LISTENER

alan

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 17
  • ratings
  • A Trick of the Light

  • An Inspector McLevy Mystery 3
  • By: David Ashton
  • Narrated by: David Ashton
  • Length: 15 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 24

London had Sherlock Holmes. The dark alleys of Edinburgh had Inspector McLevy. Known as the father of forensics and a likely influence on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, real-life police inspector James McLevy is here reinvented by David Ashton in a thrilling mystery - the third in a series - set in dark, violent Victorian Edinburgh. Halloween 1881, Edinburgh, and the dead are restless. In respectable Edinburgh society, beautiful young American spiritualist Sophia Adler is causing a furore with her dramatic séances.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Have become a huge fan of stories and narrator!

  • By twigs way on 17-02-17

couldn't cope with the narration

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-11-18

couldnt cope with the narration can I pleasehave my credit back for this book thank you

  • The Word Is Murder

  • By: Anthony Horowitz
  • Narrated by: Rory Kinnear
  • Length: 9 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,077
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,947
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,935

A wealthy woman strangled six hours after she's arranged her own funeral. A very private detective uncovering secrets but hiding his own. A reluctant author drawn into a story he can’t control. What do they have in common? Unexpected death, an unsolved mystery and a trail of bloody clues lie at the heart of Anthony Horowitz's new thriller. Spread the word. The word is murder.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The Unemployed Detective

  • By Sarah on 30-08-17

the author is in it.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-02-18

intrigued me from the word go. stumbled a bit towards the end but I liked it.

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,286
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,972
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,965

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

  • By Pete on 02-12-16

girl in a hospital.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-03-17

a kind of girl on a train in Alex. good story. obscure culprit. pity the awakening wasn't more complete

  • Closed Casket

  • The New Hercule Poirot Mystery
  • By: Sophie Hannah
  • Narrated by: Julian Rhind-Tutt
  • Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 570
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 534
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 533

Lady Athelinda Playford has planned a house party at her mansion in Clonakilty, County Cork, but it is no ordinary gathering. As guests arrive, Lady Playford summons her lawyer to make an urgent change to her will - one she intends to announce at dinner that night. She has decided to cut off her two children without a penny and leave her fortune to someone who has only weeks to live.... Among Lady Playford's guests are two men she has never met - the famous Belgian detective Hercule Poirot and Inspector Edward Catchpool of Scotland Yard.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Ridiculous plot, badly in need of editing

  • By Karen on 13-10-16

not guide Agatha

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-09-16

enjoyed the story and performance. reveal is a bit long and dragged out a bit.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Death by Drowning

  • By: Agatha Christie
  • Narrated by: Joan Hickson
  • Length: 2 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 54
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 55

In The Thumbmark of St Peter Miss Marple tells how she was able to help her niece when the poor girl was accused of poisoning her husband. In The Herb of Death foxglove leaves are picked with sage for the dinner with disastrous results, and a burglary at a riverside bungalow sets off an unusual chain of events in The Affair at the Bungalow. In the final story, Sir Henry Clithering, ex-commissioner of Scotland Yard, is staying with his friends Colonel and Mrs Bantry, when news arrives that the village innkeeper's daughter has met her 'death by drowning.'

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Duplicates in Thirteen Problems

  • By Tab on 29-03-15

good Short stories for bed time

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-05-16

relaxing Short stories read in a very British way. by a classic very British narrator

  • Billionaire Boy

  • By: David Walliams
  • Narrated by: David Walliams
  • Length: 3 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 736
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 550
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 551

Joe has a lot of reasons to be happy. About a billion of them, in fact. You see, Joe's rich. Really, really rich. Joe's got his own bowling alley, his own cinema, even his own butler who is also an orangutan. He's the wealthiest 12-year-old in the land. But Joe isn't happy. Why not? Because he's got a billion pounds...and not a single friend. But then someone comes along, someone who likes Joe for Joe, not for his money. The problem is, Joe's about to learn that when money is involved, nothing is what it seems.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Hilarious and brilliantly read , for ages 6 to 90

  • By Happy and Smiling on 08-07-13

good book

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-01-16

good entertaining sometimes laugh out loud. moral and a good example for the give me a boy till he is seven theory. hope David is getting lots of product placement. Really good now I am going to watch the TV version to compare.

  • Absolute Pandemonium: The Autobiography

  • By: Brian Blessed
  • Narrated by: Brian Blessed
  • Length: 13 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,506
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,422
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,421

A memoir from national treasure Brian Blessed. There is no one quite like Brian Blessed. He's an actor, film star, trained undertaker, unlikely diplomat, secret romantic, martial artist and mountaineer. He's also a brilliant storyteller who will - and you must brace yourself - simply leap out of the story at you. Ready? Then listen to Absolute Pandemonium and you'll be taken on a riotous journey from his childhood, growing up the son of a miner in Goldthorpe, to finding fame in Z-Cars.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A joyful, irreverent, nine hours of fun!

  • By Vernon Wright on 23-10-15

Not blessed with interest

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-11-15

Brians excentricism fades and name dropping wins through. I felt him less lovable by the time I struggled to the end

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Monogram Murders

  • The New Hercule Poirot Mystery
  • By: Sophie Hannah
  • Narrated by: Julian Rhind-Tutt
  • Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 644
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 602
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 605

Hercule Poirot's quiet supper in a London coffee house is interrupted when a young woman confides to him that she is about to be murdered. She is terrified, but begs Poirot not to find and punish her killer. Once she is dead, she insists, justice will have been done. Later that night, Poirot learns that three guests at a fashionable London hotel have been murdered, and a cufflink has been placed in each one's mouth. Could there be a connection with the frightened woman?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • The Boring Monogram Murders

  • By Ulla on 18-09-14

Reveal as long as the tale

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-04-15

what started as a good mystery ended in an endless reveal, and very unlikely set of deaths.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful