LISTENER

Sandra Robinson

  • 37
  • reviews
  • 15
  • helpful votes
  • 62
  • ratings
  • Apple Tree Yard

  • By: Louise Doughty
  • Narrated by: Juliet Stevenson
  • Length: 14 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,359
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,172
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,165

Yvonne Carmichael has a high-flying career, a beautiful home and a good marriage. But when she meets a stranger she is drawn into a passionate affair. Keeping the two halves of her life separate seems easy at first. But she can’t control what happens next.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Gem, But Not Flawless.

  • By Richard on 24-01-14

Couldn't put it down

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-01-19

Well written and beautifully narrated one of the best books I have read in a very long time

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,158
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,056
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,050

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Vanessa on 22-02-14

Disappointed

Overall
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-12-18


The book started well but as it went on the storyline became more and more unbelievable, I became bored and disinterested long before it ended

  • The Mistake

  • By: K. L. Slater
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,523
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,363
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,360

You think you know the truth about the people you love. But one discovery can change everything.... Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister, Rose. Two days later he is found dead. Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy's death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother? Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, who she has known all her life.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Tragic Coming of Age

  • By Simon on 01-12-17

Not for me

Overall
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-18

I found this book predictable with characters who were unrealistic. Same old plot and definitely uniforms

  • When I Was Invisible

  • By: Dorothy Koomson
  • Narrated by: Susy Kane, Sara Powell
  • Length: 14 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 178
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 161
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 161

In 1988 two girls with identical names and the same love of ballet meet for the first time. They seem destined to be best friends forever and to become professional dancers. Years later, however, they have both been dealt so many cruel and unexpected blows that they walk away from each other into very different futures - one enters a convent, the other becomes a minor celebrity. Will these new 'invisible' lives be the ones they were meant to live, or will they find that kind of salvation only when they are reunited 20 years later?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Dorothy Koomson is back on form!

  • By Emily on 06-08-16

Original and well constructed

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-10-18

Although the story kept me hooked ,the constant time changes became tedious and confusing at times.

  • Our Kind of Cruelty

  • By: Araminta Hall
  • Narrated by: Nick Hendrix, Eleanor Matsuura
  • Length: 8 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 86
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 79

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall, read by Nick Hendrix and Eleanor Matsuura. Passion, obsession... and murder. A deeply unsettling psychological thriller in which a secret game between lovers has deadly consequences. Most of us spend our whole lives searching for the person who’ll make us feel complete. But Mike and Verity know they’re different. They’ve found their soulmate, and nothing can tear them apart. Not even the man Verity is marrying.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Reminds me of Ruth Rendell/Barbara Vine

  • By Gerard on 06-05-18

WOW !

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-07-18

One of the most chilling books I've read. The characters are plausible the story original and fast paced. Narration was brilliant . Moreplease.

  • Faking Friends

  • By: Jane Fallon
  • Narrated by: Sally Scott, Kristin Atherton
  • Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,077
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 984
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 983

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Faking Friends by Jane Fallon, read by Sally Scott and Kristin Atherton. Best friend. Soulmate. Confidante. Backstabber. Amy thought she knew who Melissa was - then again, Amy also thought she was on the verge of the wedding of her dreams to her long-distance fiancé. When her career begins to unravel, she pays a surprise trip home to London. Her boyfriend Jack is out, but another woman has been making herself at home....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Didn't want it to end

  • By JGC on 18-01-18

Not Blown Away

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-18

Thought this would be a better read from the reviews but I found it a little far fetched and by halfway through didn’t really care how it ended.

  • The Innocent Wife

  • By: Amy Lloyd
  • Narrated by: Christina Cole, Lorelei King
  • Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 416
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 380
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 379

Twenty years ago Dennis Danson was arrested and imprisoned for the brutal murder of a young girl in Florida's Red River County. Now he's the subject of a true-crime documentary that's whipping up a frenzy online to uncover the truth and free a man who has been wrongly convicted. A thousand miles away in England, Samantha is obsessed with Dennis' case. She exchanges letters with him and is quickly won over by his apparent charm and kindness to her. Soon she has left her old life behind to marry him and campaign for his release.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow! This held my attention!

  • By Ann D on 02-03-18

Original Story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-06-18

Although the narration became a little over the top at times, the story was original and had many dark moments which kept me listening

  • It's Always the Husband

  • By: Michele Campbell
  • Narrated by: January LaVoy
  • Length: 10 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 69
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 59
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 59

It's always the husband...unless it's the best friend. Kate, Aubrey and Jenny are inseparable at college - friends who promised they'd always be there for each other. But 20 years later, their friendship is about to take a deadly turn. Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door, but when one of the friends dies in shocking circumstances, will everyone assume that it's always the husband? Or could it be the best friend?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wasn't what I expected

  • By sharpei100 on 11-02-18

Hooked from page one

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-06-18

A refreshingly different thriller , well crafted story with all the twists you could want. I really could not put this book down

  • The Other Woman

  • By: Sandie Jones
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 294
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 271
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 270

The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances' The Girlfriend and B A Paris' Behind Closed Doors. There's nothing that this mother wouldn't do for her son.... Emily thinks Adam's perfect: the man she always hoped but never thought she'd meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. A mother whose love for her son knows no bounds.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent throughput!

  • By Teddi on 08-04-18

A surprise on every page

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-04-18

Couldn't stop listening a well constructed and narrated story - another book like this please

  • Almost Love

  • By: Louise O'Neill
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 7 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 103
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 88
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 89

When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard. So it doesn't matter that he's 20 years older. That he sees her only in secret. That slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job. But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt. Isn't it?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Obsession and objectification - dark tale

  • By K. J. Noyes on 07-03-18

Beautifully written

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-03-18

A poignant and well narrated story taking the listener down a dark path at times, but a masterclass in obsession

2 of 2 people found this review helpful