LISTENER

jayne

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 9
  • helpful votes
  • 155
  • ratings
  • Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery

  • By: Jenny Colgan
  • Narrated by: Anne-Marie Piazza
  • Length: 7 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 172
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 157
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 157

Polly Waterford loves running the Little Beach Street Bakery. She's at her happiest when she's creating delicious treats and the festive season always inspires her to bake and knead something extra special for the village residents. In fact, the only thing she loves more than her bakery is curling up with her gorgeous boyfriend, Huckle. She's determined that this Christmas is going to be their best one yet, but life doesn't always work out as planned....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Kind of ok

  • By Mrs C. on 08-11-17

Dreadful American accents

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-10-16

The story was ok, although a bit too far fetched in places. The narration of the 2 American men speaking was probably the most irritating voice I've ever listened to, it totally spoilt the book and I debated whether to give up as it was just so annoying.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The Postcard

  • By: Fern Britton
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 77
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 70
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 70

The new witty and warm novel from best-selling author and TV presenter Fern Britton. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Trisha Ashley. Penny Leighton, TV producer and wife of the local vicar Simon Canter, is struggling to cope with motherhood. The couple have had their only child Jenna, while Penny is in her forties and it's been a big shock to her system. When Simon engages the services of a nanny, Ella, as a way of helping Penny, it serves only to push her further away from him and from Jenna.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely wonderful

  • By Amazon Customer on 27-06-17

Sudden Ending

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-08-16

The story was better than some of her previous books but the ending was as if she couldn't be bothered to write any more

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Summer at Sea

  • By: Katie Fforde
  • Narrated by: Jilly Bond
  • Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 274
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 244
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 247

Emily is happy with her life just as it is. She has a career as a midwife that she loves . She enjoys living on her own as a single woman. But she also feels it's time for a change and a spot of some sea air. So when her best friend, Rebecca, asks whether she'd like to spend the summer cooking on a 'puffer' boat just off the Scottish coast, she jumps at the chance. But she barely has time to get to grips with the galley before she finds herself with a lot on her plate.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Katie Fforde does not disappoint

  • By Anne from Somerset on 13-02-16

Dreadful narrator

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-05-16

I nearly gave up on the book as the accents that the narrator does are really dreadful, I don't know how the authors can let this happen after their hard work writing the book. I couldn't wait for the book to finish as the narrators voice was so irritating, which is a shame as the story was ok

  • Marriage and Other Games

  • By: Veronica Henry
  • Narrated by: Maggie Mash
  • Length: 13 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 63
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 46
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 45

When girl-about-town Charlotte discovers her husband has been arrested for fraud, she flees to Exmoor to nurse her broken heart – and finds she’s not the only person whose life is in turmoil. There’s bad boy artist Sebastian, determined to drink the pub dry while his wife lives it up in London. Then Fitch, who is struggling to keep up with his wife’s outrageous demands. And finally recent divorcee Penny, who is quietly determined to have more fun the second time around.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • The worst narrator

  • By jayne on 07-12-15

The worst narrator

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-12-15

I listen to a lot of audio books and without a doubt this is the worst narrator that I have ever heard. She made all the men sound like they had some sort of speech impediment, and the accents were appalling. I only managed to finish the story by listening in short bursts because the narrator was so irritating with all her strange pauses in the middle of sentences.
Veronica Henry take note, your book has been totally ruined by this narrator.
I have listened to most of Veronica Henry's books but wouldn't bother again if this narrator was reading it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Summer Daydreams

  • By: Carole Matthews
  • Narrated by: Jane Collingwood
  • Length: 10 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 114
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 92

What if you had always dreamed of something more? Waving goodbye to the chip shop, Nell McNamara starts up a new business making her own line of must-have handbags, which are soon flying off the shelves. It seems Nell's dreams are finally coming true, but her success doesn't come without a price. Before too long, Nell has to ask herself if it's really possible to have it all….

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Really enjoyed this book

  • By Jill on 02-08-13

Terrible narrator

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-09-15

The story is a bit weak and unbelievable but would be easy listening if the ridiculous voice of the narrator didn't make me dread every time the little girl spoke, I think she needs to listen to how children really speak before ruining anybody else's work.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful