LISTENER

Paula Knapman

Teignmouth, S Devon, GB
  • 7
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 15
  • ratings
  • Calling Mrs Christmas

  • By: Carole Matthews
  • Narrated by: Julia Franklin
  • Length: 12 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 177
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 164

Cassie Smith has been out of work for a while but she has an idea. Drawing on her love of Christmas, she begins charging for small things: wrapping presents; writing cards; tree-decorating. She's soon in huge demand and Cassie's business, Calling Mrs Christmas, is born. Carter Randall wants to make Christmas special for his children, so he enlists Cassie's help, and his lavish requests start taking up all her time. Thank goodness she can rely on her loving partner Jim to handle the rest of her clients.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A perfect Christmas listen

  • By Saffy on 02-12-13

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-11-18

A great feel good story perfect for the festive season, easy to listen to well narrated by Julia Franklin, would thoroughly recommend.

  • A Country Life

  • Honeycote, Book 2
  • By: Veronica Henry
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 14 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 85
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 81
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 79

A new home, a new circle of friends, a new chance at happiness? Suzanna and Barney Blake are swapping city life for the countryside, determined to breathe new life into the Honeycote Arms and a marriage touched by tragedy. Recently separated Ginny Tait is also seeking solace in country living, desperate to rein in her rambunctious twin daughters. They all think that moving to a calm, quiet and beautiful village in the Cotswolds will solve their problems. But in Honeycote, things are never quite as they appear....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Potent ale from the brewery

  • By Fleetwoodboy on 01-02-18

A nice easy listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-07-18

Great narration a nice gentle story perfect for doing the ironing too, believable characters as well 10/10

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Postcard

  • By: Fern Britton
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 81
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74

The new witty and warm novel from best-selling author and TV presenter Fern Britton. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Trisha Ashley. Penny Leighton, TV producer and wife of the local vicar Simon Canter, is struggling to cope with motherhood. The couple have had their only child Jenna, while Penny is in her forties and it's been a big shock to her system. When Simon engages the services of a nanny, Ella, as a way of helping Penny, it serves only to push her further away from him and from Jenna.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely wonderful

  • By Amazon Customer on 27-06-17

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-05-18

A lovely easy storyline with nice characters and you become part of their lives, excellent narrative too would thoroughly recommend ideal fir reducing the ironing pile!

  • Out of Practice

  • The Larkford Series, Book 1
  • By: Penny Parkes
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 16 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 785
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 713
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 711

Out of Practice is based around a large country medical practice, which proves to be a hotbed of rivalry, resentment and romance - and that's just the doctors. Think James Herriot meets House.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Truly Enjoyable Read

  • By L Hayes on 04-04-17

A lovely gentle story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-04-18

Although a little predictable it was a great story well narrated, nice easy listening excellent for climbing the north face of the ironing pile! I look forward to the next book.

  • Making Your Mind Up

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Julia Franklin
  • Length: 13 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 63
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 54
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 57

Lottie Carlyle faces a bittersweet romantic dilemma in Jill Mansell's engaging best seller, Making Your Mind Up - not to be missed by fans of Lucy Diamond and Milly Johnson. Lottie Carlyle isn't looking for love when she meets her new boss, Tyler Klein. Living in a beautiful cottage with her two adorable - sometimes - kids in an idyllic village in the Cotswolds, on good terms with her ex-husband and with friends all around, she's happy enough with her lot.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved it!

  • By Sarah on 17-10-18

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-05-17

A nice gentle story with great characters all of whom were totally believable, I became thoroughly immersed in the story, I shall miss the characters now it ha ended.

  • The Cornish Guest House

  • Tremarnock, Book 2
  • By: Emma Burstall
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 12 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 156
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 133
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 132

Liz has found refuge in the small fishing village of Tremarnock with her young daughter, Rosie, after her relationship with Rosie's father came unstuck. Now that she's happily married to village restaurant owner Robert Hart, all seems set for a quiet autumn and merry Christmas. But strangers have bought the local guesthouse and seem to have big plans. Why is he so charming and confident, but she's so frightened? And what are they really doing with the guesthouse?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Lovely book

  • By david dodson (purple triangle ltd) on 05-06-17

Brilliant, totally absorbing

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-02-17

If you could sum up The Cornish Guest House in three words, what would they be?

Comforting, absorbing, compulsive

What does Georgia Maguire bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Georgia Maguire is absolutely wonderful in her reading of the book and the accents of different characters, she most certainly adds to the book, I love her voice and her interpretation.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The book envelopes you and draws you into the characters and their families, making you laugh, cry and feel for them.

Any additional comments?

A brilliant book I am so sad it has come to an end, please Emma Burstall write some more.

  • Tremarnock

  • By: Emma Burstall
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 12 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 269
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 234
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 233

Tremarnock is a classic Cornish seaside village where Liz has found sanctuary for herself and her young daughter, Rosie. From early in the morning with her job as a cleaner till late at night waitressing in the restaurant, Liz works all the hours God sends to provide for them both. But trouble is waiting just around the corner. As with all villages, there are tensions, secrets - and ambitions.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A big hug in a book

  • By Jeanette on 19-07-16

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-01-17

If you could sum up Tremarnock in three words, what would they be?

A wonderful story to loose yourself in, can't wait for book 2

Any additional comments?

Well worth listening too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful