LISTENER

Manar Moustafa

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 6
  • ratings
  • The Invitation

  • By: Lucy Foley
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 51
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 46
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 46

An epic, escapist novel that will transport you away to an extraordinary time in history. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop. Rome, 1950s. One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the postwar darkness, she's a point of light. They're from different worlds but both trying and failing to carve out new lives. Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal's world.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • One of my favourites!

  • By Amazon Customer on 14-08-17

Enjoyable read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-01-19

This is the second Lucy Foley book I read within past 2 months and I enjoyed it as much as the first one. Highly recommended.

  • Last Letter from Istanbul

  • By: Lucy Foley
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 11
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 10

Constantinople, 1921. Each day Nur gazes across the waters of the Bosphorus to her childhood home, a grand white house, nestled on the opposite bank. Memories float on the breeze - the fragrance of the fig trees, the saffron sunsets of languid summer evenings. But now those days are dead. The house has been transformed into an army hospital, it is a prize of war in the hands of the British. And as Nur weaves through the streets carrying the embroideries that have become her livelihood, Constantinople swarms with Allied soldiers - a reminder of how far she and her city have fallen.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A love story that will stay in the reader's mind

  • By Manar Moustafa on 05-10-18

A love story that will stay in the reader's mind

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-10-18

Love stories at war times are touching and memorable. This book however has more than one love story and they are equally beautiful depicting the ugliness of war and the capability of the humans of sacrifice and generosity.

  • A Man Called Ove

  • By: Fredrik Backman
  • Narrated by: Joan Walker
  • Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,817
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,675
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,678

Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He isn't as young as he used to be. He drives a Saab. He points at people he doesn't like the look of. He is described by those around his as 'the neighbour from hell'.Every morning he makes his inspection rounds of the local streets. He moves bicycles and checks the contents of recycling bins, even though it's been years since he was fired as Chairman of the Residents' Association in a vicious 'coup d'état'.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • All you need is Ove

  • By Kaggy on 22-09-14

Fantastic read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-03-18

Thoroughly enjoyable this book. I haven't read anything that made me laugh and sometimes cry as this one. I also enjoyed the voice and style of the narrator. Highly recommended.

  • The Frozen Lake

  • A Vintage Mystery
  • By: Elizabeth Edmondson
  • Narrated by: Nicolette McKenzie
  • Length: 15 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 241
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 225
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 225

Fabulous family saga of secrets held through two generations, set against the atmospheric background of the Lake District at Christmas. The year 1936 is drawing to a close. Winter grips Wetmoreland and causes a rare phenonmenon: The lakes freeze. For two local families, the Richardsons and the Grindleys, this will bring unexpected upheaval, as the frozen lake entices long-estranged siblings and children to return home for the holiday season.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Nicolette McKenzie is a fabulous narrator!

  • By MaMaMason on 21-02-16

A very enjoyable read

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-08-16

The author has presented us with an easy to follow story line with many interesting characters.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful