LISTENER

S E King

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 21
  • helpful votes
  • 9
  • ratings
  • Elmet

  • By: Fiona Mozley
  • Narrated by: Gareth Bennett-Ryan
  • Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 181
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 167

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent. Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape. Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Powerful Story of Outsiders& Family Love/Loyalty

  • By bookylady on 13-10-17

Brilliant!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-02-19

This book is incredible. It has gone straight to my top 5 of thousands of books read over 60 years. I cried when it ended because I didn't want to leave the characters I had become so invested in. It should have won the Man Booker prize! The narrator was exceptional too. It is dark and cruel yet wonderfully compassionate and uplifting all at the same time. Read it!

  • This Is Going to Hurt

  • Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor
  • By: Adam Kay
  • Narrated by: Adam Kay
  • Length: 6 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 12,508
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 11,406
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 11,355

Welcome to the life of a junior doctor: 97-hour weeks, life and death decisions, a constant tsunami of bodily fluids, and the hospital parking meter earns more than you. Scribbled in secret after endless days, sleepless nights and missed weekends, Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt provides a no-holds-barred account of his time on the NHS front line. Hilarious, horrifying and heartbreaking, this diary is everything you wanted to know - and more than a few things you didn't - about life on and off the hospital ward.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Well written, Well told

  • By The_Animagus on 23-09-17

read this book!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-08-18

I started listening to this book in a hospital waiting room. strange looks as I intermittently exploded with laughter during the two hours there. I couldn't have picked a better place to be to start this book. Reading it will make you laugh but it will also make you angry...very angry at what is happening to doctors in the NHS. So go ahead and read it!

  • Dead Woman Walking

  • By: Sharon Bolton
  • Narrated by: Julia Barrie
  • Length: 12 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 265
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 239
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 237

Just before dawn in the hills near the Scottish border, a man murders a young woman. At the same time, a hot-air balloon crashes out of the sky. There's just one survivor. She's seen the killer's face - but he's also seen hers. And he won't rest until he's eliminated the only witness to his crime. Alone, scared, trusting no one, she's running to where she feels safe - but it could be the most dangerous place of all....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Crime thriller with Nuns

  • By Andromeda's Twin on 16-05-17

excellent story telling<br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-01-18

this story had me gripped from begining to end. it twists and turns until the very end.

  • The Sellout

  • By: Paul Beatty
  • Narrated by: Prentice Onayemi
  • Length: 9 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 675
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 601
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 602

Born in Dickens, Los Angeles, the narrator of The Sellout spent his childhood as the subject in his father's racially charged psychological studies. He is told that his father's memoir will solve their financial woes. But when his father is killed, he discovers there never was a memoir. Fuelled by despair, he sets out to right this wrong with the most outrageous action conceivable: reinstating slavery and segregating the local high school, which lands him in the Supreme Court.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A hilarious must-listen for the ages

  • By Gabe Fleming (Audible staff) on 14-08-17

difficult

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-10-17

This was a difficult book and though I finished it I would have found it easier to read the book myself. There were visual clues in the book that were missed in the audible version.

  • The Power

  • By: Naomi Alderman
  • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh, Naomi Alderman, Thomas Judd, and others
  • Length: 12 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,443
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,188
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,186

'She throws her head back and pushes her chest forward and lets go a huge blast right into the centre of his body. The rivulets and streams of red scarring run across his chest and up around his throat. She'd put her hand on his heart and stopped him dead.' Suddenly - tomorrow or the day after - girls find that with a flick of their fingers, they can inflict agonizing pain and even death.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Visceral, Stirring and Inspirational

  • By Raine on 29-12-16

Scary, thought provoking

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-07-17

I found this story very gripping and at the same time thought provoking. The narrator is excellent and the voices become real people with all their character and subtleties exposed. The parallels to present day world events are sometimes a little clunky but I forgave this because those parallels also made me think.

  • Red Joan

  • By: Jennie Rooney
  • Narrated by: Juliet Stevenson
  • Length: 14 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 75
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69

Joan’s voice is almost a whisper. ‘Nobody talked about what they did during the war. We all knew we weren’t allowed to.’ Joan Stanley has a secret. She is a loving mother, a doting grandmother, and leads a quiet, unremarkable life in the suburbs. Then one morning there is a knock on the door, and suddenly the past she has been so keen to hide for the last fifty years threatens to overturn her comfortable world. Cambridge University in 1937 is awash with ideas and idealists

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An excellent but different spy story

  • By Marie on 27-07-16

a gripping book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-06-17

I loved this book..the story, the reading and the moral ambiguities. The story is gripping from begining to end but all the time it is making you think, what is right and what is wrong. The characters are sympathetic and beautifully created while Juliet Stevenson brings them to life superbly. Brilliant!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Days Without End

  • By: Sebastian Barry
  • Narrated by: Aidan Kelly
  • Length: 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 714
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 661
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 660

Having signed up for the US Army in the 1850s, aged barely 17, Thomas McNulty and his brother-in-arms, John Cole, go on to fight in the Indian wars and ultimately the Civil War. Orphans of terrible hardships themselves, despite the horrors they both see and are complicit in, they find these days to be vivid. Both an intensely poignant story of two men and the lives they are dealt and a fresh look at some of the most fateful years in America's past.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Beautiful

  • By AnnaJean Hughes on 01-03-17

brilliant.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-05-17

Fantastic story telling and superb narration. It is a bit gory in places but worth slogging through those bits to get to the enlightening perspective on life the author gives us. The voice of the narrator holds you tight and you cant help falling in love with him.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • I See You

  • By: Clare Mackintosh
  • Narrated by: Rachel Atkins
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,004
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,658
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,656

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it's there. There's no explanation, no website - just a grainy image and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it's just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I See Something Very, Very Impressive Here!

  • By Simon on 28-07-16

gripping

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-16

A brilliant performance of a gripping story. I was scared witless whilst listening to it but couldn't stop!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful