LISTENER

Kat

UK
  • 10
  • reviews
  • 19
  • helpful votes
  • 48
  • ratings
  • Belle

  • By: Lesley Pearse
  • Narrated by: Sherry Baines
  • Length: 21 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 418
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 378
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 375

She witnessed a murder - and now her life is in danger. Fifteen year-old Belle, though raised in a London brothel, is an innocent. But when she witnesses one of the girls brutally strangled by a client, she is cast into a cruel, heartless world. Snatched from the streets and sold into prostitution, she is made a courtesan in New Orleans.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent

  • By jules on 22-04-15

Fantastically gripping

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-09-17

There were some words and sentences that I thought the narrator misunderstood and so read them differently to how I would, but overall a great story and tolerable narrator. Will be getting the next in series immediately

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The Throwaway Children

  • By: Diney Costeloe
  • Narrated by: Anne Dover
  • Length: 17 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 875
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 781
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 782

Rita and Rosie Stevens are only nine and five years old when their widowed mother marries a violent bully. Under pressure from her new husband, she is persuaded to send the girls to an orphanage. It is not long before the powers that be decide to send a consignment of orphans to their sister institution in Australia. Among them, without their family's consent or knowledge, are Rita and Rosie, the throwaway children.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A wonderful novel, beautifully narrated.

  • By Elizabeth on 28-02-17

Anne Dover.... Simply Fabulous

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-10-16

Anne Dover is my favourite narrator by far, and this book was fantastic, great story line with the best narrator I have found. If you like this kind of book, give it a go, you won't be disappointed

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl with No Name

  • By: Diney Costeloe
  • Narrated by: Bea Holland
  • Length: 18 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 574
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 516
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 513

Thirteen-year-old Lisa escapes from Nazi Germany on the Kindertransport and arrives in England in August 1939. She can't speak a word of English, and among her meagre belongings is one precious photograph of her family. But when the Blitz blows her new home apart, she wakes up in hospital with no memory of who she is. The authorities give her a new name and despatch her to a children's home. With the war in full swing, what will become of Lisa now?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Girl with no name!

  • By Magic Maggie on 14-09-16

Great story, not keen on narrator

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-10-16

Great story line, exactly the kind of book I love, however, I found the narrator very stilted. Only kept going because I wanted to find out what happened to Liza/Charlotte

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • The Code Girls

  • By: Daisy Styles
  • Narrated by: Anne Dover
  • Length: 13 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 104
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 97
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 95

It's 1941 and Britain is at war. For the aristocratic Walsingham family this means their grand home being taken over by the armed forces. But for newcomers Ava, Maudie and Bella, this is a chance for something more. Each is ready to do their part for the war effort and soon become firm friends. But Lord Edward Walsingham seems like he is hiding something. And although he may be clever, he might have met his match in Maudie and the girls....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Code girls

  • By Mouse2560 on 29-09-16

A great 'war time' read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-09-16

I love love LOVE books set during the first and second world wars, I find them fascinating. This was no different, brilliantly written and fabulously narrated, if you like the same kind of books, this is defo worth a listen

  • The Orphans of Halfpenny Street

  • Children's Home, Book 1
  • By: Cathy Sharp
  • Narrated by: Antonia Beamish
  • Length: 14 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 77
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61

Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Katie Flynn. St Saviour's will never turn a homeless child away.... When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour's will give them hope.... It's 1948, and London's East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour's Children's Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children, and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By Kathleen on 21-11-18

Narrator not to my liking

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-08-16

Good book, but the narrator was rather stilted and at times the characters seemed to say things that were not really required , repeating information etc.

  • The Ballroom Class

  • By: Lucy Dillon
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Length: 14 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 185
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167

For the millions addicted to Strictly Come Dancing, a debut tapping in to the world's latest craze. When three couples join a new ballroom class, they're all looking for some magic in their lives. Lauren and Chris are getting married, and Lauren's dreaming of a fairy-tale wedding with a first dance to make Cinderella proud. Not wanting to be shown up on the dance floor, her parents, Bridget and Frank, have come along, too.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story, flawless narration

  • By Rosemary on 30-05-16

I love Lucy Dillon Books

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-07-16

And Lucy Price-Lewis narrates them wonderfully. I have now listened to every single one of their audio books and ask disappointed to have run out! Looking forward to the next one. A fab listen!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Fast Friends

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Esther Wane
  • Length: 16 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 127
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 114
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 114

Fast Friends is a warm and funny romantic novel from Sunday Times best-selling author Jill Mansell. For fans of Lucy Diamond, Cathy Kelly and Marian Keyes. When bored housewife and mother Camilla Stewart impulsively invites her old school chums for dinner, she hardly imagines that the evening will shatter her comfortable existence. But Roz Vallender and Loulou Marks are no ordinary guests.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • loved it

  • By Kayley Fenwick on 23-06-16

The Jordy accent was questionable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-07-16

But other than that. A good listen, thoroughly enjoyable. Give it a go if you like a light read

  • All Change

  • By: Elizabeth Jane Howard
  • Narrated by: Penelope Wilton
  • Length: 15 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 172
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 159
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 161

The final book in the landmark Cazalet Chronicles, recently broadcast on BBC Radio 4. It is the 1950s and as the Cazalets' beloved matriarch, the Duchy, passes away, she takes with her the last remnants of a world - of great houses and servants, of class and tradition - in which the Cazalets have thrived. Louise, now divorced, becomes entangled in a painful affair; while Polly and Clary must balance marriage and motherhood with their own ideas and ambitions.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Sort of an Ending

  • By Alison on 05-05-15

I loved every single one of the 5 books in this series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-03-16

I highly recommend listening to all 5 of the series, in order. I shall miss every single one of the Cazelet family

  • The Light Years

  • Cazalet Chronicle, Volume 1
  • By: Elizabeth Jane Howard
  • Narrated by: Jill Balcon
  • Length: 16 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 374
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 303
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 307

The tangled lives of three generations evoke a vanished world in this, the first volume of the Cazalet Chronicle. Home Place, Sussex, 1937. The English family at home.... For two unforgettable summers they gathered together, safe from the advancing storm clouds of war. In the heart of the Sussex countryside these were still sunlit days of childish games, lavish family meals and picnics on the beach.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A snapshot of pre-WW2 upper middle class life

  • By Knucklebones on 09-01-12

A good book, but.....

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-03-16

A very enjoyable listen, but sometimes jumped from one set of characters to another and took a few seconds to catch on which characters we were with next. Worth a listen though!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Life, Death and Vanilla Slices

  • By: Jenny Eclair
  • Narrated by: Jenny Eclair
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 310
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 284
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 284

Jean Collins had two daughters. But she only loved one of them. She knew it was wrong, but she just couldn't help herself. Jess was a little sweetheart, everyone said so. Anne was awkward and serious and not much fun, to be frank. But now the years have passed. Jess is missing - run off long ago, no one knows where or why. So when Jean is left in a coma after a road accident, it's Anne who travels back up north to sit at her mother's bedside. And she wonders - why did Jean dash out into the road without looking? What distracted her?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Funny, sad and insightful

  • By Saffy on 30-09-13

Recommended for a smile

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-03-16

Way better than expected. Thoroughly enjoyed listening to Jenny read this, very amusing, defo worth a listen to