LISTENER

Rachel Conkey

  • 22
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 33
  • ratings
  • The Perfect Girlfriend

  • By: Karen Hamilton
  • Narrated by: Anna Friel
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 205
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 192
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 191

Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love. Juliette loves Nate. She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him. They are meant to be. The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing. Because Juliette has a plan to win him back. She is the perfect girlfriend. And she'll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants. True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Narrators voice ruins the audibook!

  • By lucy hollingshead on 16-03-18

Enjoyable

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-06-19

I quite enjoyed this novel. The plot kept ticking along, the main character was well developed and the pace was good. There were moments of uncertainty and tension and my interest was definitely kept till the end. Not sure how I feel about the ending, you'll know what I mean when you read it. would definitely recommend.

  • The Nanny

  • By: Gilly Macmillan
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Patience Tomlinson, Ben Eliot
  • Length: 11 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 60

Seven-year-old Jocelyn Holt loves her nanny Hannah more than her own mother. When Hannah disappears one summer night, Jo never gets over the loss. Thirty years on, now a young widow with a daughter of her own, Jo is forced to return to her family home, and the mother she’s always despised, just as a skull is pulled out of the lake in the grounds. Could this explain her beloved nanny’s disappearance? What other secrets will that lake give up to the police?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyed this very much

  • By Samantha Taylor on 21-05-19

predictable

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-06-19

The storyline was predictable and I guessed the plot very early on. Characters were good. Narration excellent.

  • The Perfect Child

  • By: Lucinda Berry
  • Narrated by: Christine Williams, Erin Bennett, Dan John Miller
  • Length: 10 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 96
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 82
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 81

Christopher and Hannah are a happily married surgeon and nurse with picture-perfect lives. All that’s missing is a child. When Janie, an abandoned six-year-old, turns up at their hospital, Christopher forms an instant connection with her, and he convinces Hannah they should take her home as their own. But Janie is no ordinary child, and her damaged psyche proves to be more than her new parents were expecting.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing story....but....

  • By mrs zoe roberts on 19-03-19

chilling page turner

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-05-19

This was a fast paced psychological thriller! oh my God I was upset many times, this story will stay with me for years!! Must read!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • What My Best Friend Did

  • By: Lucy Dawson
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 33
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 32

Alice's life has become a bit boring lately. Her friends are busy getting married and having babies, but she's not ready for those changes in her own life - not even sure she still loves her boyfriend. Then she meets Gretchen. A brand-new, fun and unencumbered friend. Gretchen knows how to have a good time, and she also has a totally gorgeous brother. Before she knows it, Alice has been swept up into her new best friend's world. But Gretchen has a dark secret. Will Alice learn the truth before she throws her old life away?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good, but not the thriller it was made out to be

  • By Rachel Conkey on 26-04-19

Good, but not the thriller it was made out to be

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-04-19

I enjoyed this, and the narration was done well, but the novel was about 60% drama, 30% thriller and 10% chic lit, which is fine, but not the fast paced thriller I expected. I would still recommend this book as it has a good ending,good plot, is written well and with believable characters. I listened to this book in three days.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Housemate

  • By: C. L. Pattison
  • Narrated by: Polly Edsell, Jasmine Blackborow
  • Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 78
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 71

The housemate. She's here to stay.... You've let a stranger into your home. You don't know her secrets. You don't know what she wants. Megan and Chloe have found the perfect house. And when they meet Sammi, she seems like the perfect housemate to share it with. It could be the beginning of a brilliant friendship. But Megan isn't so sure about this new girl. She knows they need to be careful about whom they invite in. Because once she's in, she's here to stay.... A brilliant and gripping psychological thriller - perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Jane Corry and Friend Request.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Nice

  • By Ms. V. Ca Rver on 17-04-19

Quite good, but I guessed the twist

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-04-19

I enjoyed this but I guessed the twist well before the end. I still recommend this book though, it was enjoyable.

  • Love You Gone

  • By: Rona Halsall
  • Narrated by: Katherine Press
  • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 20
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 18

When Mel arrives at the holiday cottage in the Lake District, she expects to find the heating on and her husband, Luke, and the two children waiting for her. Maybe a bottle of wine open....Instead, there is just a note on the side, saying they’ve gone out for a walk. But they aren’t back several hours later, and Mel knows something is wrong. Really wrong. When a search doesn’t find them, she has to confess to the police that her marriage isn’t all that it seems. Even if that risks her own secrets being revealed....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Started Well

  • By Jules on 25-04-19

Good but needed editing down

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-04-19

There were one or two twists in this book, but 85% of the book would be better described as drama as opposed to thriller. At least 1/3 of the story could have been edited out.

  • Don’t Tell Teacher

  • By: Suzy K Quinn
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 61
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 59
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 59

Lizzie Riley is sure that the local academy school, with its excellent reputation, is perfect for her six-year-old son, Tom. But there's something strange happening at school. Parents are forbidden from entering the grounds, and there are bars across the classroom windows. Why is Tom coming home exhausted, unable to remember his day? What are the strange marks on his arm? And why do the children seem afraid to talk?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Thriller!

  • By Rachel Conkey on 21-04-19

Great Thriller!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-04-19

I really enjoyed this Audiobook! Great plot, great twist at the end! recommend this book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Bad Apple

  • By: Zoje Stage
  • Narrated by: Gabra Zackman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 54
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 54

Seven-year-old Hanna has never spoken a word. She is a sweet but silent angel in the eyes of her adoring father, but with Mummy, things are different. Suzette loves her daughter, but difficulties with babysitters and teachers over the years have put a strain on their relationship and her sanity. Then Hanna speaks for the first time, to Suzette alone, and what she says is chilling.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good story, slow ending

  • By Amy Hegarty on 17-11-18

excellent!! kept me hooked till the last moment!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-04-19

I adored this book! Listened to it in 24 hours!! so creepy, yet realistic! Get this book!

  • The Chalk Man

  • By: C J Tudor
  • Narrated by: Andrew Scott, Asa Butterfield
  • Length: 8 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,399
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,316
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,311

None of us ever agreed on the exact beginning. Was it when we started drawing the chalk figures, or when they started to appear on their own? Was it the terrible accident? Or when they found the first body?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good story, narration not so good

  • By C rimmer on 08-11-18

better than "The Taking of Annie Thorne"

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-04-19

I enjoyed this book. really liked the characters and the plot. Great ending, really didn't see it coming. I enjoyed the narration, I expected it to be worse due to the reviews, but it didn't take away from my enjoyment.

  • The Hiding Places

  • By: Katherine Webb
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 15 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 134
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 120
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 120

Wiltshire, 1922. Fifteen-year old Pudding Cartwright has begun the career she always wanted, as 'girl groom' to the Hadleigh family's horses at Manor Farm. Irene Hadleigh is struggling to adjust to her new life in sleepy Slaughterford, having married Alistair to escape a scandal in London. At a loss to occupy herself, Irene sets about restyling Manor Farm, and during the work the chance finding of a strange object hidden away in the house for years will change everything.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great twists

  • By Miss G Thomas on 22-05-17

would recommend, but not Webb at her finest

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-04-19

Slow at the start. We're introduced to many characters and three protagonists very early on and this made it a disjointed read for me at the beginning. But, the plot picked up and the characters became layered. I enjoyed this.

There was a very good ending with surprising revelations. I would recommend it, but it is my least favourite Webb novel, much preferred "The Legacy", "A Half forgotten Song" and "The Unseen".