LISTENER

Amazon Customer

  • 6
  • reviews
  • 19
  • helpful votes
  • 10
  • ratings
  • One Last Dram Before Midnight

  • Short Story Collection
  • By: Denzil Meyrick
  • Narrated by: David Monteath
  • Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 236
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 218
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 213

Bringing together six short stories - two of which are previously unpublished - One Last Dram Before Midnight is perfect for fans of Denzil Meyrick. These tales take us from Jim Daley's early days pounding the beat in Glasgow as a young constable to a lighthearted whisky smuggling romp involving Hamish and some ghostly pipers.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • What a Treat!

  • By Patricia on 24-10-17

great

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-11-17

I really love this writer and narrator, looking forward to new books! Hopefully won't have to wait long

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl on the Landing

  • By: Paul Torday
  • Narrated by: David Monteath, Clare Wille
  • Length: 9 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 220
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 209
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 208

From the best-selling author of Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, a ghost story, a psychological thriller and a tale of love rediscovered. Elizabeth has been married to Michael for ten years. She has adjusted to a fairly monotonous routine with her wealthy, decent but boring husband. Part of this routine involves occasional visits to Beinn Caorrun, the dank and gloomy house in a Scottish glen that Michael inherited. There are memories there that Michael will not share with her. But then Michael begins to change. It starts when he thinks he sees, in a picture, the figure of a girl on a landing.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Menacing

  • By CherylK on 19-08-16

long drawn out story

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-09-17

struggled with this one, the language and descriptions didn't fit. no real climax to the story disappointed!

  • Dead Scared

  • By: Sharon Bolton
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 260
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 207
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 206

When a Cambridge student dramatically attempts to take her own life, DI Mark Joesbury realizes that the university has developed an unhealthy record of young people committing suicide in extraordinary ways. Against huge personal misgivings, Joesbury sends young policewoman DC Lacey Flint to Cambridge, with a brief to work undercover, posing as a depression-prone, vulnerable student. Psychiatrist Evi Oliver is the only person in Cambridge who knows who Lacey really is - or so they both hope.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Lacey Flint No.2

  • By AmyAlice on 14-03-14

excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-09-16

loved it, would listen again, edge of your seat stuff. great narration once again. great

  • The Couple Next Door

  • By: Shari Lapena
  • Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,449
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,321
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,322

People are capable of almost anything. Fast-paced and addictive, The Couple Next Door announces a major new talent in thriller writing. You never know what's happening on the other side of the wall. Your neighbour told you that she didn't want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn't stand her crying. Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you live only next door. You'll have the baby monitor, and you'll take it in turns to go back every half hour.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An enjoyable listen

  • By Joanne on 25-05-17

Painful to listen to!

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-09-16

the narrator was very annoying, the story very repetitive in places. would not recommend!

11 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • The Martian

  • By: Andy Weir
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 16,690
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 15,715
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 15,687

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he's alive - and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plainold "human error" are much more likely to kill him first.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Exhilarating adventure. Brilliantly executed.

  • By Kaggy on 30-08-14

Fantastic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-10-15

tech talk was a struggle at the start but I really enjoyed the book. finished it in 2 days!

  • The Crooked House

  • By: Christobel Kent
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 226
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 210
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 209

One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard, this stunning psychological thriller follows one woman's search for the truth about her family history. Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: With no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: Once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best book Iv listened to this year

  • By Pam on 09-05-15

Hard work

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-09-15

This has a decent enough theme but the narrative was hard to listen, seemed to jump for one story to another without adequate pause. very drawn out story

1 of 1 people found this review helpful