LISTENER

Amazon Customer

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 23
  • helpful votes
  • 33
  • ratings

Good Listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-04-19

Good Listen. Funny and interesting. Exactly what you would expect from Russel Brand. Would recommend to any socialist listener. Take some parts with a pinch of salt.

John Simpson Always Delivers

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-12-18

A solid book from John Simpson. I have read a few of his books in the past and always find them interesting and informative.

This one does what it says on the tin. True life stories from the front line, well described and thought provoking.

I would recommend this book to fans of travel and adventure.

This Won’t Rock You!

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-12-18

I really hoped this would be the 5 star book we all wanted. Narrated by Alexa and an overly camp sounding Freddie this just seemed to be a bunch of snippets from the daily mail read out by annoying actors.

If you are a fan of listening to contractual clauses of record deals then you would love this book, but if you really want to know about Freddie’s life growing up and about his family then this book sadly disappoints.

That being said there were a few nice moments in the book and I still learned a few things about the band that I didn’t know before, but overall I would not recommend this book.

A Good Story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-12-18

This story is great for fans of Travel and Adventure. The story of how Heinrich makes his way to Tibet had me gripped throughout, but the story did lose a bit of excitement once Heinrich does finally reach Lhasa. Nice insight into the relationship between Heinrich and the Dahlia Lhama.

2 people found this helpful

Great Listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-12-18

Great listen for any fan of Channel 4's SAS Who Dares Wins. A surprising insight into the life of Ant, especially during his younger years. This story really captures the imagination of the listener while detailing how Ant transforms from a well spoken middle class lad into the steely eyed SBS operator we all know and love him for.

A good all-rounder

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-12-18

Really enjoyed listening to this story. Not quite in the same league as the books from the stars of channel 4's SAS Who Dares Wins but still a very good listen. The story does have a slow start, but as the chapters go on you feel yourself warming to Kim. A very descriptive and gritty account of life on the front line for a bomb disposal expert.

Totally gripped

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-11-18

Wow what a thrilling story from start to finish. Told in his own words, I really enjoyed how Jason narrated his story which meant that none of the details or emphasis were lost. What a journey this guy has been on, and what an inspiration to hear of his achievements. As a fellow veteran (although not of the SAS) I saw many parallels between our life situations, whether it be the stress of going on tour or the mixed emotions of leaving the armed forces security bubble. I think we can all relate to Jason’s story to some degree. I would definitely recommend this book.

21 people found this helpful