LISTENER

DAS

  • 13
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 19
  • ratings
  • The Wife Before Me

  • A Twisty, Gripping Psychological Thriller
  • By: Laura Elliot
  • Narrated by: Michele Moran
  • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 68
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 67

One evening as the sun is setting, Amelia Madison’s car slides into the sea off Mason’s Pier. Her body is never found. Two years later, Elena Langdon meets Nicholas Madison. She is grieving the loss of her mother, he is grieving for his wife. Together, they can help each other. Now, Elena is living with Nicholas. But Elena doesn’t really know him. She doesn’t know what he is capable of. And she doesn’t know what really happened to Amelia. Until the day she discovers the torn page of a letter and the words she reads chill her to the bone. 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Weak

  • By Janice on 19-10-18

You got that coming

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-09-18

Controlling, manipulating, abusive , jealously, insecurity to a level where it is unhealthy. Didn't see that coming. What an ending. Fantastic! the suspense!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 30 Days a Black Man

  • The Forgotten Story That Exposed the Jim Crow South
  • By: Bill Steigerwald, Juan Williams - foreword
  • Narrated by: Grover Gardner
  • Length: 12 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1

In 1948 most white people in the North had no idea how unjust and unequal daily life was for the 10 million African Americans living in the South. But that suddenly changed after Ray Sprigle, a famous white journalist from Pittsburgh, went undercover and lived as a black man in the Jim Crow South. Escorted through the South's parallel black society by John Wesley Dobbs, a historic black civil rights pioneer from Atlanta, Sprigle met with sharecroppers, local black leaders, and families of lynching victims.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The truth be told

  • By DAS on 25-08-18

The truth be told

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-08-18

loved this book. A white man seeing and experiencing for himself, the deprivation and segregation of black people living in Jim Crows South, and revealed his experience to the world.

  • Dreams from My Father

  • A Story of Race and Inheritance
  • By: Barack Obama
  • Narrated by: Barack Obama
  • Length: 7 hrs and 8 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 582
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 449
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 450

Dreams from My Father is a masterpiece: a refreshing, revealing portrait of a young man asking the big questions about identity and belonging. The son of a black African father and a white American mother, Obama recounts an emotional odyssey. He retraces the migration of his mother's family from Kansas to Hawaii, then to his childhood home in Indonesia. Finally he travels to Kenya, where he confronts the bitter truth of his father's life and at last reconciles his divided inheritance.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Inspiring

  • By Mr. Elbow on 04-10-16

There is hope

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-18

What a life! So uplifting to learn about the journey of Obama's life. Enjoyed this book because it did not come across as if he was reading a book, he was simply telling the story. I was hooked.

  • What I Know for Sure

  • By: Oprah Winfrey
  • Narrated by: Oprah Winfrey
  • Length: 3 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,317
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,150
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,141

The inspirational wisdom of Oprah Winfrey, collected for the first time in a beautiful book. After film critic Gene Siskel asked her, 'What do you know for sure?' Oprah Winfrey began writing the 'What I Know For Sure' column in O, The Oprah Magazine. Saying that the question offered her a way to take 'stock of her life', Oprah has penned one column a month over the last 14 years.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Just what I needed to hear right now

  • By Ms. Laura Mercier on 04-05-16

Truly Inspirational

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-07-18

Listened to this book three times. It is uplifting, Inspirational, and soul searching...Love Oprah, Love this book.

  • Their Lost Daughters

  • Audible's breakthrough crime author of 2018
  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,778
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,543
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,535

Deep in the muddy fields of the Lincolnshire Fens, a teenage girl is found wandering, delirious, claiming to have been drugged at a party. Metres away, the drowned body of another girl is found on an isolated beach. And all this on a small stretch of land where, nearly 10 years ago, the shocking disappearance of a young girl remains an open case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Smokin' Start to a New Series!

  • By Simon on 14-06-18

What a storyline

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-07-18

Wasn't sure about it at first, but got into it quite quickly. The twist, turns, cover ups, and corruption. Who would have thought it would end like this!

  • Love Will Tear Us Apart

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Kate Rawson
  • Length: 10 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 11
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 10

Fearing eternal singledom, childhood friends Kate and Paul make the age-old vow that if they don't find love by thirty, they will marry each other. Years later, with the deadline of their 30th birthdays approaching, the unlikely couple decide to keep their teenage promise. After all, they are such good friends. Surely that's enough to make a marriage?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Not one of Molly's best

  • By DAS on 03-07-18

Not one of Molly's best

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-07-18

I struggled to finish this book. For me, it got interested in the last few chapters.

  • Clover Moon

  • By: Jacqueline Wilson
  • Narrated by: Amy Enticknap
  • Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 19

Clover Moon's imagination is her best escape from a life of hardship in poverty-stricken Victorian London. When tragedy plunges her into a world of grief, Clover realises that everything she loved about the place she called home is gone. Clover hears of a place she could run to, but where will she find the courage - and the chance - to break free? And could leaving her family be just what she needs to find a place that really feels like home?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Good but

  • By Liz Wonnacott on 08-05-17

Another masterpiece

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-06-18

Opened up your eyes on the hardship, poverty, cruelty, and abuse faced being born in the Victorian day in a poor family. As always, I love the way Jacqueline writes her stories.

  • Rose Rivers

  • World of Hetty Feather, Book 2
  • By: Jacqueline Wilson
  • Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
  • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 17

A wonderful new story starring old friends and new from the much-beloved Victorian world of Hetty Feather. Rose Rivers lives in a beautiful house with her artist father, her difficult, fragile mother and her many siblings. She has everything money can buy - beautiful dresses, horse-riding lessons, books - but she’s not satisfied. Why can’t she be sent away to a good school like her twin brother? Why can’t she learn to become a famous artist like her father or his friend Paris Walker? Why is life so unfair for people who were not born rich?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow i love 💘it

  • By helen castle on 01-08-18

Loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-06-18

As always, I really enjoyed this book. storyline well written. I was gripped and could not stop listening. Excellent performance.

  • Try Not to Breathe

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Lucy Middleweek, Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,170
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,864
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,858

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense. Some secrets never die. They're just locked away. Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

  • By Pete on 02-12-16

Another fantastic story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 31-05-18

what a fantastic storyline! I was gripped throughout the whole story. I was on the edge of my seat. the twists, turns, and suspense.

  • Don't Close Your Eyes

  • By: Holly Seddon
  • Narrated by: Katy Sobey, Kate Rawson
  • Length: 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 471
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 436
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 435

A juicy, powerful listen featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart and the shocking family secrets that bind them.... Robin and Sarah weren't the closest of twins. They weren't even that similar. But they loved each other dearly. Until, in the cruellest of domestic twists, they were taken from one another. Now in her early 30s, Robin lives alone. Agoraphobic and suffering from panic attacks, she spends her days pacing the rooms of her house. The rest of the time she watches - watches the street, the houses, the neighbours.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very very good

  • By Amazon Customer on 25-07-17

Twisted

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-05-18

Fantastic . A bit sad. Families torn apart by the selfishness of the parents of the parents.