LISTENER

Sandy mg

  • 180
  • reviews
  • 45
  • helpful votes
  • 232
  • ratings
  • White Lies

  • By: Lucy Dawson
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 554
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 511
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 508

A darkly gripping domestic drama about secrets and lies. When you have everything, you have everything to lose.... Alexandra Inglis is a respected family doctor, trusted by her patients to keep their most intimate secrets. And if sometimes the boundaries between duty and desire blur...well, she's only human. But when Alex oversteps a line with Jonathan, one of her patients, she knows she's gone too far.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Overrated, uninteresting story

  • By Amazon Customer on 17-10-18

Very good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-03-19

Very good listen- lots of twists and turns with an unexpected ending. Excellent narration, enjoyable

  • Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square

  • By: Heidi Swain
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 314
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 278
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 282

The heartwarming new audiobook from the number five Sunday Times best-selling author, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Cathy Bramley. Kate is on the run from her almost-divorced husband, who is determined to have her back, and she has found the perfect place to hide...a little cottage on Nightingale Square in Norwich, far away from her old life in London. But the residents of Nightingale Square don't take no for an answer, and Kate soon finds herself pulled into a friendship with Lisa, her bossy but lovely new neighbour.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another heartwarming story .

  • By Esther on 26-01-19

Fabulous

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-03-19

What a lovely heart warming story- somewhat predictable but who cares!! Enjoyed it all- narration felt a little stilted in places but didn’t spoil the listening experience.

  • Come a Little Closer

  • By: Rachel Abbott
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 884
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 817
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 811

Snow is falling softly as a young woman takes her last breath. Fifteen miles away, two women sit silently in a dark kitchen. They don't speak, because there is nothing left to be said. Another woman boards a plane to escape the man who is trying to steal her life. But she will have to return sooner or later. These strangers have one thing in common. They each made one bad choice - and now they have no choices left. Soon they won't be strangers, they'll be family....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic as ever

  • By Hayley on 16-06-18

Enjoyed it

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-03-19

I enjoyed this book although the very end chapter wasn’t what I’d hoped for!! Also I felt there was a loose end about one of the missing people that wasn’t covered. Apart from these couple of points I enjoyed it and the narration was excellent.

  • The Fear

  • By: C. L. Taylor
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 814
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 745
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 750

When Lou Wandsworth ran away to France with her teacher Mike Hughes, she thought he was the love of her life. But Mike wasn't what he seemed, and he left her life in pieces. Now 32, Lou discovers that he is involved with teenager Chloe Meadows. Determined to make sure history doesn't repeat itself, she returns home to confront him for the damage he's caused.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Captivating

  • By Isobel Vaughan on 17-04-18

Very good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-03-19

Really enjoyed this book although the main characters in turn at some point wound me up by being quite naive or just mad !! Clare Corbett is a fantastic narrator which really makes the book come to life

  • The Tiger in the Well

  • By: Philip Pullman
  • Narrated by: Anton Lesser
  • Length: 13 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 939
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 791
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 788

Sally is 25, and somebody wants to destroy her. She receives divorce papers from a man she has never met, let alone married - yet this trap is so well laid that she is powerless to prove otherwise. When custody of her precious daughter is awarded to this evil stranger, it is the beginning of a terrifying struggle in which Sally will have to fight, with a gun if necessary, for the freedom of her family.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Outstanding narration

  • By Busy bee on 02-01-17

Very good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-02-19

Very enjoyable book, brilliantly narrated by Anton Lesser. Describes what Victorian London would have been like very well.

  • Raven Black

  • By: Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by: Kenny Blyth
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 691
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 629
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 622

It is a cold January morning and Shetland lies buried beneath a deep layer of snow. Trudging home, Fran Hunter's eye is drawn to a vivid splash of colour on the white ground, ravens circling above. It is the strangled body of her teenage neighbour Catherine Ross. The locals on the quiet island stubbornly focus their gaze on one man – loner and simpleton Magnus Tait. But when police insist on opening out the investigation a veil of suspicion and fear is thrown over the entire community. For the first time in years, Catherine's neighbours nervously lock their doors, whilst a killer lives on in their midst.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • WOW!

  • By Margaret on 01-09-18

Very good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-02-19

I really enjoyed this book even though I guessed the perpetrator fairly early on. The narration is superb

  • Dark Light

  • Elizabeth Cage, Book 2
  • By: Jodi Taylor
  • Narrated by: Julie Teal
  • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 357
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 332
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 334

Betrayed, terrified and alone, Elizabeth Cage has fled her home. With no plan and no friends, she arrives at the picturesque village of Greyston and finds herself involved in an ages-old ceremony that will end in death. And that might be the least of her problems - the Sorensen Institute would very much like to know her whereabouts. And Michael Jones is still out there, somewhere, she hopes. No matter how far and how fast she can run, trouble will always find Elizabeth Cage.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Continuity error

  • By drdapa on 09-11-18

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-02-19

Very different from the first book in the series and once I got used to the idea I really enjoyed it. Narration very good

  • The Girls

  • By: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister, Amelie Jewell
  • Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 781
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 708
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 703

You live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people’s houses. You’ve known your neighbours for years, and you trust them. Implicitly. You think your children are safe. But are they really? On a midsummer’s night, a 13-year-old girl is found unconscious in a dark corner of the garden square. What really happened to her? And who is responsible?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Weak in several parts

  • By Giftgiver on 14-11-16

Ok

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-19

I enjoyed listening to this but was a little disappointed with the ending- I felt that some characters got away with less than they deserved!!

  • The One

  • By: John Marrs
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Vicky Hall, Simon Bubb, and others
  • Length: 11 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,217
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,123
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,119

How far would you go to find The One? One simple mouth swab is all it takes. A quick DNA test to find your perfect partner - the one you're genetically made for. A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one other person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love. Now, five more people meet their Match. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking - and deadlier - than others....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I absolutely loved this book!!

  • By Daisy on 02-06-17

Enjoyable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-01-19

Although this book had a few gory moments which I don’t usually like I kept on listening and enjoyed it. One of the male narrators voice was a bit grating at first but I just got used to it!! Overall worth a listen

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

  • By: Gail Honeyman
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,970
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 11,052
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,023

Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live. Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka to drink every weekend. Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Puts Bridget Jones in the shade

  • By Caroline Mitchell on 10-07-17

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-01-19

What a lovely ‘listen’. You really feel for the main character and there is a real twist near the end of the book. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole thing and the narration is superb!!