LISTENER

barbara

angmering, United Kingdom
  • 30
  • reviews
  • 55
  • helpful votes
  • 157
  • ratings
  • Dead Pretty

  • The 5th DS McAvoy Novel
  • By: David Mark
  • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
  • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 68
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 68

One girl's missing. One girl's dead. McAvoy can't let either of them go.... The fifth stunning novel in the DS McAvoy series by best-selling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson. Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sublime 6 stars out of 5!

  • By barbara on 19-04-19

Sublime 6 stars out of 5!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-04-19

As always the story is full of twists and turns. Narration is excellent. I love David Mark books . Can always be guaranteed of a great listen . Every character believable as we are all complicated beings .

  • Sorrow Bound

  • The 3rd DS McAvoy Novel
  • By: David Mark
  • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
  • Length: 10 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 97
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 85
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 85

No good deed goes unpunished in this third thrilling instalment in the acclaimed Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series. From the Richard & Judy featuring, Sunday Times best-selling and Kindle chart-topping author of Dark Winter. Philippa Longman did what we all aim to do. She did the right thing. She's about to pay for it with her life.... DS McAvoy has spent his career playing by the rules. He has the scars to show for it.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Part 3 getting even better

  • By Simon1971 on 07-09-16

Magic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-03-19

Kept me guessing . Brilliant narration great story. Looking forward to the next one in the series.

  • The Sleeping and the Dead

  • By: Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by: John Telfer
  • Length: 10 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 120
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 102
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 102

Detective Peter Porteous is called to Cranwell Lake, where the body of a teenager has been discovered. After trawling through the missing persons files, he deduces that the corpse is Michael Grey, an enigmatic and secretive young man who was reported missing by his foster parents in 1972. For country prison officer Hannah Morton, it is the shock of her life. Michael had been her boyfriend, and she had been with him the night he disappeared. The news report that a body has been found brings back dreaded and long-buried memories from her past.... 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent listen

  • By karen gibbons on 22-12-18

As you’d expect ...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-03-19

Good twists & turns .. likeable believable characters . John Telfer is a consummate narrator , in the Stephen Pacey grade in my book ..

  • The Man with No Face

  • By: Peter May
  • Narrated by: Peter Forbes
  • Length: 10 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 381
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 351
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 349

Brussels, 1979. Jaded Edinburgh journalist Neil Bannerman arrives in the capital of European politics intent on digging up dirt. Yet it is danger he discovers when two British men are found murdered. One victim is a journalist, the other a Cabinet Minister: the double assassination witnessed by the former's autistic daughter. This girl recalls every detail about her father's killer - except for one.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another excellent tale.

  • By JENNIFER on 19-01-19

As good as ever

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-01-19

Took a little while to get into it but when you have great narration by Peter Forbes it’s worth it . Looking forward to next Peter May 5* all round.

  • The Lost Children

  • By: Theresa Talbot
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6

Investigative journalist Oonagh O'Neil's instincts tell her when a story is worth pursuing. And the death of an elderly priest on the altar of his Glasgow church, just as she is about to expose the shocking truth behind the closure of an infamous Magdalene Institution, tells her a sinister cover up is in play. DI Alec Davies is appointed to investigate the priest's death. He and Oonagh go way back. But now they're united in uncovering not only what happened to the lost babies secretly born in the Institution, but what happened to the young women that survived by vowing loyalty to one another...forever. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5* performance & story .

  • By barbara on 21-12-18

5* performance & story .

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-12-18

An intriguing story even though I knew about the Magdalen girls . Very Good story & excellent narrative.
I like crime thrillers so will be looking for more from Theresa Talbot & books performed by Cathleen McCarron .

  • The House on Cold Hill

  • By: Peter James
  • Narrated by: Nicholas Boulton
  • Length: 8 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 771
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 711
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 710

They said the dead can't hurt you.... They were wrong. The House on Cold Hill is a chilling and suspenseful ghost story from the multimillion-copy best-selling author of Dead Simple, Peter James. Moving from the heart of Brighton and Hove to the Sussex countryside is a big undertaking for Ollie and Caro Harcourt and their 12-year-old daughter, Jade. But when they view Cold Hill House - a huge, dilapidated Georgian mansion - Ollie is filled with excitement.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great story

  • By Book Fan on 13-11-15

Not for me

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-10-18

Sorry Peter this was not for me .. I think you should stick to your crime & thrillers ..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Looking Good Dead

  • Roy Grace, Book 2
  • By: Peter James
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 14 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 520
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 473
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 469

One single act of kindness becomes an endless reign of terror...Tom Bryce did what any decent person would do. But within hours of picking up the CD that had been left behind on the train seat next to him, and attempting to return it to its owner, he is the sole witness to a vicious murder. Then his young family are threatened with their lives if he goes to the police. But supported by his wife, Kellie, he bravely makes a statement to the murder enquiry team headed by Detective Superintendent Roy Grace, a man with demons of his own to contend with.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • As good as the first, but different.

  • By Simon on 31-08-15

Great listen ..

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-07-18

Characters & villains in Brighton ... Roy grace is a believable policeman along with his team.. looking forward to the next & the next

  • Seven Bridges

  • The DCI Ryan Mysteries, Book 8
  • By: LJ Ross
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 621
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 567
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 562

It's been five months since a killer walked free, and DCI Ryan is preparing to leave Newcastle to hunt him down - this time for good. But Ryan's plans are scuppered when events take a dramatic turn and he is forced to stay and face his past one last time or watch a friend suffer the consequences. Amid the chaos, another killer is preparing to strike. When the Tyne Bridge explodes, Ryan's team are faced with a frantic race to uncover a deadly foe who won't stop until every bridge is burned, along with everybody on it....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Another very good DCI Ryan Instalment

  • By Salter on 12-07-18

Another great book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-07-18

Always know I’m in for a good listen with L J Ross & Ryan ... good story keeps you involved . Not too gory either though sometimes I know it’s important to paint the picture . I just wish there was a rating as have had to return some titles as they are just gratuitous in their descriptive.
I look forward to the next book .

  • The Blood Road

  • Logan McRae, Book 11
  • By: Stuart MacBride
  • Narrated by: Steve Worsley
  • Length: 16 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 534
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 476
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 472

What drives someone to murder? Logan McRae's personal history is hardly squeaky clean, but now that he works for Professional Standards he's policing his fellow officers. When Detective Inspector Bell turns up dead in the drivers seat of a crashed car, it's a shock to everyone. Because Bell died two years ago. They buried him. Or they thought they did. As an investigation is launched into Bell's stabbing, Logan digs into his past. Where has he been all this time? Why did he disappear? And what's so important that he felt the need to come back from the dead?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Blood Road is end of the road for me

  • By Mrs Mac on 26-07-18

Done it again

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-06-18

Stuart has done it again... love his characters & how they subtly change ( as we all do) as they get older Not always wiser though.
The narration is as always excellent , Steve Worsley brings the characters to life. Fab voice .
I’m always disappointed when the book ends as I then have to look for another to fill the gap till the next exciting case .

  • The Hoarder

  • By: Jess Kidd
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 10 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 455
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 411
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 410

Maud Drennan - underpaid carer and unintentional psychic - is the latest in a long line of dogsbodies for the ancient, belligerent Cathal Flood. Yet despite her best efforts, Maud is drawn into the mysteries concealed in his filthy, once-grand home. She realises that Cathal, and the junk-filled rooms, are opening up to her. With only her landlady and a troop of sarcastic ghostly saints to help, Maud must uncover what lies beneath Cathal's decades-old hostility and the strange activities of the house itself.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Beautiful, magical, gripping. Brilliant.

  • By J. O'connor on 23-03-18

First time

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-03-18

First time I’ve read Jess Kidd but I shall be reading more of her books. Good intriguing story read brilliantly .

5 of 5 people found this review helpful