LISTENER

JB

  • 17
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 40
  • ratings

Ran out of steam half way through

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-08-19

A book of two halves. I loved the first half of the story introducing Stellah and her family, navigating her life and the trauma of Guillan Barrie’s syndrome and her time in hospital. The part where she was in the USA was OK then the book really ran out of steam for me and as she returned to Ireland and her feckless ex husband things got boring. I pushed on to the end but wish I had the abridged version for the second half of the book

Totally absorbing and believable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-08-19

I loved this story. It was intricate, intense in places, made me laugh at times and held me riveted throughout. Revolving around 10 people who go on an ill fated trip to Blackpool many years ago and told from several of the main characters perspectives this book had me wanting more. The twist in the plot not revealed until nearly the end was great.
This was a plot you could believe actually happening and the characters were very believable, Trish the jealous and superficial second wife. Selwyn the doting husband and grateful pub landlord, Babs the bitter first wife, two teenage girls out for a good time, an old tramp, an older mother and her nerdy grown up son and finally a young father and his small son who shouldn’t even have been on the trip. That fateful trip seals everyone’s fate for decades to come.

1 person found this helpful

From lawyer to curtsying housekeeper

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-08-19

This was a fun story, moved at a good pace. Samantha was a great character, she fit the lawyer type well and her ineptitude as a housekeeper came across well, making me still like her. The curtsying mad me laugh as did her new bosses pride in her new member of staff. I wasnt keen on the narrator, and it did detract a bit from my enjoyment of the story.
If you want a book that’s fast paced at the start, a bit implausible in the middle. due to the disasters that befall Samantha and has you on the edge of your seat hoping she makes the right decision in the end then you will enjoy this book.

Hated the narrator

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-01-19

I can’t really the review the story which is a shame as I had hoped to find another series of books to enjoy. It I didn’t get past chapter 2. The reason I didn’t finish it was the narrator. I hated his voice and the fact that he put inflection on the wrong words totally disrupting the flow of the story for me. He didn’t have a natural delivery and for the first 5 minutes I thought one of the male characters was called Erin.
Kevin Knights isn’t the narrator for me

Sex, lies and debt

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-01-19

I loved the characters of Tobias and Megan and their love story interwoven with village life and gossip. This book is pure fiction and makes a great holiday read, full of high jinx and yet a hint of the reality of owning a huge estate. The twists and turns in Megan’s life keep you entertained and the rakish Dylan is the man you love to hate but end up wanting him to succeed anyway. The lottery winners were a bit superfluous for me except as a prop for Tobias making money initially but that didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the book

1 person found this helpful

Twists to the end as usual

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-01-19

Another good book from Tess Gerritsen for fans of Rizzoli and Isles. Plenty of gruesome murders and an intriguing religious twist. an interesting side play with Isles and her mother and several dead ends to traverse before you finally find out who did it. A great story that held my attention from start to finish

Can I get a like

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-11-18

This book failed to hold my attention. It was obvious from the outset what the state of Tor’s relationship was and only she couldn’t see it.
Despite the excellent narration from Tuppence nothing could lift this dreary reflection of the current desire to get more likes on social media and the current obsession with having the “perfect life” at least that what everyone should think from the outside
The story didn’t really go anywhere, not the story for me

4 people found this helpful

Funny, poignant page turner

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-11-18

I loved this book, it made me laugh out loud in places at some of the mad antics of Netty and her gang. The underlying story of hope, despair and loss made me keep turning the pages

A hard road but not a hard read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-18

This is the first J B Turner I’ve read and the first in the Reznick series, but it won’t be the last. A great fast paced story, plenty of twists and turns and some good solid characters.
If you like Lee Child then you will like this

No one could be that gullible

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-05-18

Not what I expect from Catherine Alloitt. The main character, Molly, was so gullible she was unbelievable and irritatingly stupid. The children where so badly behaved and walked all over her. No one can be that pathetic, trusting and .nieve. This is one read I don’t recommend