LISTENER

Anne Arnold

Wales
  • 5
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 16
  • ratings
  • Killers of the Flower Moon

  • Oil, Money, Murder and the Birth of the FBI
  • By: David Grann
  • Narrated by: Will Patton, Ann Marie Lee, Danny Campbell
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 309
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 287
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 285

In the 1920s the richest people per capita in the world were members of the Osage Indian nation in Oklahoma. After oil was discovered beneath their land, they rode in chauffeured automobiles, built mansions, and sent their children to study in Europe. Then, one by one, the Osage began to be killed off. The family of an Osage woman, Mollie Burkhart, became a prime target. Her relatives were shot and poisoned. And this was just the beginning, as more and more members of the tribe began to die under mysterious circumstances.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • brilliant

  • By Ms. Ej Austin on 19-06-17

The Cruelty of The Greedy

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-12-18

Amazing story of greed, corruption and murder. Almost ignored because Native Americans were the victims

  • Death in the Air

  • The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City
  • By: Kate Winkler Dawson
  • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
  • Length: 9 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut, Death in the Air, is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. In winter 1952, London automobiles and thousands of coal-burning hearths belched particulate matter into the air. But the smog that descended on December fifth of 1952 was different; it was a type that held the city hostage for five long days.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A tale of two cities

  • By Anne Arnold on 24-10-18

A tale of two cities

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-10-18

An enthralling story that covers two intertwining threads. Cleverly written and shows how even then that governments lie.

  • The Agent

  • Isabella Rose, Book 3
  • By: Mark Dawson
  • Narrated by: Napoleon Ryan
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 237
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 219
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 219

Isabella Rose is on the run, hunted by the very people she had been hired to work for. Trained killer Isabella and former handler Michael Pope are forced into hiding in India and, when a mysterious informer passes them clues on the whereabouts of Pope's family, the prey see an opportunity to become the predators.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • really really good

  • By CT on 21-09-17

A good read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-10-18

Well worth the time and energy to listen to. An excellent spy thriller which held my attention through three books.

  • Ravenspur

  • Rise of the Tudors
  • By: Conn Iggulden
  • Narrated by: Roy McMillan
  • Length: 13 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 675
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 614
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 611

Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of Ravenspur by Conn Iggulden, read by Roy McMillan. The fourth and final novel in Conn Iggulden's epic Wars of the Roses series. The season of vengeance has begun.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Engrossing - the Finale at Bosworth is Superb

  • By Andy on 08-06-16

Made me think again

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-09-17

I loved this set of books, however maybe another one could have covered the intrigue at court as there was a huge jump of 11 years in the storytelling.
Felt a bit rushed at the end and didn't cover much of the key points in Richard's life towards the end.
Worth the money and worth the listen.

Crackanory cover art
  • Crackanory

  • Series 1 and 2
  • By: Nico Tatarowicz, Toby Davies, Kevin Eldon, and others
  • Narrated by: Jack Dee, Sally Phillips, Rebecca Front, and others
  • Length: 5 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 937
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 826
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 821

Imagine if Jackanory was set free from its childish shackles. What twisted, funny tales would it unleash upon the world? Each episode of Crackanory contains two 15-minute tales and is a master class in storytelling, combining some of the UK’s best comedy writers and performers.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Tales with a twist

  • By HMPS64 on 05-02-16

Funny adult Jackanory stories. Need more.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-09-16

Picked this up as my first free book on Audible. had me chuckling out loud on the train to and from work. We need more of these. And soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful