LISTENER

Miss

  • 17
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 25
  • ratings
  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,269
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,955
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,950

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

  • By Pete on 02-12-16

Good read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-12-16

Good read, well written and interesting. Will look for more from this author. Happy new year to all!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • An Unquiet Mind

  • By: Kay Redfield Jamison
  • Narrated by: Kay Redfield Jamison
  • Length: 2 hrs and 46 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 87
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 63

The personal memoir of a manic depressive and an authority on the subject describes the onset of the illness during her teenage years and her determined journey through the realm of available treatments.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Read if you are bipolar- you will understand

  • By lily on 16-05-16

Raw and real

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-09-16

I obviously finished it, but am going to go back and listen to it again now. So much information and raw emotion on an incredibly sensitive topic. Thank you for making the way I feel less 'off the scale'.

  • Lazybones

  • Tom Thorne, Book 3
  • By: Mark Billingham
  • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
  • Length: 6 hrs and 31 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 119
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 117

Someone, a woman or somebody pretending to be a woman, is writing to convicted rapists in prison, befriending them and then brutally killing them when they are released. DI Tom Thorne must discover the link between these killings and a murder/suicide that took place twenty-five years before; a tragedy to which the only witnesses were two small children, now adults and nowhere to be found. How can you escape a past that will do a lot more than just catch up with you?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A powerful book

  • By Joseph on 23-08-06

Dark but brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-09-16

I'm so disappointed that the music is back. It really does spoil it so much. It turns the enjoyment of the book to annoyance. The Story excellent, onwards to Book 4,hoping for no music or deep breathing noises!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Sleepy Head

  • Tom Thorne, Book 1
  • By: Mark Billingham
  • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
  • Length: 6 hrs and 32 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 349
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 273
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 268

It's rare for a young woman to die from a stroke, and when three such deaths occur in short order it starts to look like an epidemic. Then a sharp pathologist notices traces of benzodiazepine in one of the victim's blood samples and just traceable damage to the ligaments in her neck, and their cause of death is changed from 'natural' to 'murder'.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Kept me awake!

  • By PP Merge on 15-09-10

Great first book but....

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-07-16

The story was performance was excellent but what I didn't like was the music through out it. Really off putting. Looking forward to getting into book 2,and hoping the music is not coming along .

  • The End of an Earring

  • By: Pam St Clement
  • Narrated by: Pam St Clement
  • Length: 9 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 124
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 113
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 109

Actress Pam St Clement, best known as EastEnders' Pat Butcher, shares her life story. In January 2012, one of EastEnders' longest-serving and best-loved characters breathed her last when Pat Butcher succumbed to cancer. Her departure from the show gave actress Pam St Clement time to reflect, not only on almost 26 years playing a role that she loved, but also on her whole life. Pam's mother died when she was a baby, leaving her with a father whose life didn't really have space for a child.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The best autobiography I've read

  • By Juliet Alison Stavert on 20-02-15

Breathtaking story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-05-16

Wow, that was amazing. I knew nothing about Pam before I read this so what a treat it was. I feel privileged to have listened to it. So well written and performed. Highly recommend.

  • Behind Closed Doors

  • Jessica Daniel, Book 7
  • By: Kerry Wilkinson
  • Narrated by: Becky Hindley
  • Length: 8 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 183
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 164

Detective Sergeant Jessica Daniel has barely left her house in months, isolated from friends and colleagues. She may have given up on herself, but one man is sure she still has something to offer. DCI Jack Cole gives her a chance at redemption: an opportunity to help a neighbouring force by discovering what is going on with a reclusive community living in a stately home in the middle of nowhere. People are going missing, turning up dead with only vague links back to the house.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good undercover story

  • By Andromeda's Twin on 17-02-15

Wow, what a read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-03-16

First of all I'm loving the whole series. Highly recommended it. This book is very different to ones before it, but it was excellent. Becky is also a brilliant narrator. As we know, it can make or break it. Must go, need to buy the next one!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Red Notice

  • By: Bill Browder
  • Narrated by: Adam Grupper
  • Length: 14 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 847
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 782
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 783

November 2009. Sergei Magnitsky is led to an isolation cell in a Moscow prison and beaten to death by eight police officers. His crime? To testify against the Russian Interior Ministry officials involved in a conspiracy to steal $230 million in taxes. Magnitsky’s brutal killing has remained uninvestigated to this day. Red Notice is a searing exposé of the Russian authorities responsible for the murder, slicing deep into the heart of the Kremlin to uncover its sordid truths.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazement, disbelief and tears

  • By musiclover on 19-08-16

Mind blowing!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-01-16

What an incredible story. Please read it. It's one of those books you read and can't believe this has actually happened. Powerful story that will stay with me forever.

  • Passenger 23

  • An Audible Original Drama
  • By: Sebastian Fitzek
  • Narrated by: Max Beesley, Rebecca Hall, Anthony Head, and others
  • Length: 8 hrs and 8 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,415
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,309
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,313

With no police to investigate and no escape, could it be the perfect setting for a crime? Martin Schwartz (Beesley) is an undercover detective who is recovering from his wife and sons' bizarre disappearance from a cruise ship 5 years ago. He is a desperate man willing to take big risks. Martin never wanted to step onto a cruise ship again until he receives a call which can't be ignored. On average, 23 people per year disappear without a trace from cruise ships. Never before has someone come back... until now.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Really Interesting stuff!!!

  • By lynsey Patina on 22-12-15

Lots of twists and turns

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-12-15

Great story line which had many layers and twists. Really good performance. Enjoyed it a lot.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Tennison

  • Jane Tennison, Book 1
  • By: Lynda La Plante
  • Narrated by: Julie Teal
  • Length: 17 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 567
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 518
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 516

In 1973 Jane Tennison, aged 22, leaves the Metropolitan Police Training Academy to be placed on probationary exercise in Hackney, where criminality thrives. We witness her struggle to cope in a male-dominated, chauvinistic environment, learning fast to deal with shocking situations with no help or sympathy from her superiors. Then comes her involvement in her first murder case. No one witnessed the savage beating of a tragic young girl who, the postmortem reveals, was pregnant when she died.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Before Prime Suspect

  • By Amazon Customer on 12-08-16

Great beginning to Jane Tennison

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-11-15

I loved Prime Suspect so was looking forward to Tennison. Overall it was a great entry into her years in the Force. Worth listening to with a good story.

  • Runaway

  • By: Peter May
  • Narrated by: Peter Forbes
  • Length: 10 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,317
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,195
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,197

In 1965, five teenage friends fled Glasgow for London to pursue their dream of musical stardom. Yet before year's end three returned, and returned damaged. In 2015, a brutal murder forces those three men, now in their 60s, to journey back to London and finally confront the dark truth they have run from for five decades. Runaway is a crime novel covering 50 years of friendships solidified and severed, dreams shared and shattered and passions lit and extinguished.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A great listen!

  • By jane on 02-01-15

An emotional journey

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-10-15

He's done it again. What another brilliant journey I've just been on. I'm so gutted it's over, but it was a full told excellent story that had me crying and laughing from start to finish. Peter May tells it so well. Enjoy to those who are about to live this journey....