LISTENER

Jenn

  • 12
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 144
  • ratings
  • The Girl Before

  • By: JP Delaney
  • Narrated by: Emilia Fox, Finty Williams, Lise Aagaard Knudsen
  • Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,467
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,939
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,926

Jane stumbles on the rental opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to live in a beautiful ultraminimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of exacting rules. After moving in she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there - and starts to wonder if her own story will be a rerun of the girl before. As twist after twist catches the listener off guard, Emma's past and Jane's present become inexorably entwined in this tense portrayal of psychological obsession.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping thriller

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-05-17

wow

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-06-17

I've listening to hundreds of books. this is one of the best ever both creepy & awesome all rolled into one. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • The Killing Club

  • By: Paul Finch
  • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
  • Length: 13 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 412
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 381
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 383

The perfect listen for fans of Stuart Macbride and Luther. DS Mark ‘Heck' Heckenburg is used to bloodbaths. But nothing can prepare him for this. Heck's most dangerous case to date is open again. Two years ago, countless victims were found dead - massacred at the hands of Britain's most terrifying gang. When brutal murders start happening across the country, it's clear the gang is at work again. Their victims are killed in cold blood, in broad daylight, and by any means necessary. And Heck knows it won't be long before they come for him.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Engrossing with great detail

  • By Graeme from Preston on 18-08-14

great book.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-05-17

i loved every second of it. would definitely recommend it to audible readers . enjoy folks!

  • Close

  • By: Martina Cole
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 17 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 191
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 165
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. And your family should be closest of all. Patrick Brodie knows exactly how far he's prepared to go to get what he wants. And he wants it all. Now. Before long, Patrick has become a legend in his own lifetime. Violently. Lily Diamond is different from the kind of woman Patrick is normally attracted to. But together they are determined that their children will have everything they didn't. Until the unthinkable happens, and Lily is left on her own to look after their family in a dangerous world.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant

  • By gambling_man on 04-04-17

not the best. and ice read them all...

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-04-17

don't know why but o just couldn't get into it. shame as I have read them all. this one was one of the weakest

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Betrayal

  • By: Martina Cole
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 298
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 262
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 264

Aiden O'Hara has been head of the family since he was kid, and he's going to keep it that way. Jade Dixon is the one who watches his back. Mother of his son. The one who makes him invincible. But Jade's been in the game a lot longer than Aiden. She knows no one's indestructible. And when you're at the top, that's when you've got to watch the hardest. Especially the ones closest to you....

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Don't waste your credit on this book

  • By Jodee on 31-10-16

brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-02-17

another great story. would definitely recommend this book to fans of gangster type stories. enjoy!

  • HRH Kidnap

  • Spoken from the Front
  • By: Andy McNab
  • Narrated by: Stephen Moyer
  • Length: 18 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 6

Jacko is just beginning to find his feet as the SAS 'New Boy', when once again, his Troop are crashed out of Baghdad's Green Zone. This time, they are on a fast ball: a Bristish hostage has just been located by the Americans.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • so so story line

  • By Jenn on 26-01-17

so so story line

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-01-17

Would you be willing to try another book from Andy McNab? Why or why not?

I have purchased every unabridged audio book he has written as well as a couple of these short ones. best narrated by a mile when paul thornley is at the helm!

Any additional comments?

why cant it always be paul thornley narrating lol.

  • The Faithless

  • By: Martina Cole
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 10 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 146
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 79
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 78

Gabby looked at the woman she had hated nearly all her life. Then she sat down on the ladder-backed chair, put her face into her bloodied hands and cried. To the outside world, Cynthia Tailor is a woman to envy; she has a devoted husband, a lovely home and two gorgeous children. But Cynthia is deeply unhappy with her lot; she has always craved the best things in life, and is determined to see that she gets them.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • awful

  • By Isobel on 19-02-12

it's no Annie Aldington but.....

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-01-17

she's the next thing to her reading the story. makes a change to not hear about incest too. really liked it and would recommend this book.

  • Detonator

  • Nick Stone, Book 17
  • By: Andy McNab
  • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 332
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 311
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 311

Ex-deniable operator Nick Stone has spent a lifetime in harm's way - but when someone he cares for very deeply is murdered in cold blood, he can no longer just take the pain. A high-level internecine conflict at the dark heart of the resurgent Russian Empire and an assassin's bullet on an isolated Alpine pass propel him from an apparently run-of-the-mill close-protection task into his most brutal and challenging mission yet. As the body count increases, Stone becomes one of Europe's most wanted.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Usual Mcnab masterclass

  • By Mikey on 14-11-15

Paul Thornley back on form!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-11-16

can't wait to see what happens next in book 18! a good book as per from mcnab. Paul back on top form ( dunno what happened to him in book 16) so all is good in the world of audio books again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

FREE SAMPLE: Betrayal
    
    
        By:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Martina Cole
    
    


    
    
        Narrated by:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Annie Aldington
    
    


    
    Length: 3 mins
    21 ratings
    Overall 4.0
  • FREE SAMPLE: Betrayal

  • By: Martina Cole
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 21
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 19

The 23rd novel from Sunday Times number one best seller Martina Cole, author of Dangerous Lady, The Take, Get Even and many more. Martina's unique, powerful storytelling will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell. Survival. It's all down to who you trust. Aiden O'Hara has been head of the family since he was kid, and he's going to keep it that way. Jade Dixon is the one who watches his back. Mother of his son. The one who makes him invincible.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 3 min clip too short to know anything

  • By Jenn on 02-11-16

3 min clip too short to know anything

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-16

I'm sure this will be a great book as it always it from Martina but the 3 min clip previewing this book bef9re it's released is just a bit too short to really give it a true rating. normally they are around 15 -30 mins which is much better as you tend to get a proper feel of the book itself.

  • Dark Winter

  • Nick Stone, Book 6
  • By: Andy McNab
  • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
  • Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 240
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 219
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 218

Outside of Pakistan, the world's highest concentration of al-Qaeda lurks in Southeast Asia and there, Nick Stone's bosses get wind of an act of terror that will dwarf even the nightmare of 9/11. When Stone is dispatched to Malaysia by the CIA to assassinate a biochemist, he expects his mission to be a straightforward part of the fight against Bin Laden. But there are complications, not least because he is working alongside an attractive woman whose motives he doesn't fully understand.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Paul Thornley....

  • By Robert M. on 26-08-18

what a sad ending.!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-10-16

what a sad ending! as always it's a bother well excellent book from Andy Ncnab

  • Bravo Two Zero - 20th Anniversary Edition

  • By: Andy McNab
  • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
  • Length: 15 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1,218
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,131
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1,124

January 1991: IRAQ. Eight members of the SAS regiment embark upon a top-secret mission to infiltrate deep behind enemy lines. Under the command of Sergeant Andy McNab, they are to sever a vital underground communication link and to seek and destroy mobile Scud launchers. Their call sign: BRAVO TWO ZERO. Each laden with 15 stones of equipment, they tab 20km across the desert to reach their objective. But within days, their location is compromised. After a fierce fire fight, they are forced into evasive action. Four men are captured. Three die. Only one escapes.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Captivating Story of Human Endurance

  • By Jason on 29-11-16

another brilliant book!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-07-16

Another fantastic opportunity to hear more from Andy's and his great account of his time in bravo two zero Sad it's now over. 9nto the Nick Stone series as I'm already suffering withdrawal symptoms! Would definitely recommend this book.