LISTENER

scrunchieang

  • 11
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 58
  • ratings
  • The Death of Mrs Westaway

  • By: Ruth Ware
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 14 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 628
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 584
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 584

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Death of Mrs Westaway, by Ruth Ware. When Harriet Westaway receives an unexpected letter telling her she’s inherited a substantial bequest from her Cornish grandmother, it seems like the answer to her prayers. She owes money to a loan shark, and the threats are getting increasingly aggressive: she needs to get her hands on some cash fast.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book

  • By Amazon Customer on 09-09-18

Great characters

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-08-19

I loved this story and loved the fact it was such a long book. I really got into the characters and although I got lost a bit on the way, it didn't detract from what was, over all, a really good listen.

  • The Holiday

  • By: T.M. Logan
  • Narrated by: Laura Kirman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 150
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 137
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 137

It was supposed to be the perfect holiday, dreamed up by Kate as the ideal way to turn 40: four best friends and their husbands and children in a luxurious villa under the blazing sunshine of Languedoc-Roussillon. But there is trouble in paradise. Kate suspects that her husband is having an affair, and that the other woman is one of her best friends. One of these women is willing to sacrifice years of friendship and destroy her family. But which one? 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • First class tale of lies and secrets

  • By R Scott on 02-08-19

Full of Twists and Turns

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-08-19

I really enjoyed this book and it kept me guessing the whole way through with its many twists and turns. An excellent read. One of those books you wish would go on and on . . . . Oh, and great author too.

  • I'll Find You

  • By: Liz Lawler
  • Narrated by: Jessica Ball
  • Length: 10 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 60
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 55
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 55

Emily Jacobs, a nurse, is in hospital for a minor operation. When she wakes in the night, woozy with anaesthetic, she sees the doctor trying to resuscitate the woman in the bed next to her. In the morning, she is told that she must have had a nightmare. The bed has been empty all along.... When Emily returns to work, she discovers a bracelet that she believes belonged to the missing woman. Soon, she becomes convinced that her colleagues are hiding a terrible secret. What if she's wrong? What if her own troubled past has affected her more than she knows? But what if she's right?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyable but don't read to soon after first book

  • By Rebecca C on 17-08-19

Great read :-)

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-07-19

I enjoyed everything about this book and will be looking for more books by this author now.

  • Ralph's Party

  • By: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 57
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 52
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 51

Ralph and Smith are flatmates and best mates. Nothing can come between them - until the gorgeous Jemima moves in. They're both falling for her, but which one of them does Jem want? Upstairs, Karl and Siobhan are happily unmarried and have been for 15 years - until Cheri moves into the flat above and fixes her sights on Karl. Why should a little problem like his girlfriend get in her way?  

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Bit dull and slow moving

  • By Janet biglari on 02-07-19

I couldn't listen anymore

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-06-19

what a shame... I was enjoying the story but the narrator was annoying me do much I had to stop! over acting at its finest!! may buy the paperback version one day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Behind Closed Doors

  • By: Sadie Ryan
  • Narrated by: Julia Franklin
  • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 16
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 16

Tina Valentine has it all: the loving family, the beautiful house, the successful career. But then Megan Pearson starts work at Tina’s law firm, and the perfect world Tina has built for herself starts to collapse, as it becomes clear that the newcomer is intent on infiltrating every aspect of her life. Something is obviously wrong with Megan, but nobody else seems to see it. As the mind games and manipulations continue, Tina comes to the sickening conclusion that now she’s opened the door to Megan, it’s going to be impossible to make her leave.... 

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Oh please let it be over . . .

  • By scrunchieang on 29-05-19

Oh please let it be over . . .

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-05-19

I never write a review and rate my experience with the stars alone. However, I really didn't enjoy this book at all. The characters and story line are completely unbelievable and the narration is irritating. The husband seems to really hate his wife - it's just a ridiculous relationship. The only reason I listened all the way through was because Audible wouldn't let me exchange it. I therefore tried to get it over and done with as soon as possible. A credit is a precious thing. Anyway, I would not recommend it and suggest people use their credits on something else.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The Other Woman

  • By: Sandie Jones
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 330
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 303
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 302

The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances' The Girlfriend and B A Paris' Behind Closed Doors. There's nothing that this mother wouldn't do for her son.... Emily thinks Adam's perfect: the man she always hoped but never thought she'd meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. A mother whose love for her son knows no bounds.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enthralling

  • By Avril on 13-04-18

couldn't wait for it to end

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-03-19

I have tried but am giving up as this book is really annoying me. the relationship between the two main characters is ridiculous and totally unbelievable. why on earth does she stay? sorry author, but I can't listen anymore....

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • A Man Called Ove

  • By: Fredrik Backman
  • Narrated by: Joan Walker
  • Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,958
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,803
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,807

Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He isn't as young as he used to be. He drives a Saab. He points at people he doesn't like the look of. He is described by those around his as 'the neighbour from hell'.Every morning he makes his inspection rounds of the local streets. He moves bicycles and checks the contents of recycling bins, even though it's been years since he was fired as Chairman of the Residents' Association in a vicious 'coup d'état'.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • All you need is Ove

  • By Kaggy on 22-09-14

beautiful story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-01-19

I've never given 5 stars before but this was such a lovely book and it deserved more if I'm honest.

  • The Diary of a Bookseller

  • By: Shaun Bythell
  • Narrated by: Robin Laing
  • Length: 9 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,007
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 915
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 919

Shaun Bythell owns The Bookshop, Wigtown - Scotland's largest second-hand bookshop. In these wry and hilarious diaries, Shaun provides an inside look at the trials and tribulations of life in the book trade, from struggles with eccentric customers to wrangles with his own staff. He takes us with him on buying trips to old estates and auction houses, recommends books and evokes the rhythms and charms of small-town life, always with a sharp and sympathetic eye.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A gentle pleasure

  • By Flint on 11-12-17

Could have listened to so much more

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-11-18

only complaint is I wanted more! when I started listening I thought it wasn't for me but it was so lovely. relaxing listen. and very funny. more please!!!

  • Big Little Lies

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 15 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,659
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,259
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,248

Pirriwee Public is a beautiful little beachside primary school where children are taught that ‘sharing is caring.’ So how has the annual School Trivia Night ended in full-blown riot? Sirens are wailing. People are screaming. The principal is mortified. And one parent is dead. Was it a murder, a tragic accident or just good parents gone bad? As the parents at Pirriwee Public are about to discover, sometimes it’s the little lies that turn out to be the most lethal.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Should be 4.5 Stars - Fantastic Surprise

  • By Gavingks on 06-11-14

wow!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-10-18

so cleverly written. I'm in awe. loved the narrator too. best book read in ages

  • Sycamore Row

  • By: John Grisham
  • Narrated by: Michael Beck
  • Length: 20 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,640
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,512
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,508

Fight them, Mr Brigance. To the bitter end. We must prevail. In the long-awaited successor to the novel that launched his phenomenal career, John Grisham brings us the powerful sequel to A Time to Kill. As filled with twists as it is with legal mastery, Sycamore Row proves beyond doubt that John Grisham is in a league of his own. Jake Brigance has never met Seth Hubbard, or even heard of him, until the old man's suicide note names him attorney for his estate.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Grisham back at his best

  • By Liz on 10-12-13

what an amazing story.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-08-18

the narrator was perfect. best I've heard. great book. amazing story. thoroughly recommend it to anyone