LISTENER

Nicola

  • 10
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 15
  • ratings
  • Maybe This Time

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 157
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 148
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 147

When Mimi first visits her dad's new home in the Cotswolds, she falls in love with Goosebrook and the people who live there. (Well, maybe not snooty Henrietta, who lets Mimi walk miles in the rain rather than give her a lift.) There's Paddy, with his flashing eyes and seductive charm. Friendly and funny Lois makes Mimi laugh. And seriously gorgeous Cal is welcoming and charismatic. Though Mimi loves her city life and her career, she'd be very happy to return to Goosebrook if it means seeing more of him.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great listen!

  • By si on 02-02-19

Worst narration ever

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-02-19

Possibly the worst narration I have ever heard
I listen to books to fall asleep so am pretty tolerant so long as voices are soft. This though made my nerves jangle and shiver like polystyrene down a window.
Couldn’t comment on story as I couldn’t stick past chapter 3.

Why does she have to sing the endings of sentences? Errrrrrrr

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Perfect Proposal

  • By: Katie Fforde
  • Narrated by: Jilly Bond
  • Length: 10 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 129
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 87
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 89

Sophie Apperly has spent her whole life pleasing others - but when she realises her family see her less as indispensable treasure and more as general dogsbody, she decides she's had enough. So when an old friend offers her the chance of a lifetime, she decides to swap Little England for the Big Apple, and heads off to the land of opportunity.

From the moment Sophie hits the bright lights of Manhattan she's determined to enjoy every minute of her big adventure.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Romance

  • By Rachel on 06-05-15

Most irritating lead character ever

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-11-18

Gosh Sophie has never heard of empowerment or girl power. Neither has she heard of ageism given the way she talks of those older than her.

Narration is possibly the most irritating thing ever. Simpering and girly giggling does nothing to help Sophie appear empowered.

Swerve this

  • Summer of Love

  • By: Katie Fforde
  • Narrated by: Jane McDowell
  • Length: 11 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 107
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 75

Sian Bishop has only ever experienced one moment of recklessness – a moment that resulted in her beloved son Rory. It’s not that she doesn’t love the outcome of that wild night, but since then she has always taken the safer route. So when dependable, devoted Richard suggests a move to the beautiful English countryside, she leaves the hustle and bustle of the city behind, and she throws herself into the picture-postcard cottage garden, her furniture restoration business, and a new life in the country.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing narration

  • By Christine on 07-08-12

Teee and awful narration

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-11-18

Awful narration and very twee descriptors. Frightfully middle class and middle England in Rome and narrator just plays this up to the hilt.

Recuperating from illness so nodded off and on throughout. Were I in full health I would t have stuck the narration out.

  • Wickham Hall

  • By: Cathy Bramley
  • Narrated by: Colleen Prendergast
  • Length: 14 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 171
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 154
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 155

Best seller Wickham Hall was originally published as a four-part serial. This is the complete story in one package. Holly Swift has just landed the job of her dreams: events coordinator at Wickham Hall, the beautiful manor home that sits proudly at the heart of the village where she grew up. Not only does she get to organise for a living and work in stunning surroundings, but it will also put a bit of distance between Holly and her problems at home.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sweet & enjoyable

  • By Casey J on 02-04-16

The accent oh no

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-10-18

The accent was so annoying and changed in strength throughout.

Was it meant to give a rich boy poor girl vibe? Was overly forced.

The narrator is better than this.

Was just one of those books that send me to sleep quickly at night so does the job. The author has done better.

  • The One Plus One

  • By: Jojo Moyes
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Bower, Ben Elliot, Nicola Stanton, and others
  • Length: 13 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,779
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,630
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,635

With two jobs and two children, Jess Thomas does her best day after day. But it’s hard on your own. And sometimes you take risks you shouldn’t. Because you have to.... Jess’ gifted, quirky daughter Tanzie is brilliant with numbers, but without a helping hand she’ll never get the chance to shine. And Nicky, Jess’ teenage stepson, can’t fight the bullies alone. Sometimes Jess feels like they’re sinking.... Into their lives comes Ed Nicholls, a man whose life is in chaos, and who is running from a deeply uncertain future.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A compelling, uplifting listen

  • By Saffy on 13-03-14

Engaging.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-10-18

I found this book really engaging and the narration was good. Particular liked the children’s narrations.

Good story and worth giving it time.

  • The Endless Beach

  • By: Jenny Colgan
  • Narrated by: Sarah Barron
  • Length: 10 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 145
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 146

On the quayside next to the Endless Beach sits the Summer Seaside Kitchen. It's a haven for tourists and locals alike, who all come to eat the freshest local produce on the island and catch up with the gossip. Flora, who runs the café, feels safe and content - unless she thinks too hard about her relationship with Joel, her gorgeous but emotionally (and physically) distant boyfriend. While Flora is in turmoil about her relationship, her best friend, Lorna, is pining after the local doctor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic read, hope there is a part 3

  • By Lisasarah2020 on 11-02-18

Not the best

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-10-18

A bit all over the place. Very disappointing sequel.
Narration was awful. Voice of the child drove me bonkers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Girls

  • By: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister, Amelie Jewell
  • Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 790
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 716
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 711

You live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people’s houses. You’ve known your neighbours for years, and you trust them. Implicitly. You think your children are safe. But are they really? On a midsummer’s night, a 13-year-old girl is found unconscious in a dark corner of the garden square. What really happened to her? And who is responsible?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Weak in several parts

  • By Giftgiver on 14-11-16

Really don’t like this book

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-06-18

The mental health element is inaccurate in ways and perpetuates bigoted myths around treatment.

The story was also annoying and no character was particularly likeable. Very disappointing offer from this usually good author

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The House We Grew Up In

  • By: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Karina Fernandez
  • Length: 13 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,161
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,064
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,064

The Bird children have an idyllic childhood: a picture-book cottage in a country village, a warm, cosy kitchen filled with love and laughter, sun-drenched afternoons in a rambling garden. But one Easter weekend a tragedy strikes the Bird family that is so devastating it tears them apart. Many years later something will call them home, back to the house they grew up in - and to what really happened that Easter weekend all those years ago.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • the house we grew up in

  • By AmyAlice on 02-12-13

Loved this book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-06-18

Brilliant story. As the others say get to chapter 3

Well crafted, takes you on a enjoyable journey to a slightly predictable ending but don’t let that take away from the quality of the read

Lisa Jewell has honed her craft and turned into a great author.

  • The Girl Before

  • By: JP Delaney
  • Narrated by: Emilia Fox, Finty Williams, Lise Aagaard Knudsen
  • Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,380
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,854
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,843

Jane stumbles on the rental opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to live in a beautiful ultraminimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of exacting rules. After moving in she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there - and starts to wonder if her own story will be a rerun of the girl before. As twist after twist catches the listener off guard, Emma's past and Jane's present become inexorably entwined in this tense portrayal of psychological obsession.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping thriller

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-05-17

Very good story.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-18

Well worth a try. Would be a page turner if in book form. I listened whilst decorating and some parts were a bit full on but was all in context. Loved it

  • The Missing Wife

  • By: Sheila O'Flanagan
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 12 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 598
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 539
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 536

Fans of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan's The Missing Wife. Have you ever wanted to disappear? When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic

  • By Julie on 02-09-16

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-18

Couldn’t stop listening to this book. Drove my family mad with my earphones in all the time. Wonderful narration and a great story. Try it you won’t be disappointed.