LISTENER

jennifer eccles

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 113
  • ratings
  • Dark Light

  • Elizabeth Cage, Book 2
  • By: Jodi Taylor
  • Narrated by: Julie Teal
  • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 422
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 393
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 395

Betrayed, terrified and alone, Elizabeth Cage has fled her home. With no plan and no friends, she arrives at the picturesque village of Greyston and finds herself involved in an ages-old ceremony that will end in death. And that might be the least of her problems - the Sorensen Institute would very much like to know her whereabouts. And Michael Jones is still out there, somewhere, she hopes. No matter how far and how fast she can run, trouble will always find Elizabeth Cage.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Continuity error

  • By drdapa on 09-11-18

Narrator took a lot of getting used to

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-05-19

I agree with many other reviewers, this narrator sounds way too old. I got used to her, and she reads very well but she just isn’t right. The story was ok but not a patch on the first in the series. It all went a bit silly after the troll and I found it hard to concentrate afterwards. I stuck with it, but I’m not sure if I’d listen to further books with this narrator.

  • The Crow Trap

  • By: Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by: Janine Birkett
  • Length: 14 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 418
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 383
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 384

Three very different women come together at isolated Baikie’s Cottage on the North Pennines to complete an environmental survey. Rachael, the team leader, is still reeling after a double betrayal by her lover and boss, Peter Kemp. Anne, a botanist, sees the survey as a chance to indulge in a little deception of her own. And then there is Grace, a strange, uncommunicative young woman hiding plenty of her own secrets. 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent story as always from Ann Cleeves

  • By mrs on 17-08-18

Awful narration

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-01-19

The narrator has a nice voice when used normally however the voices she made up for many of the characters, especially women, were appalling. Edie drove me insane. I’ve not managed to listen to the whole book, mainly because of Edie. It’s a slow story, and I found myself losing the plot on many occasions. I love Ann Cleeves and Vera Stanhope and am grateful I didn’t listen to this one first or I may never have listened to anything else.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Brighton Rock

  • By: Graham Greene
  • Narrated by: Samuel West
  • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 782
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 648
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 646

An unabridged audio edition of Graham Greene's classic gang-war thriller. A gang war is raging through the dark underworld of Brighton. Pinkie, malign and ruthless, has killed a man. Believing he can escape retribution, he is unprepared for the courageous, life-embracing Ida Arnold, who is determined to avenge a death.... Read by Samuel West.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Abi on 09-04-11

Gripped me from beginning to end

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-12-18

Samuel West was perfect, he can change his voice to suit myriad characters including females. I never read this book, only saw the original film which bored me (I was very young at the time and didn’t really understand it) but listening to this was a treat. You may know what’s going to happen but it doesn’t matter, it’s the journey that counts. Perfection.

  • The Lake House

  • By: Kate Morton
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 21 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 887
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 824
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 817

Living on her family’s gorgeous lakeside estate in Cornwall, England, Alice Edevane is a bright, clever, inquisitive, innocent, and precociously talented 14-year-old who loves to write stories. But the mysteries she pens are no match for the one her family is about to endure.... One midsummer’s eve, after a beautiful party drawing hundreds of guests to the estate has ended, the Edevanes discover that their youngest son, Theo, has vanished without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Accents

  • By Patricia on 10-11-15

Accents!!!

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-09-18

Spoiled by the weird attempts at various accents, especially Cornish. As a Cornishwoman I was veering between mirth and offence! Just awful, and so distracting; I just kept waiting for the next effort! Couldn’t get past chapter 4 before asking for a refund.

  • Still Dark

  • William Lorimer, Book 14
  • By: Alex Gray
  • Narrated by: David Monteath
  • Length: 10 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 99
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 84
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 83

New Year's Eve should be a time for celebrating. A chance to spend time with loved ones and look forward to the year ahead. For DSI William Lorimer, however, this New Year's Eve will be one that he will never forget. Called to a house after gunshots are reported, the carnage he finds there will have a powerful impact on his life - leaving him questioning his future with Police Scotland.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another good Alex Gray book

  • By Susan Joy on 28-09-17

Sllloooowwww

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-18

I really struggled with this one until at least halfway through. I didn’t enjoy the scenes where Lorimer was at the residential clinic (boring). The story seemed to skip from character to character with no warning and it became confusing in places. Were there no chapter announcements? I can’t remember but it was muddled. I bought this based on my enjoyment of the previous book in the series but wish I hadn’t. Good narration.

  • The Stone Man

  • A Science Fiction Horror Novel
  • By: Luke Smitherd
  • Narrated by: Matt Addis
  • Length: 14 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,997
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,880
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,873

Nobody knew where it came from. Nobody knew why it came. When an eight-foot-tall man made of stone appears in the middle of a busy city center one July afternoon, two-bit (and antisocial) reporter Andy Pointer assumes it's just a publicity stunt. Indeed, so does everyone else...until the Stone Man begins to walk, heading silently through the wall of the nearest building, flattening it, and killing several people inside as a result.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I Hate Luke Smitherd!

  • By Simon on 04-07-16

Kept me gripped from beginning to end

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-09-17

I rarely leave reviews but I was so gripped by this story I felt I must! I cared about Paul and Andy and wanted to know what was going to happen to them. The narrator was excellent, really first class and never irritating. Luke Smitherd brings the characters to life and despite the subject matter makes it incredibly believable. I thoroughly recommend this book, even if you are not a fan of sci-fi (I thought I wasn't but I've changed my mind). Atmospheric and unputdownable, I finished this in a few days, listening at every available opportunity.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Sweetpea

  • By: C. J. Skuse
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 866
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 810
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 805

Rhiannon is your average girl next door, settled with her boyfriend and little dog...but she's got a killer secret. Although her childhood was haunted by a famous crime, Rhinannon's life is normal now that her celebrity has dwindled. By day her job as an editorial assistant is demeaning and unsatisfying. By evening she dutifully listens to her friend's plans for marriage and babies whilst secretly making a list. A kill list.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic

  • By D. Childs on 29-05-17

Dark, violent but very funny!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-08-17

Rhiannon is hilarious but very flawed. Life has dealt her a pretty bad hand and we gradually get to find out why she is like she is. Just don't cross her!! Her lists are brilliant and she often says what we're all thinking. Well, I am anyway! It is laugh out loud in places and made me wince in others. There are moments that make you feel sad. All in all it's a fab book and very well narrated. Recommended but not if you are of a sensitive disposition ;)

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,655
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,446
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,447

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Utter nonsense

  • By S. Christie on 30-04-18

Listened to it in less than two days!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-08-17

So many twists and turns, you can't believe this woman could be so unlucky! It kept me hooked right to the end, even though the final twist was a bit crackers and with what you know at the end, unexplainable. Fab though, I couldn't put it down.