LISTENER

MR

  • 17
  • reviews
  • 60
  • helpful votes
  • 18
  • ratings
  • Bring Me Back

  • By: B A Paris
  • Narrated by: Kevin Hely, Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 7 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 620
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 576
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 574

The million-copy best-selling author returns with a breathtaking thriller. The disappearance. The suspicion. The fear....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I Love Paris in the Springtime!

  • By Simon on 08-03-18

well worth the wait!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-06-18

absolutely brilliant, twists, turns, red herrings etc. it's been a while since I've shouted out loud in bed with my headphones on in dawning realisation of what's coming. highly recommend.

  • Everything Is Lies

  • By: Helen Callaghan
  • Narrated by: Anna Popplewell, Sian Thomas
  • Length: 11 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 862
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 805
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 802

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Everything Is Lies by Helen Callaghan. Sophia's parents lead quiet, unremarkable lives. At least that is what she's always believed. Until the day she arrives at her childhood home to find a house ringing with silence. Her mother is hanging from a tree. Her father is lying in a pool of his own blood, near to death. The police are convinced it is an attempted murder-suicide. But Sophia is sure that the woman who brought her up isn't a killer....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absolutely mesmerizing

  • By W. M. Koolstra-dekker on 06-03-18

Unexpected!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-05-18

Great narration, sad theme but still a great thriller. Did NOT see it coming! very enjoyable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Gone Without a Trace

  • By: Mary Torjussen
  • Narrated by: Emily Pennant-Rea
  • Length: 9 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 131
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 112
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 111

You leave for work one morning. Another day in your normal life. Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone. His belongings have disappeared. He hasn't been at work for weeks. It's as if he never existed. But that's not possible, is it? And if he has gone without a trace, why do you still feel that someone is watching you?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good book

  • By Jools on 22-11-16

spine chilling

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-05-17

found it slow at first but soon caught my attention. gently leads you down the path. end realisation is subtle but still shocks. good narrator. thoroughly enjoyed, late for work as couldn't turn it off!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,445
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,253
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,255

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A must read/listen

  • By Annie Tompkins on 30-03-17

creepily good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-04-17

hooked from page 1
great narrator
diary entries particularly vivid and disturbing
great build up to ending that will delay sleep now....

  • Behind Her Eyes

  • By: Sarah Pinborough
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck, Josie Dunn, Bea Holland, and others
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 930
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 855
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 855

Since her husband walked out, Louise has made her son her world, supporting them both with her part-time job. But all that changes when she meets...David. Young, successful and charming - Louise cannot believe a man like him would look at her twice let alone be attracted to her. But that all comes to a grinding halt when she meets his wife...Adele. Beautiful, elegant and sweet - Louise's new friend seems perfect in every way.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Terrible!

  • By frozentoes on 07-02-17

didn't see THAT coming!!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-03-17

thoroughly enjoyed, although DID want to shake Louise upside down for being such an annoying,weak person

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Woman in Cabin 10

  • By: Ruth Ware
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 731
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 672
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 671

This was meant to be the perfect trip. The northern lights. A press launch on a luxury cruise ship. A chance for travel journalist Lo Blackwood to recover from a traumatic break-in that has left her on the verge of collapse and to work out what she wants from her relationship. Except things don't go as planned. Woken in the night by screams, Lo rushes to her window to see a body thrown overboard from the next-door cabin. But the records show that no one ever checked in to that cabin, and no passengers are missing from the boat.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Don't bother

  • By Claire on 10-02-17

brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-02-17

found it hard going at first, but as it got going, it became reminiscent of a classic Agatha Christie mystery in a beautiful, modern day setting. The ending left me with a genuine, if not guilty, smile. thoroughly enjoyed it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Everything You Told Me

  • By: Lucy Dawson
  • Narrated by: Jessica Ball
  • Length: 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 775
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 713
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 713

You went to bed at home, just like every other night. You woke up in the back of a taxi, over 250 miles away. You have no idea how you got there and no memory of the last 10 hours. You have no phone, no money, just a suicide note in your coat pocket, in your own writing. You know you weren't planning to kill yourself. Your family and friends think you are lying. Someone knows exactly what happened to you. But they're not telling....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Interesting plot but ...

  • By Lulu M on 17-01-17

brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-01-17

I was hooked from page 1....an uncomfortable feeling set in immediately and never left...you just have to know what happened and why!!!!
unputdownable.

  • Dear Amy

  • By: Helen Callaghan
  • Narrated by: Helen Baxendale, John Sackville, Laura Aikman
  • Length: 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,507
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,403
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,397

Margot Lewis is the agony aunt for The Cambridge Examiner. Her advice column, Dear Amy, gets all kinds of letters - but none like the one she's just received: 'Dear Amy, I don't know where I am. I've been kidnapped and am being held prisoner by a strange man. I'm afraid he'll kill me. Please help me soon, Bethan Avery.' Bethan Avery has been missing for nearly two decades. This is surely some cruel hoax. But as more letters arrive, they contain information that was never made public.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Recommend it

  • By Miko on 22-06-16

mesmerising!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-07-16

hooked from page 1.
intriguing but not predictable (not by me lol)
original, exciting, not the "whodunit" I expected but thriller with a clever twist. loved it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Lie with Me

  • By: Sabine Durrant
  • Narrated by: Kirk Bage
  • Length: 8 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,108
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,027
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,026

It starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home. And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of.... Which turns out to be less than perfect.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very cleverly observed and put together.

  • By janice wildchild newman on 02-10-16

brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-07-16

As soon as I started this, I was hooked. Narrator perfect in role. Dark story, impending doom feeling from start to finish, redemption too late etc. would recommend to anyone.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Die of Shame

  • By: Mark Billingham
  • Narrated by: Mark Billingham
  • Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 359
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 337
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 339

Full of betrayal, deceit and suspense, Die of Shame is the spectacular new book from number-one best seller Mark Billingham - author of Time of Death and In the Dark, both soon to be major BBC series. Every Monday evening six people gather in a smart North London house to talk about addiction. There they share their deepest secrets: stories of lies, regret and, above all, shame. Then one of them is killed - and it's clear one of the circle was responsible.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointingly tedious

  • By Kirstine on 16-05-16

really enjoyable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-06-16

I found this took a while to get into but was worth it. I like the "back and forth" scenario and the author has a lovely voice.
the ending literally made me laugh out loud. (for M Billingham regulars)
really good