LISTENER

P. Craine

Preston UK
  • 27
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 33
  • ratings
  • The Eagle and the Wolves

  • Eagles of the Empire, Book 4
  • By: Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 12 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 297
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 274
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 271

The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. It's AD 44, and Vespasian and the Second Legion are forging ahead in their campaign to seize the southwest of Britain. Macro and newly appointed centurion Cato are ordered to provide Verica, ruler of the Atrebatans, with an army.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Why was this released in a weird order?

  • By jamie on 28-06-17

I am a Wolf

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-09-18

Another great book with our dynamic duo. Treacherous dealings with royalty! Murder!
I cannot sing the praise of Jonathan Keele more, the man is a true genius. The same goes for the author. On to the next book.

  • Battle for Rome

  • By: Ian Ross
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 13 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 83
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 76
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 76

The Roman Empire is on the brink of civil war. Only Maxentius, tyrant of Rome, stands between the emperor Constantine and supreme power in the west. Aurelius Castus, promoted from the ranks for valour, is now a tribune in Constantine's army. But as Constantine becomes increasingly devoted to Christianity, Castus is forced to ask himself whether he is backing the wrong man....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great series

  • By ben on 02-09-16

Wine Women, Song & Betrayal!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-08-18

Another great book, our hero still has the luck of the gods.
Jonathan Keeble performs 100% as usual. I don't know how he finds the time?

  • War at the Edge of the World

  • By: Ian Ross
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 12 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 103
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 99
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 99

Once a soldier in an elite legion from the Danube, Aurelius Castus believes his glory days are over, stuck in Britain's provincial backwater. But history is about to take a hand and when the king of the Picts, the savage people beyond Hadrian's Wall, dies in mysterious circumstances, Castus is selected to command the bodyguard of a Roman envoy sent to negotiate with the barbarians. But the diplomatic mission ends in bloody tragedy…

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • solid story, good action

  • By john cb on 24-09-15

A great new book.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-07-18

Wow! This is my first introduction to Ian Ross. I like him. Saying that, he writes to my likes. I really enjoyed this first book, halfway through I purchased the second so I would not have to wait.
Jonathan Keele. What can I say about his narration that hasn't been said before? He is fantastic, he really puts everything into his narration. It's always a pleasure to find a book he narrated. A perfect team. Now onto book 2!

  • The Eagle's Conquest

  • Eagles of the Empire, Book 2
  • By: Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 555
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 513
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 513

The second novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Roman series. When Centurion Macro arrives on British soil as one of Emperor Claudius's invasion force in 43 AD, he is facing one of the toughest campaigns of his battle-scarred career. In a series of bloody skirmishes, Macro and his young subordinate, Optio Cato, and the desperately outnumbered Roman army must find and defeat the enemy before he grows strong enough to overwhelm the legions. But the Britons are not the only foe facing Macro and Cato....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Sequel

  • By Simon on 11-10-15

The Eagle has Landed.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-04-18

loved it. I enjoy the writing of this new author I was turned ed on to. He makes the characters believable,& still finds time to show some comedy too.
On to the next book.

  • Under the Eagle

  • Eagles of the Empire, Book 1
  • By: Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 12 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 748
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 691
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 694

The first novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Roman series. It is 42 AD, and Quintus Licinius Cato has just arrived in Germany as a new recruit to the Second Legion, the toughest in the Roman army. If adjusting to the rigours of military life isn't difficult enough for the bookish young man, he also has to contend with the disgust of his colleagues when, because of his imperial connections, he is appointed a rank above them.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Brilliant Series - but incomplete!

  • By Simon on 24-08-15

Unlikely hero.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-03-18

My first Simon Scarrow book. Very entertaining,with some characters you'll love & 1 or 2 you will bloody hate!
Ok let's see what book 2 has in store.

  • Sword in the Storm

  • Rigante, Book 1
  • By: David Gemmell
  • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
  • Length: 16 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 199
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 179
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 179

Born in the storm that doomed his father, Connavar grows to manhood among the mist-covered mountains of Caer Druagh, where the Rigante tribe dwell in harmony with the land and its gods. But beyond the border, across the water, an evil force is gathering strength, an unstoppable force that will change the world beyond all recognition. Haunted by malevolent spirits and hunted by evil men, Connavar sets out on a spectacular mission to save his people.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Great story. Narration is somewhat discordant.

  • By Ben on 26-11-17

Book 1 of this series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-03-18

It's only been a few months since I picked my first David Gemmell book up. What a mistake that was. Perhaps not in the way some may take it to mean. I read the complete collection of the Drenai books & now I'm hooked on another set of David Gemmell books. I don't like to know to much going into a book, I like to be surprised & entertained and so prefer to say. Another great book by David Gemmell, and I hope you decide to have a read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Blood Debt

  • Wolf of the North, Book 3
  • By: Duncan M. Hamilton
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 341
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 315
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 316

A blade fit for a hero. An army for a tyrant. A reckoning long awaited, and a tale reaching its end. The riveting conclusion to the Wolf of the North trilogy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So good i didnt want it to end

  • By Mary on 12-03-18

Conclusion of the trilogy.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-18

Good book, excellent narration. I think he should have stretched it to another book.
But that's only me. Yes a good story all three books.
Well I am happy with this purchase.
I intend to have a look for any other Duncan M. Hamilton books. Based on the reading of this trilogy.

  • The Wolf of the North, Book 1

  • By: Duncan M. Hamilton
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 449
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 423
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 421

A chance encounter with an ancient and mysterious object awakens a latent gift, and Wulfric's life changes course. Against a backdrop of war, tragedy, and an enemy whose hatred for him knows no bounds, Wulfric will be forged from a young boy into the Wolf of the North. This is his tale.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I cant help but think someone had read the Lord of the Rings....

  • By Walter on 23-08-17

A tale of Warriors & Deception.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-02-18

My first read from this author, and I have bought the trilogy of the Wolf. I have enjoyed this first book a lot. I don't like to give to much away of the story, but it does what it should. It keeps your interest in the plot & character's.
On to book 2.

  • The Swords of Night and Day

  • Drenai, Book 11
  • By: David Gemmell
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 18 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 141
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 140
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 139

Even in death, Skilgannon the Damned's name lives on. Now, as an ancient evil threatens to flood the Drenai heartlands in a tide of blood, he returns.... A thousand years after they fell in battle, two heroes - Druss and Skilgannon - are revered throughout the war-torn lands of the Drenai, where men and women live in abject fear of the dark sorceress known as the Eternal.... But what if the soul of one such hero could be called back from the void, his bones housed again in flesh?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • bloody brilliant

  • By Anonymous User on 28-10-17

Sad to see you go.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-01-18

Last book in the series. But what a great ending... Some old friends & new.

  • White Wolf

  • Drenai, Book 10
  • By: David Gemmell
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 17 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 203
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 190
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 189

Skilgannon the Damned had vanished from the pages of history. Following the terrible triumph at Perapolis, the General had taken the legendary Swords of Night and Day and ridden from the lands of Naashan. No one knew where he had gone, and the assassins sent by the Witch Queen could find no trace of his passing. Three years later, as a mob intent on murder gathers outside a distant monastery, they are faced by a single unarmed priest. In a few terrifying seconds their world is changed for ever, and word spreads across the lands of the East.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A reminder of why David Gemmell is great.

  • By Lesley on 06-09-17

Powerful stuff

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-01-18

Days of legend with princess in towers & hero's of 6.
Another great book. With superb narration.