LISTENER

bill sneddon

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 30
  • ratings
  • The Tiger

  • Chronicles of an Imperial Legionary Officer, Book 2
  • By: Marc Alan Edelheit
  • Narrated by: Steven Brand
  • Length: 8 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 66
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62

Captain Ben Stiger captured Castle Vrell and rid it of a minion of a dark god. Now he finds himself cut off from the empire, with a hostile rebel army marching on the legion's fortress where they guard the entrance to Vrell Valley. It is not in Stiger's nature to simply wait for the enemy. Badly outnumbered and facing odds greater than 20 to one, he sets out to impede the enemy's advance and show them the steel that the legions are made of.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Good story spoiled by cliches

  • By Louise on 08-01-17

stigers tigers

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-04-18

a brilliant story, cannot wait for the next book , as I like these storylines.

  • Leopard Sword: Empire IV

  • By: Anthony Riches
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 13 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 134
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 115
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 116

Britannia has been subdued - and an epic new chapter in Marcus Valerius Aquila's life begins. The murderous Roman agents who nearly captured Marcus have been defeated by his friends. But in order to protect those very friends from the wrath of the emperor, he must leave the province that has been giving him shelter. As Marcus Tribulus Corvus, centurion of the second Tungrian auxiliary cohort, he leads his men from Hadrian's Wall to the Tungrians' original home in Germania Inferior.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Compelling read

  • By Mr T C on 25-06-15

Great storyline and we'll read .

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-18

LOVED IT, great listen, best part was when the bandit got his comeuppance. the hero got his reward.

  • Onslaught

  • The Centurions II
  • By: Anthony Riches
  • Narrated by: Mark Noble
  • Length: 14 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38

The author of the best-selling Empire sequence continues his new epic of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 88. The Rhine frontier has exploded into all-out war. Summoned back to their homeland by their new leader, Kivilaz, the Batavi cohorts, so recently proud soldiers of Rome, find their lands transformed. All Roman influences have vanished after a battle in which two legions were humbled by the rebels, then chased away to lick their wounds in their fortress, the Old Camp.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Amateur Hour

  • By will h on 12-05-18

Onslaught

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-12-17

Brilliant audiobook. First class to listen to. Keep them coming. Especially concerning Rome and the Romans.

  • Eagles at War

  • By: Ben Kane
  • Narrated by: David Rintoul
  • Length: 13 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 170
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 163
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 162

Based on real historical events. A time for vengeance AD 9, German frontier: Close to the Rhine, a Roman centurion, Lucius Tullus, prepares to take his soldiers on patrol. On the opposite side of the river, German tribes are resentful of the harsh taxes about to be imposed upon them. Suspicious that there might be unrest, Tullus knows that his men's survival will be determined not just by their training and discipline, but by his leadership.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Read

  • By Ben on 21-08-15

Roman defeat

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-17

the narrator was excellent and the storyline great to listen too. grea
t storyline. too. well worth the cost.

  • Praetorian

  • Eagles of the Empire, Book 11
  • By: Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
  • Length: 12 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 367
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 315
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 315

Praetorian is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. AD 51. Legionaries Cato and Macro have forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture. Yet nothing has prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest battlefield of all: the bloody streets of Rome. Traitors are threatening to plunge the Empire into bloody chaos and no one can be trusted....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A Dip in a Fine Series

  • By Simon on 25-09-17

Cato and macro adventures

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-06-17

I like to read or listen to any books about Rome and Cato and macro . Very exciting long may it continue .