LISTENER

Debbie Neill

  • 12
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 43
  • ratings
  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,122
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,029
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,031

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent

  • By Jools on 17-04-16

Have loved all three Nathan Cody books.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-10-18

fantastic story, loads of twists and turns throughout. Narration is excellent, story fast paced. Excellent!!

  • Don't Make a Sound

  • Nathan Cody, Book 3
  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 9 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 633
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 592
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 591

You can't choose your family. Or can you? Meet the Bensons. A pleasant enough couple. They keep themselves to themselves. They wash their car, mow their lawn and pass the time of day with their neighbours. And they have a beautiful little girl called Daisy. There's just one problem. Daisy doesn't belong to the Bensons. They stole her. And now they've decided that Daisy needs a little brother or sister. DS Nathan Cody is about to face his darkest and most terrifying case yet....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackson Makes it a Hat Trick!

  • By Simon on 08-05-18

Really good story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-09-18

First book I've listened to in this series, and I loved it. Characters were believable, story was fast paced and kept me guessing till the end. Highly recommended!

  • The Outsider

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 18 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,864
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,723
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,721

When an 11-year-old boy is found murdered, forensic evidence and reliable eyewitnesses undeniably point to the town's popular Little League coach. But the jailed suspect, arrested in a public spectacle, has an alibi, and further research convinces Detective Ralph Anderson that the coach was indeed out of town. So how can he have been in two places at the same time?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The Outsider Stands Tall

  • By Simon on 24-05-18

outstanding

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-06-18

An absolute masterpiece from beginning to end. Stephen King at his best.
Will Patton is a brilliant narrator

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Kill the Father

  • By: Sandrone Dazieri
  • Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
  • Length: 18 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 288
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 273
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 271

When a woman is beheaded in a park outside Rome and her six-year-old son goes missing, the police unit assigned to the case sees an easy solution: they arrest the woman's husband and await his confession. But the Chief of Rome's Major Crimes unit doubts things are so simple. Secretly, he lures to the case two of Italy's top analytical minds: Deputy Captain Colomba Caselli, a fierce, warrior-like detective still reeling from having survived a bloody catastrophe, and Dante Torre, a man who spent his childhood trapped inside a concrete silo.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great

  • By mrs.d on 28-12-17

Fabulous story,great narration

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-04-18

A rollercoaster of a story, with lots of twists and turns and clever theme. Highly recommend it

  • Then She Was Gone

  • By: Lisa Jewell
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,327
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,005
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,004

A missing girl. A buried secret. From the acclaimed author of I Found You and the Richard & Judy best seller The Girls comes a compulsively twisty psychological thriller that will keep you gripped to the very last moment. She was 15, her mother's golden girl. She had her whole life ahead of her. And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone. Ten years on, Laurel has never given up hope of finding Ellie. And then she meets a charming and charismatic stranger who sweeps her off her feet.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent

  • By Kate on 18-10-17

Couldn’t stop listening!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-11-17

Fantastic story, believable characters, highly recommend this to anyone!
My first Lisa Jewell novel but definitely not my last!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Nightmares and Dreamscapes

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Matthew Broderick, Stephen King, Tim Curry, and others
  • Length: 26 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 203
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 183
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 183

A star-studded cast of readers presents unabridged tales of horror and suspense from master storyteller Stephen King. The Stephen King Amusement Park - an unnerving experience, with rides every which way to hell...and a few to glory. A solitary finger pokes out of a drain. Novelty teeth turn predatory. The Nevada desert swallows a Cadillac. Meanwhile, the legend of Castle Rock returns...and grows on you. What does it all mean? What else could it mean?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Stories fantastic, music terrible,

  • By S. Yarrow on 29-09-16

Great collection of creepy tales

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-10-17

Great stories, narration was better in some than others but overall really good. Worth a listen

  • The Angel Tree

  • By: Lucinda Riley
  • Narrated by: Julia Barrie
  • Length: 20 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 481
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 436
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 436

Thirty years have passed since Greta Marchmont left the Marchmont Hall. Now she finally returns, with amnesia and no memory of her past. But a walk through the wintry landscape leads to a disturbing discovery: she comes across a grave in the forest, and the weathered inscription on the cross tells her that her own son is buried here. Greta begins to search for the woman she once was, and to do so she must summon all of her courage....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Well a poor man's classic at best

  • By Rose on 03-04-17

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-07-17

This was a fantastic story full of twists and turns. Great characters, and beautiful narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Ghostwritten

  • By: David Mitchell
  • Narrated by: William Rycroft
  • Length: 15 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 263
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 247
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 247

An apocalyptic cult member, a jazz buff in Tokyo, a woman on a holy mountain, a burnt-out lawyer, a Mongolian gangster, a redundant spy, a despondent "zookeeper", a nuclear scientist, a ghostwriter, a ghost, and a New York DJ are all tenuously connected. All of them have tales to tell, and all must play their part as they are caught up in the inescapable forces of cause and effect.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An Engrossing Whirlwind

  • By Antti on 03-09-14

Utterly confusing

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-08-16

I have listened to all David Mitchell's previous books and loved them. However, I found this almost impossible to follow. Not sure if it was the story itself or the narration. Disappointed

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Tent, The Bucket and Me

  • By: Emma Kennedy
  • Narrated by: Emma Kennedy
  • Length: 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 551
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 517
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 518

For the '70s child, summer holidays didn't mean the joy of CentreParcs or the sophistication of a Tuscan villa. They meant being crammed into a car with Grandma and heading to the coast. With just a tent for a home and a bucket for the necessities, we would set off on new adventures each year stoically resolving to enjoy ourselves. For Emma Kennedy, and her mum and dad, disaster always came along for the ride no matter where they went.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great fun.

  • By c jennings on 02-12-15

Hilarious!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-07-16

This is simply the funniest book I have ever read or listened to! I laughed out loud throughout!

  • Never Look Back

  • DI Mike Lockyer, Book 1
  • By: Clare Donoghue
  • Narrated by: Karl Prekopp, Imogen Church
  • Length: 8 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 730
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 657
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 661

Three women have been found brutally murdered in south London, the victims only feet away from help during each sadistic attack. And the killer is getting braver.... Sarah Grainger is rapidly becoming too afraid to leave her house. Once an outgoing photographer, she knows that someone is watching her. A cryptic note brings everything into terrifying focus, but it’s the chilling phone calls that take the case to another level. DI Mike Lockyer heads up the regional murder squad. With three bodies on his watch, and a killer growing in confidence, he frantically tries to find the link between these seemingly isolated incidents.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An excellent debut

  • By Saffy on 25-04-14

Good Story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-03-16

Really good story, lots of twists and turns and the characters are believable. Recommend it!