoyed it I can't wait for the next book to see what Rosie gets up to

  • AVENGED

  • By: Jacqui Rose
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 9 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 53
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 53

Thrilling, dangerous and compulsive, Avenged is perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers. You make a deal with the devil; you pay your dues…Franny Doyle has always known that her father Patrick has been up to no good. After all you don't become one of London's number one gangsters without ruffling a few feathers along the way. Still, she adores her dad and she knows that he would lay down his life for her - she is his number one girl and he has taught her everything she knows.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it :)

  • By Ms. M. Powell on 23-01-17

Great

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-01-16

A great book I could stop listening . Kept me on the edge of my chair can't wait to listen to another one