LISTENER

Marie V.

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 10
  • ratings
  • Stalker on the Fens

  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Henrietta Meire
  • Length: 8 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 263
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 227
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 228

DI Nikki Galena's close friend Helen Brook is involved in a serious accident where she is trapped in a collapsed cellar. After her hard-won recovery, Helen is still getting flashbacks to a man she says was down there with her and who confessed to a murder. But no trace of this man can be found. Then Helen tells Nikki that someone is watching her. But is all this in her friend's imagination and part of her post-traumatic stress?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Couldn't stop listening!

  • By Amazon Customer on 22-08-17

I’m sorry the narrator doesn’t quite work

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-05-19

I really don’t like commenting on the narrator as she’s doing her best, it’s just not right.

Also, and I’ve stopped listening to quite a few authors now as this story and previous stories are all linked in some way to the characters. Maybe if the retired the crimes would stop. Both narrator and author are much better than I’d ever be though!!!

  • The Stalker

  • By: Alex Gray
  • Narrated by: Joe Dunlop
  • Length: 11 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 42
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 37
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 37

When Detective Superintendent William Lorimer's wife, Maggie, publishes her first book, he is thrilled for her. But joy soon turns to fear when a mysterious stranger starts following Maggie on her publicity tour. Meanwhile Lorimer and the MIT are on the search for the murderer of two young women, but can Lorimer catch the killer and track down Maggie's stalker at the same time...? If you like Cara Hunter, Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney, Lisa Jewell or Joy Ellis, you will be utterly gripped by this twisty, heart-stopping crime novel.  

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • best story yet

  • By Barrie Smith on 14-04-19

Great as always but slight unbelievable and implausible story with such experienced characters

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-03-19

I love listening to these and have followed all the books. This is just a bit unbelievable and implausible that the characters would end up in this situation, and also the storylines seem to often revolve around central characters. I stopped listening to Patricia Cornell ( sorry if spelt wrong) as I thought why don’t you all retire and the level of serious crime would immediately drop!! Make it about others and brilliant plausible detective work!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square

  • By: Heidi Swain
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 450
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 403
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 406

The heartwarming new audiobook from the number five Sunday Times best-selling author, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Cathy Bramley. Kate is on the run from her almost-divorced husband, who is determined to have her back, and she has found the perfect place to hide...a little cottage on Nightingale Square in Norwich, far away from her old life in London. But the residents of Nightingale Square don't take no for an answer, and Kate soon finds herself pulled into a friendship with Lisa, her bossy but lovely new neighbour.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another heartwarming story .

  • By Esther on 26-01-19

Review

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-02-19

This was my first non mystery fiction for years. While it had a lovely feel to the characters, it could have done in a few hours not ten and my review would be much more positive . It took me back to the easy read mills and boons from years back, which were byte size and did the job. To be honest all genres can have books that are too long.

  • You Were Gone

  • David Raker, Book 9
  • By: Tim Weaver
  • Narrated by: Joe Coen, Rachel Bavidge, Tom Burke
  • Length: 14 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 477
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 433
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 434

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of You Were Gone by Tim Weaver. Three days after Christmas, a woman walks into a police station. She has no phone and no ID, just a piece of paper with the name of investigator David Raker on it. She tells officers that Raker is her husband. When he turns up at the station, Raker is stunned. The woman looks exactly like his wife. She knows all about their marriage, their history, even private conversations the two of them had. There's just one problem: Raker's wife has been dead for eight years....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely loved it

  • By Debs on 02-06-18

Oh dear what’s happened

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-10-18

I love David raker books, but this is the second one I’ve read where it’s all just too much and implausible. The character David surely has too much nonce to have acted this way, and not known what was happening prior. I ended up fast forwarding 7 hours as I still wanted to hear the end. come on let’s make it not about David ( last book was ace) !!!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • What Remains

  • David Raker, Book 6
  • By: Tim Weaver
  • Narrated by: Ben Allen
  • Length: 17 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 289
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 266
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 268

Colm Healy used to be one of the Met's best detectives. Until, haunted by the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters, his life was left in ruins. Missing persons investigator David Raker is the only friend Healy has left. The only one who understands that redemption rests on solving these murders. Their search will unravel a thread of tragedy spanning years and will force them to sacrifice everything they have left....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • What Remains....

  • By Salter on 17-05-17

It’s a bit silly really...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-09-18

I haven’t listened to the end, I will do but feel compelled to say it’s all got a bit silly, stories too close to home, drawn out scenes and tempted to fast forward. Keep it realistic!! I know the author has the last word, but if you make the cases about people not linked to Raker, much more believable, will still listen to the end that said ....

  • Black Heart

  • Detective Dan Riley, Book 1
  • By: Anna-Lou Weatherley
  • Narrated by: James Lailey
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 665
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 611
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 609

When Nigel Baxter, a middle-aged married banker with an unremarkable past, is found dead in the bath of a plush hotel suite, his wrists slit, it looks as if he's taken his own life. At first. But when Detective Inspector Daniel Riley is assigned to the case, he soon realises all isn't as it first appears to be. When a postmortem shows Baxter was poisoned, Riley suspects foul play. And then there's the odd addition of a teddy bear left at the crime scene....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great story!

  • By Ann D on 21-03-18

Stopped listening

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-08-18

Very very drawn out, an hour in still waiting for story to get going... lots of promise if condensed to 6 hours might be a corker.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • From the Cradle

  • By: Mark Edwards, Louise Voss
  • Narrated by: James Clamp
  • Length: 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 526
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 475
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 475

When Helen and Sean Phillips go out for the evening, leaving their teenage daughter babysitting little Frankie, they have no idea that they are about to face every parent's greatest fear. Detective Inspector Patrick Lennon is hopeful that the three children who have been abducted in this patch of south-west London will be returned safe and well. But when a body is found in a local park, Lennon realizes that time is running out - and that nothing in this case is as it seems.…

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Ok but not brilliant

  • By Mrs yvie on 14-02-16

Couldn’t finish it, unfortunately

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-08-18

I just found it too uncomfortable to listen to, too descriptive, some things is probably best for a listener/reader to choose if they go there or not. A shame as I think the characters and plot line has so much going for it.

  • Dark Skies

  • The DCI Ryan Mysteries, Book 7
  • By: LJ Ross
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 7 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 792
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 722
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 716

Beware what lies beneath.... One fateful, starry night, three friends embark on a secret camping trip, but only two return home. Thirty years later, the body of a teenage boy rises from the depths of England's biggest reservoir and threatens to expose a killer who has lain dormant...until now. Detective Chief Inspector Ryan returns from honeymoon to face danger from all sides. In the depths of Kielder Forest, a murderer has escaped justice before and will do anything to protect the secrets of the past.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Compelling DCI Ryan mystery...

  • By Salter on 15-02-18

Very disappointed

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-02-18

I was left feeling that while I applaud LJRoss for being a successful writer, the plots are just regurgitated.

Is DCI Ryan employed just to field off attempts of murder against his family and friends.

I also felt that it's just too unbelievable. I stopped reading Patrica Cornwall books as all the plots are linked to people wanting to harm them.

Won't be reading any more, I was googling buying a bathroom cabinet with 10 minutes left, which isn't the feeling I want after listening for over seven hours. The narrater is fab no negatives there.