LISTENER

Ulla

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 92
  • ratings
  • Someone to Look up To: The Story of a Special Dog

  • By: Jean Gill
  • Narrated by: Ian M. Walker
  • Length: 6 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 5
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 5

A dog's life in the south of France. From puppyhood, Sirius the Pyrenean Mountain Dog has been trying to understand his humans and train them with kindness. How this led to their divorce he has no idea. More misunderstandings take Sirius to Death Row in an animal shelter, as a so-called dangerous dog learning survival tricks from the other inmates. During the twilight barking, he is shocked to hear his brother's voice but the bitter-sweet reunion is short-lived. Doggedly, Sirius keeps the faith. One day, his human will come.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Wonderful Book about a Wonderful Dog

  • By Ulla on 25-03-18

A Wonderful Book about a Wonderful Dog

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-03-18

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely and I will be doing so immediately.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Serious of course. He had such an engaging personality and he made me feel so many emotions. I loved him!

What does Ian M. Walker bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Ian M Walker brought Serious and all the dogs and other animals in the book to life. I don't think I would have felt as much of this if I had read the book instead of listening to it. He became the voice of Serious for me and he made Serious and the others feel so real.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I had huge emotional reactions to this book. It made me smile, it mostly made me cry, it made me angry, it made me sad and it made me happy. All sorts of emotions abounded.

Any additional comments?

I absolutely loved listening to the audible version of this extremely heart wrenching book. I felt like I really got to know Serious, the Pyrenees Mountain dog, the hero of this story. It begins with his birth, continues with his puppyhood and on through the first 4 years of his life. It is told through Serious' eyes and you get to know him by listening to his thoughts right through the story.

For me a book that is worth its salt is one where I really care about the characters and that triggers my emotions. This book really did this for me.

As a huge dog lover myself I fell for Serious in a very big way from the start and only wish I could have adopted him myself! This book made me love him, it made me smile at his early antics when he was chosen by his first human, it made me cry (copiously) and made me angry and happy and sad and other myriads of emotions. It gave such an insight into how dogs think and what us humans should not do when it comes to training dogs.

For me dogs are such beautiful, loyal and wonderful creatures that bring us humans such pleasure and love. Serious' story broke my heart so many times but I'm so glad to have had the opportunity to listen to it and get to know him. The book has left me wishing for a sequel.

The narrator of this story, Ian M Walker, did a super job as the voice of Serious. He had the right tone and he told the story extremely well. He was an excellent choice of narrator and is definitely the right voice for serious.

I would definitely recommend the audible version of this book as listening to it really brought Serious and all his other animal friends to life for me. I loved it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • A Mind to Kill

  • A gripping psychological thriller packed with suspense
  • By: John Nicholl
  • Narrated by: Jake Urry
  • Length: 8 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 96
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 89
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 88

When Rebecca's childhood abuser escapes justice, it sets her on a path to revenge. Revenge on any man who preys on the innocent. A gripping, audiobook psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Perfection

  • By Melanie Preston Lewis on 12-09-17

Another Gripping Thriller from John Nicholl

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-09-17

Every time I hear that this author is releasing another book I am delighted, particularly when I know it is going to be narrated by Jake Urry. This latest book certainly does not disappoint. It is a gripping listen; so much so that you won't be able to stop until the end. Although the story is dark and gruesome at times with lots of detail it was a very gripping read. Jake Urry brought the characters to life with his usual expertise. Another superb offering from John Nicholl.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Length: Not Yet Known
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Beginning of a New Fantasy Series

  • By Ulla on 06-09-17

Excellent Beginning of a New Fantasy Series

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-09-17

This book was a really good start on a new fantasy series. As far as I know this is Steven McCullough's first book and I really enjoyed it. I found the story engaging and am looking forward to the next instalment. The book was very well narrated by Henry Kramer, the son of two of my favourite narrators, Michael Kramer and Kate Reading. He's a chip off the old block. I definitely think this author and narrator are ones to watch and hopefully we will be hearing more from them in the future.

  • The Lucky Ones

  • By: Mark Edwards
  • Narrated by: Simon Mattacks
  • Length: 9 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 243
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 205
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 206

When a woman's body is found in the grounds of a ruined priory, Detective Imogen Evans realises she is dealing with a serial killer - a killer whose victims appear to die in a state of bliss, eyes open, smiles forever frozen on their faces.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping Serial Killer Thriller

  • By Ulla on 24-06-17

Gripping Serial Killer Thriller

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-06-17

Mark Edwards never disappoints. Another fantastic thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat over the two days it took me to listen to this book. I enjoyed all the twists and turns which are what Mark Edwards' fans have come to expect from this very entertaining writer. The story had me hooked from the start, made even better by the excellent narration. Every book I have read by this author has been great in my opinion and this one is no different. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good thriller.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • The Lazarus Prophecy

  • By: F.G. Cottam
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 423
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 375
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 374

There is a killer loose on the streets of London, one that evades security cameras, is not held by locks, and savagely mutilates his victims. When the murderer switches from unknown prostitutes to Julie Longmuir, a beautiful actress at the height of her success, no woman feels safe. As the press begin to draw uncomfortable comparisons with Jack the Ripper, Jane Sullivan, heading up the police investigation, grudgingly has to agree.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent novel, excellently narrated.

  • By K on 26-07-15

Gripping Right from the Start

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-06-17

I absolutely loved this book. The mix of crime and horror were right up my street. This is the fourth book I have listened to by this author and it certainly lived up to my expectations. I really enjoy F G Cottam's horror as his books always manage to scare me. I thought Sean Barrett's narration was great and his tone was very well suited to this dark story.

  • The Fireman

  • By: Joe Hill
  • Narrated by: Kate Mulgrew
  • Length: 22 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 606
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 586
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 586

Some flames burn too brightly to be extinguished. This exceptional new thriller from Joe Hill is essential reading for 2016 and perfect for fans of Justin Cronin's The Passage. In a world overtaken by a deadly and dramatic new virus, Harper is determined to live long enough to deliver her baby. But when all it takes is a spark to start a deadly blaze, she's going to need some help from the mysterious fireman.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Spark Off The Old Block!

  • By Simon on 21-05-16

Absolutely fantastic book highly recommend

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-04-17

I loved this book from start to finish. A very engaging story with lots of scary moments. Some really likeable characters and horrible scary villains. Joe Hill is a chip off the old block. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was superbly narrated by the excellent Kate Mulgrew who really brought the story and characters to life. Five stars all round from me. Would give it more if I could.

  • The Name of the Wind

  • The Kingkiller Chronicle, Book 1
  • By: Patrick Rothfuss
  • Narrated by: Rupert Degas
  • Length: 28 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 8,570
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 7,451
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,442

I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the university at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. My name is Kvothe. You may have heard of me.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent!

  • By Robyn on 31-01-13

Excellent Story Couldn't Stop Listening

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-07-15

What did you like most about The Name of the Wind (Part One)?

Brilliant epic fantasy with great characters.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Name of the Wind (Part One)?

It was all very memorable, I loved every second of it.

What does Rupert Degas bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

He brings the characters very much to life and gave them voices that I now associate with them. Excellent interpretation.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait to start the second Name of the Wind Part 2.