LISTENER

Clare

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
  • 27
  • reviews
  • 15
  • helpful votes
  • 73
  • ratings
  • The Wildflowers

  • By: Harriet Evans
  • Narrated by: Lucy Paterson
  • Length: 16 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 153
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 141
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 140

The new novel by Sunday Times best seller Harriet Evans will transport you to a Dorset beach house, where you can feel the sand between your toes. Enter the home of Tony and Althea Wilde - the Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor of their generation and with a marriage every bit as stormy. This glorious tale of tangled family secrets and lies will leave you warm and glowing. Tony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative...adulterous to the core

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • This is dull over written and contrived

  • By Stephen on 09-08-18

Not what you see on the surface

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-08-18

A great family story with lots of underlying stories, everyone had their own tail and perspective on what has, is happening

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • One Day

  • By: David Nicholls
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 16 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,403
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 536
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 541

He is Dexter Mayhew, tall, dark, and (she can't deny it) handsome. She is Emma Morley, bottled red hair, wilfully badly dressed, all principles and no action. Could this be the dawn of the rest of their lives? Or are Dex and Em living proof that - despite an unlikely beginning - men and women really can be just good friends?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • You'll laugh, you'll cry.

  • By Charles on 09-12-09

My Era

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-03-18

Life can be full of what if's I often wonder how life would have been....

Very sad and very full, pathos and irony I really enjoyed the story of Dex and Em, Em and Dex

  • The Hiding Places

  • By: Katherine Webb
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 15 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 119
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 107
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 107

Wiltshire, 1922. Fifteen-year old Pudding Cartwright has begun the career she always wanted, as 'girl groom' to the Hadleigh family's horses at Manor Farm. Irene Hadleigh is struggling to adjust to her new life in sleepy Slaughterford, having married Alistair to escape a scandal in London. At a loss to occupy herself, Irene sets about restyling Manor Farm, and during the work the chance finding of a strange object hidden away in the house for years will change everything.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great twists

  • By Miss G Thomas on 22-05-17

Many a twist and turn

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-12-17

Great to listen to a book where you can't see the plot coming from a mile away very refreshing but still making complete sense sad in place and funny in others highly recommended

  • The End of the Sky

  • By: Sandi Toksvig
  • Narrated by: Amy de Bhrun
  • Length: 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8

Eleven-year-old Slim Hannigan and her family left their home in Ireland to travel to America - in search of a better life. It has been so long and such a journey that Slim Hannigan and the rest of her family can't even imagine what home looks like anymore. And there are many, many miles across America for them to travel before they reach their destination. Between them and the home of their uncle lie thousands of miles of dangerous land, wild animals and strangers who do not wish them well.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enlightening and heart warming

  • By Clare on 12-10-17

Enlightening and heart warming

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-10-17

I really enjoyed the mixtures of ups and downs in t this second book following Slim and her family across the USA. As an inspiring cowboy Slim is a girl after my own heart and steps up to protect and support her friends and family including the native Americans

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Secret Keeper

  • By: Kate Morton
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 19 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 322
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 246
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 243

England, 1959: Laurel Nicolson is 16 years old, dreaming alone in her childhood tree house during a family celebration at their home, Green Acres Farm. She spies a stranger coming up the long road to the farm and then observes her mother, Dorothy, speaking to him. And then she witnesses a crime. Fifty years later, Laurel is a successful and well-regarded actress, living in London. She returns to Green Acres for Dorothy’s 90th birthday and finds herself overwhelmed by memories and questions she has not thought about for decades. She decides to find out the truth about the events of that summer day....

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • The Narrator ruined it for me!

  • By Linda on 28-12-12

great story shame about the accents

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-17

wonderful story full of twists and turns keeping you guessing all the way through just a shame the accents varied wildly even in the same sentence lol

  • Fast Friends

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Esther Wane
  • Length: 16 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 106
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 97
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 97

Fast Friends is a warm and funny romantic novel from Sunday Times best-selling author Jill Mansell. For fans of Lucy Diamond, Cathy Kelly and Marian Keyes. When bored housewife and mother Camilla Stewart impulsively invites her old school chums for dinner, she hardly imagines that the evening will shatter her comfortable existence. But Roz Vallender and Loulou Marks are no ordinary guests.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • loved it

  • By Kayley Fenwick on 23-06-16

Quite predictable with a few twists

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-08-17

and they all lived happily ever after weight just drops off no one worries about money booze jobs!

  • Shadow of the Moon

  • By: M. M. Kaye
  • Narrated by: Tara Ochs
  • Length: 34 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 60
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 56
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 57

The author of The Far Pavilions returns us once again to the vast, intoxicating romance of India under the British Raj. Shadow of the Moon is the story of Winter de Ballesteros, a beautiful English heiress come home to her beloved India. It is also the tale of Captain Alex Randall, her protector, who aches to possess her. Forged in the fires of a war that threatens to topple an empire, their tale is the saga of a desperate and unforgettable love that consumes all in its thrall.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • This is my favourite book....but oh dear!!!!

  • By Helene on 18-08-13

Enthralling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-03-17

But disappointed with the last rushed chapters where the story line lacked details esp compared to the rest of the book

  • All Clear

  • By: Connie Willis
  • Narrated by: Katherine Kellgren, Connie Willis (introduction)
  • Length: 23 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 96
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 57
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 58

Three time-traveling historians are visiting World War II England: Michael Davies, intent on observing heroism during the Miracle of Dunkirk; Merope Ward, studying children evacuated from London; and Polly Churchill, posing as a shopgirl in the middle of the Blitz. But when the three become unexpectedly trapped in 1940, they struggle not only to find their way home but to survive as Hitler's bombers attempt to pummel London into submission.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • excellent story and brilliant performance

  • By Amazon Customer on 11-05-18

wonderful unexpected and thrilling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-16

after listening to Blackout i couldn't wait to listen to All Clear and i wasn't disappeared

  • The Last Tribe

  • By: Brad Manuel
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 22 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 788
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 736
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 726

Fourteen-year-old Greg Dixon is living a nightmare. Attending boarding school outside of Boston, he is separated from his family when a pandemic strikes. His classmates and teachers are dead, rotting in a dormitory-turned-morgue steps from his room. The nights are getting colder, and his food has run out. The last message from his father is to get away from the city and to meet at his grandparents' town in remote New Hampshire.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I need more

  • By max on 04-07-16

Completely loved this book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-09-16

Absolutely brilliant gripping story brilliantly delivered and really made me think about what I would do

Only disappointment was I cant see any more books by Brad this need a follow up book on please

  • The Hour I First Believed

  • A Novel
  • By: Wally Lamb
  • Narrated by: George Guidall
  • Length: 25 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 35
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 33
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 34

When high-school teacher Caelum Quirk and his wife, Maureen, move to Littleton, Colorado, they both get jobs at Columbine High School. In April 1999, while Caelum is away, Maureen finds herself in the library at Columbine, cowering in a cabinet and expecting to be killed. Miraculously, she survives. But when Caelum and Maureen flee to an illusion of safety on the Quirk family's Connecticut farm, they discover that the effects of chaos are not easily put right.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Painful in places but worth a listen

  • By Lulu on 05-02-13

Loved this

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-16

This is the second of Wally's books I've listened to and loved just looking forward to the next