LISTENER

Ann Marie Shepherd

  • 19
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • Mistletoe and Murder

  • A Murder Most Unladylike Mystery
  • By: Robin Stevens
  • Narrated by: Katie Leung
  • Length: 6 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 52
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 42

Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are spending the Christmas hols in snowy Cambridge. Hazel has high hopes of its beautiful spires, cosy libraries and inviting tearooms - but there is danger lurking in the dark stairwells of ancient Maudlin College. Two days before Christmas, there is a terrible accident. At least it appears to be an accident - until the Detective Society look a little closer and realise a murder has taken place.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Review

  • By Deborah on 24-05-17

Mistletoe and murder

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-10-18

I love murder mysteries and am an avid Agatha Christie fans along with others, this book was brilliant, reminded me of the secret seven by Enid bottom , would recommend for all murder mystery enthusiasts to listen to or read, looking forward to the next one waiting in my library! A+++++.

  • The Mystery of Three Quarters

  • A Hercule Poirot Mystery
  • By: Sophie Hannah, Agatha Christie
  • Narrated by: Julian Rhind-Tutt
  • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 429
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 403
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 399

Returning home after lunch one day, Hercule Poirot finds an angry woman waiting outside his front door. She demands to know why Poirot has sent her a letter accusing her of the murder of Barnabas Pandy, a man she has neither heard of nor ever met. Poirot has also never heard of a Barnabas Pandy and has accused nobody of murder. Shaken, he goes inside, only to find that he has a visitor waiting for him - a man who also claims also to have received a letter from Poirot that morning, accusing him of the murder of Barnabas Pandy.... 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Tedious in the extreme!

  • By raven on 27-09-18

The mystery of three quarters

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-10-18

Really enjoyed listening to this book, Agatha Christie lovers will enjoy , well worth it , A+++++

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Mystery of the Blue Jar: An Agatha Christie Short Story

  • By: Agatha Christie
  • Narrated by: Christopher Lee
  • Length: 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 16
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 16

A classic Agatha Christie short story, available individually for the first time in digital audio, performed by Christopher Lee. Every morning at the same hour, whilst on the golf course, Jack Hartington hears mysterious cries for help. He speaks to a resident of the cottage from which the cries emanate and learns that she has unsettling dreams of a woman with a blue Chinese vase.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The mystery of the blue jar

  • By Ann Marie Shepherd on 17-10-18

The mystery of the blue jar

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-10-18

Really good short story, would recommend to everyone who likes status Christie, well laid out unexpected ending!

  • And Then There Were None

  • By: Agatha Christie
  • Narrated by: Dan Stevens
  • Length: 6 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 720
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 656
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 652

Agatha Christie's world-famous mystery thriller, reissued with a striking new cover designed to appeal to the latest generation of Agatha Christie fans and book lovers. Ten strangers, apparently with little in common, are lured to an island mansion off the coast of Devon by the mysterious U.N. Owen. Over dinner, a record begins to play, and the voice of an unseen host accuses each person of hiding a guilty secret. That evening, former reckless driver Tony Marston is found murdered by a deadly dose of cyanide.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Still a superb read!

  • By Mr on 15-11-15

And then there were none

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-10-18

I have read all the books and watched all the films, brilliant ending, different to the others, would recommend to everyone to listen to, absolutely fantastic! A+++++

  • The Mitford Murders

  • The Mitford Murders, Book 1
  • By: Jessica Fellowes
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 11 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 355
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 317
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 318

Lose yourself in the gripping first novel in a new series of Golden Age murder mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters. It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!!

  • By cdw on 09-10-17

The Milford murders

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-10-18

Really enjoyed it, was slow to get into at the beggining but the detail was understood as you went through the storyline, would recommend anyone to listen to this If you love a good old fashioned murder mystery like status Christie ect. Please read! Really looking forward to the next book. A+++++.

  • Murder at Ashgrove House

  • Rose Simpson Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Margaret Addison
  • Narrated by: Tracey Norman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 20
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 17

When Sir William and Lady Withers invite friends and family to a weekend house party at their country home, Ashgrove House, they are faced with the arrival of both invited and uninvited guests, the consequence of which is murder. Set in 1930, Murder at Ashgrove House is full of intrigue, clues, and red herrings, with nearly everyone having a motive for wishing the victim dead. This is a classic country house murder mystery set during the golden age of crime and will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Silly puerile drivel .

  • By George on 04-09-18

Murder at mangrove house

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-10-18

If you love the old period dramas , status Christie left this will be a brilliant book for you to listen to, highly recommend, with a bit of a twist at the end. Please listen or read this book you won't regret it! A+++++

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • On Her Majesty's Frightfully Secret Service

  • A Royal Spyness Mystery, Book 11
  • By: Rhys Bowen
  • Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren
  • Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 73
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71

When Darcy runs off on another secret assignment, I am left to figure out how to travel to Italy sans maid and chaperone to help my dear friend Belinda, as she awaits the birth of her baby alone. An opportunity presents itself in a most unexpected way - my cousin the queen is in need of a spy to attend a house party in the Italian lake country. The Prince of Wales and the dreadful Mrs. Simpson have been invited, and Her Majesty is anxious to thwart a possible secret wedding.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Murder and Nazis and Spies! Oh My!

  • By Inishowen Cailin on 20-08-17

On her majesties secret service

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-08-18

Absolutely brilliant, can't wait for the next one, I recommend to everyone to listen or read this series of books! A++++++

  • Illuminati Exposed

  • The Truth About the Illuminati Finally Exposed
  • By: Steven Nash
  • Narrated by: Michael Smith
  • Length: 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1

This audiobook provides useful insights on how the Illuminati were shaped, as well as the society's history. After you are finished with the book you will have gained some knowledge about its secrets, as well as how the events over the last hundred years were shaped. Mysteries that have remained unanswered will be given answers and explanations via this book.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • illuminati exposed

  • By Ann Marie Shepherd on 06-06-18

illuminati exposed

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-06-18

ejoyed the experience of hearing about the illuminati, what they stand for and how they work, a light look into a very complex organisation!

  • Galahad at Blandings

  • By: P. G. Wodehouse
  • Narrated by: Martin Jarvis
  • Length: 4 hrs and 24 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 21

A major mix-up at Blandings Castle, in which Galahad introduces yet another imposter to Lord Emsworth's residence and the Empress of Blandings gets sloshed in her sty. Formidable comic characters designed to interrupt Lord Emsworth's peace include his overbearing sister Lady Hermione Wedge who comes complete her own meddling secretary, and Dame Daphne Winkworth who has her eye on becoming the next Countess. As ever the stage is set for Gally to try and restore order to the ensuing chaos!

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Nonsense!

  • By Mrs. E. D'agostino on 26-11-16

Galahad at blandings!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-06-18

Love the Period comedy and drama you get a real sense of the period of time and surroundings, so recommend to everyone who is interested in comedy with no lewd behaviour. Real good old fashioned fun! Can't wait to listen to the next one!

  • Dracula's Guest [Classic Tales Edition]

  • By: Bram Stoker
  • Narrated by: B. J. Harrison
  • Length: 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 3

This story coincides with April 30, or May Day's Eve, when it was held that witches met on the Brocken mountain and kept communion with the devil. It is named after St. Walburga, an English nun who helped convert Germans to Christianity in the eighth century. Her feast day coincides with an ancient pagan festival whose rites were intended to give protection against witchcraft. Stoker originally wrote this story to be included in his novel Dracula, but the editor struck it from the original work.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Dracula guest

  • By Ann Marie Shepherd on 21-05-18

Dracula guest

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-05-18

Really enjoyed the story, reading and narration, would recommend you listen to this if you are a vampire fan!