LISTENER

rob

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 15
  • ratings
  • The Fear Within

  • Dani Lewis 2
  • By: J. S. Law
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 10
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 10

A young Naval Wren disappears from the warship Defiance. With no trace of the girl onboard, Lieutenant Dani Lewis, star investigator in the Royal Navy's Kill Team, must work her way through a complex web of witness accounts to uncover why she might run - or what might motivate a predator to take her. But even as Dani hones in on the truth, threads begin to emerge which take her back to the recent conspiracy uncovered aboard the submarine Tenacity, and even further to the serial killer who continues to taunt her from prison.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • awsome. a must read/listen.

  • By rob on 05-12-17

awsome. a must read/listen.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-12-17

having recently listened to the first book Tenacity, which was excellent and addictively gripping, this next installment picks up from where Tenacity left off but takes several new directions and opens up layers of gritty crime drama that is infused with a Naval twist.

You must give this a go! really well narrated too!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Dark Beneath

  • Dani Lewis, Book 1
  • By: J. S. Law
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 10 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25

In this breathless thriller, Lieutenant Dani Lewis must uncover the dark truth after a suspicious death on a navy submarine. Fans of M. J. Arlidge and Elly Griffiths will be absolutely gripped. A sailor is found dead onboard the navy submarine Tenacity. Although it's ruled a suicide, Lieutenant Dani Lewis, fearless star of the Special Investigations Branch, knows the man's wife was found brutally murdered only days before.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Uncomfortable, gripping and constantly tense.

  • By GeoffNotJeff on 03-08-15

gripping, emotional and really well tuned!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-11-17

I have delayed reading this book owing to a personal preference not to indulge in fiction writing.....what a mistake!

The parallels the author draws from his experience as a submariner strike home with real effect. Couple this with a gripping storyline that leaves you desperate for the next chapter and a lead character that has real appeal as an investigator gifted with talented instincts but suffering as a result of her own life decisions makes the read that more indulgent. I was expecting the story to conclude..... but am left excited at the prospect of how events unfold in the future.

This novel is a must. if you are a submariner....it will really hit home. If you are not, then I can't think of a more inciteful read than this to give a feel for how a brotherhood can be guilty of pulling together, and excluding, yet operate as professionals in the most challenging of environments. The Fictional Twist that the author has developed really plays off the weaknesses inherent to the services.

a must read made better by Audio books

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • FREE: Audible Sessions with J. S. Law

  • Exclusive interview
  • By: J. S. Law, Robin Morgan
  • Narrated by: J. S. Law, Robin Morgan
  • Length: 10 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 7
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6

Exclusive to Audible. J. S. Law reveals how his time in the Royal Navy influenced his book, Tenacity, and how the lack of a true female heroine spurred him to create the central character, Danielle. About Tenacity: Suicide must be investigated. Especially when a Royal Navy sailor kills himself on a nuclear submarine only days after his wife's brutal murder. Now Lieutenant Danielle Lewis, the navy's finest special branch investigator, must interrogate the tight-knit male crew of HMS Tenacity to determine if there's a link.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • honest and inspiring..... well worth your time!

  • By rob on 16-11-17

honest and inspiring..... well worth your time!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-11-17

If you are not sure what James is all about, then give this a go. really fascinating to hear what motivated the author and a good insight into what is to come. give it a go.

  • Unleashing Demons

  • The Inside Story of Brexit
  • By: Craig Oliver
  • Narrated by: Craig Oliver
  • Length: 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 172
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 153
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 153

As David Cameron's director of politics and communications, Craig Oliver was in the room at every key moment during the EU referendum - the biggest political event in the UK since World War II. Craig Oliver worked with all the players, including David Cameron, George Osbourne, Barack Obama, Angela Merkel, Jeremy Corbyn, Boris Johnson, Michael Gove, Theresa May and Peter Mandelson.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • A partisan attempt to refight the battles

  • By Williams and Company R Stafford on 05-01-17

emotionally involved authoring

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-03-17

an interesting account and certainly an eye opener to what goes on within politics. difficult to work out if the author's emotional involvement has skewed the account or his opinions, but some really good points made and some exposing content.
shame it can't turn back events and have been released amid the campaign!

  • The Black Door: Spies, Secret Intelligence and British Prime Ministers

  • By: Richard Aldrich, Rory Cormac
  • Narrated by: Tom Clegg
  • Length: 25 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 151
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 135
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 132

The Black Door explores the evolving relationship between successive British Prime Ministers and the intelligence agencies, from Asquith's Secret Service Bureau to Cameron's National Security Council. At the beginning of the 20th Century the British intelligence system was underfunded and lacked influence in government. But as the new millennium dawned, intelligence had become so integral to policy that it was used to make the case for war.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Utterly fabulous

  • By NickNoodles on 20-09-16

a real eye opener.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-03-17

Thatcher to present day was fascinating. give it a go. its ideal for long journeys.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful