LISTENER

Christine in Essex

  • 14
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 40
  • ratings
  • The Yorkshire Pudding Club

  • By: Milly Johnson
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 211
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 156
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 156

When three South Yorkshire friends picnic on top of an ancient fertility symbol, who could have known that within four months they would all have their own eggs fertilised! For Helen, pregnancy is a true come true. But the more the baby grows inside her, the more she can see her outwardly perfect marriage crumbling. For career-woman Janey, it is a nightmare. How could it have happened? She had her husband George, ecstatic at the prospect of being a dad, were always so careful over contraception.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A happy tale with northern grace and humour

  • By Sara on 17-05-10

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-12-18

Really loved this book. mind you, all of Milly Johnson book are such a good read, I'm gutted that I have almost read them all.

  • The Mother of All Christmases

  • By: Milly Johnson
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 154
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 141
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 140

Eve Glace - co-owner of the theme park Winterworld - is having a baby, and her due date is a perfectly timed 25th December. And she’s decided that she and her husband, Jacques, should renew their wedding vows with all the pomp and Christmas ceremony that was missing from the first time round. But things keep going wrong in Winterworld - is it because the the usually competent site manager, Effin Williams, has lost his focus, or is there something more sinister going on? 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant just brilliant!!!!

  • By mrs ellen sherwood on 30-11-18

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-18

this book filled me with warmth and memories. I also cried with the characters but loved it.

  • It Started with a Tweet

  • By: Anna Bell
  • Narrated by: Larner Wallace-Taylor
  • Length: 10 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 20
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20

Could you survive a digital detox? This hilarious new romantic comedy from the author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart is perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Sophie Kinsella. Daisy Hobson lives her whole life online. A marketing manager by day, she tweets her friends, Instagrams every meal and arranges (frankly, appalling) dates on Tinder. But when her social media obsession causes her to make a catastrophic mistake at work, Daisy finds her life going into free fall....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very funny #laughoutloud

  • By Nicola on 25-01-19

Funny

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-10-18

A really funny read, seemed a bit slow at the start but once you get in to it then it's a really good read.

  • Tongue in Cheek

  • By: Fiona Walker
  • Narrated by: Beth Chalmers
  • Length: 25 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 33
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 23
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 22

From the very first day that they move to the Oddlode Valley, it's inevitable that young teacher Mo Stillitoe, recently separated socialite Diana Lampeter and cool, retired dressage diva Anke Brakespear will find their lives entangled. Despite their differing generations and backgrounds, the women are on a relocation collision course. As inept removal men deliver furniture - and even horses - to the wrong houses, other moves are being made…

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it.

  • By Sally on 24-01-17

LOVED IT

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-09-18

it seemed slow getting to know so many characters to start but such a great read.

  • Solo

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Penelope Freeman
  • Length: 14 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 184
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 158
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 155

Solo is a delightful romantic novel from best-selling author Jill Mansell, not to be missed by readers of Lucy Diamond and Cathy Kelly. Mad about a man who's dangerous to know? Surely it's better to go solo.... When Tessa Duvall, a struggling artist, reluctantly agreed to accompany her best friend, Holly, to a party at the elegant Charrington Grange Hotel, she had every intention of sneaking off early.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book

  • By Beverley Ambrose on 20-02-16

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-08-18

Loved the story and will miss the characters. it kept me gripped to the end.

  • Perfect Timing

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Karen Crass
  • Length: 11 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 86
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 72
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71

From the best-selling author of Three Amazing Things About You and The One You Really Want comes a sweet, funny tale of a romantic encounter that throws everything up in the air. For readers of Lucy Diamond, Cecelia Ahern and Cathy Kelly. Poppy Dunbar is out on her hen night when she meets Tom Kennedy. With his dark eyes and quirky smile, he could lure any girl off the straight and narrow, but what really draws Poppy to him is the feeling that she's known him all her life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • LOVE IT XXX😊XXX💖

  • By MrsWilkinson on 16-03-16

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-08-18

I miss the characters after reading Jill Mansell books...you really feel as if you know them. great read.

  • Surprise Me

  • By: Sophie Kinsella
  • Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 291
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 265
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 266

Random House presents the unabridged, downloadable edition of Sophie Kinsella's new title.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Not the norm

  • By Sophie Anderson on 13-03-18

didn’t disappoint

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-08-18

the first half was hard going but really picked up and had me wanting more.

  • Millie's Fling

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Sarah Barron
  • Length: 14 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 62

He's the best thing that ever happened to her. He's also the worst. He's Millie's fling.... When Millie Brady saves Orla Hart's life, she doesn't realise how drastically it will change her own - not least because the boyfriend who was asking her to move in with him at the time stormed off in a huff. Actually, Millie's relieved. She's happy to enjoy a man-free summer in Cornwall.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant!!

  • By Mrs B on 30-12-16

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-08-18

I just can't get enough of these Jill Mansell novels, they never disappoint. All RomCom books...I lol at times while reading them.

  • The Unpredictable Consequences of Love

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Jane Collingwood
  • Length: 11 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 220
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 196
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 195

When Josh Strachan, newly returned to his home in north Cornwall from sunny California, first meets Sophie Wells, he's immediately smitten. Sophie's pretty, she's funny, she has lots of friends, and she clearly loves her job as a photographer, despite the sometimes tricky clients. There's just one problem: Sophie has very firmly turned her back on love. It's nothing personal, she tells Josh, but she just doesn't do dates. And no one - even Sophie's scatty best friend Tula - will tell him why.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Pleasant, relaxing read/listen.

  • By Ann D on 12-06-14

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-07-18

I just love all these Jill Mansell books. They are a great read anytime, day or night.

  • You and Me, Always

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Susie Riddell
  • Length: 10 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 216
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 188
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 188

On the morning of Lily's 25th birthday, it's time to open the very last letter written to her by her beloved mother, who died when she was eight. Learning more about the first and only real love of her mum's life is a revelation. On the same day, Lily also meets Eddie Tessler, a man fleeing fame who just might have the ability to change her world in unimaginable ways. But her childhood friend, Dan, has his own reasons for not wanting Lily to get too carried away by Eddie's attentions.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • amazing

  • By Anonymous User on 31-01-16

Such a lovely story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-07-18

I loved every minute of it and didn't want it to end. Yet another great book by Jill Mansell