LISTENER

B Purcey

  • 3
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 7
  • ratings
  • All the Light We Cannot See

  • By: Anthony Doerr
  • Narrated by: Julie Teal
  • Length: 17 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,656
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,535
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,529

Marie Laure lives with her father in Paris within walking distance of the Museum of Natural History where he works as the master of the locks (there are thousands of locks in the museum). When she is six, she goes blind, and her father builds her a model of their neighbourhood, every house, every manhole, so she can memorize it with her fingers and navigate the real streets with her feet and cane. When the Germans occupy Paris, father and daughter flee to Saint-Malo on the Brittany coast, where Marie-Laure's agoraphobic great uncle lives in a tall, narrow house by the sea wall.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Despite the narrator

  • By James on 06-02-15

wonderful story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-11-17

I believe this book really captures the courage and horrors of the second world war

  • Why Mummy Drinks

  • By: Gill Sims
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 11 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 760
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 682
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 683

Why Mummy Drinks is the brilliant novel from Gill Sims, the author of the online sensation Peter and Jane. It is Mummy's 39th birthday. She is staring down the barrel of a future of people asking if she wants to come to their advanced yoga classes and polite book clubs where everyone claims to be tiddly after a glass of Pinot Grigio and says things like 'oooh gosh, are you having another glass?'

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • LOL

  • By Sarah on 04-01-18

recommended

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-11-17

great! funny! a sharp reflection of middle class motherhood in recent times. easy listening. recommended

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Buried Angels

  • Patrik Hedström and Erica Falck, Book 8
  • By: Camilla Lackberg
  • Narrated by: Robin Bowerman
  • Length: 13 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 83
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 76
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 74

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck – irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. You Cannot Change the Past. Easter, 1974. A family vanishes from their home on an idyllic island off the Swedish coast. They have left everything behind – including their one-year-old daughter, Ebba.Now, years later, Ebba has returned to the island.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • loved it

  • By B Purcey on 26-03-16

loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-03-16

gripped throughout. lackberg is expert at weaving several parallel stories into one. the outcome of each keeping the reader on tenterhooks.