LISTENER

Allan

Zinkwazi
  • 6
  • reviews
  • 8
  • helpful votes
  • 10
  • ratings
  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,264
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,162
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,164

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Story well worth a listen

  • By Cathryn B. on 11-04-16

Hope there is to be more in this series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-09-16

Any additional comments?

The narrator gets your attentions and holds you in his spell. Excellent The story is easy to follow and the characters come to life. Thoroughly enjoyed this book

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Far from True

  • By: Linwood Barclay
  • Narrated by: Brian O’Neill, Mark Zeisler
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 233
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 216
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 216

After the screen of a run-down drive-in movie theater collapses and kills four people, the daughter of one of the victims asks private investigator Cal Weaver to look into a recent break-in at her father's house. Cal discovers a hidden basement room where it's clear that salacious activities have taken place - as well as evidence of missing DVDs. But his investigation soon becomes more complicated when he realises the DVDs may contain something even more shocking.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • No ending!

  • By Lorraine on 21-05-16

Be warned the story ends abruptly

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-05-16

Any additional comments?

You need to listen to the first in the series. We did this and the story merged. The narration was good and there were many twists to the story. Suddenly it ends with obviously a sequel in mind. This is a pity and feel each book should be complete.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Broken Promise

  • By: Linwood Barclay
  • Narrated by: Quincy Dunn Baker, Brian O'Neill
  • Length: 13 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 524
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 460
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 464

The morning it all started, newspaper reporter David Harwood had plenty to worry about. A single parent with no job, forced to return with his young son to the small town of Promise Falls to live with his parents, the future wasn't looking too rosy. So when his mother asked him to look in on his cousin, Marla, who was still not quite right after losing her baby, it was almost a relief to put the disaster his own life had become to one side. The relief wouldn't last long.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Classic Barclay !

  • By Andrea on 13-10-15

Books ends with lots of loose ends

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-05-16

Any additional comments?

Our first listen to this author The story and narration was good however the story ends in mid air and it is obviously been written as part one of a series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Return of the Dancing Master

  • By: Henning Mankell
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 14 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 264
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 189
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 191

Herbert Molin, a retired police officer, lives alone in a remote cottage in northern Sweden. Two things seem to consume him; his passion for the tango, and an obsession with the "demons" he believes to be pursuing him. Early one morning shots shatter Molin's window- by the time his body is found it is almost unrecognisable. Stefan Lindman is another off-the-job police officer.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Deeply satisfying

  • By Barry on 26-08-12

Really Good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-03-16

Any additional comments?

The narration is great Sean Barrett is always good, and the story keeps you riveted as it twists and turns. The characters are so well described so much so you can actually see them doing there parts.

  • Real Tigers

  • Slough House, Book 3
  • By: Mick Herron
  • Narrated by: Seán Barrett
  • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 587
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 551
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 551

London's Slough House is where disgraced MI5 operatives are reassigned to spend the rest of their spy careers pushing paper. But when one of these 'slow horses' is kidnapped by a former soldier bent on revenge, the agents uncover a larger web of intrigue that involves not only a group of private mercenaries but also the highest authorities in the Security Service.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Undiluted enjoyment

  • By Earnest on 10-03-16

Not one we enjoyed

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-03-16

Any additional comments?

After seeing such promising reviews and really enjoying Sean Barrett's narration we chose to purchase this book. The story is just so unrealistic with sections of the British secret service trying to kill each other. We struggled to the end in the hope it would get better but it does not. Sean Barret's narration was as good as always.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

A Deniable Death cover art
  • A Deniable Death

  • By: Gerald Seymour
  • Narrated by: Paul Panting
  • Length: 17 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 101
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 40
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 41

MI6 plan to assassinate the leading maker of IEDs - roadside bombs- as he leaves his house in Iran. But first, they need to know when he is leaving. So it is that Danny 'Badger' Baxter finds himself in Iran, lumbered with a partner he loathes, lying next to a mosquito-infested marsh, observing the house. And knowing that if they are caught, Her Majesty's Government will deny all knowledge of them.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Slow burner but leads to almost unbearable tension

  • By MarieLouise on 28-09-11

Good but Slow

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-04-15

Would you listen to A Deniable Death again? Why?

We enjoy books by this author and his way of telling the story, this one dragged on through the middle however it was compelling listening towards the end and you could feel all the human emotions

Any additional comments?

Very good narration