LISTENER

HarrietJ

  • 15
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • The Ticket

  • A Love Again Novel
  • By: Heather Grace Stewart
  • Narrated by: CJ Bloom, Gary Furlong
  • Length: 5 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars 1

Would you travel the world with a perfect stranger? Fasten your seat belts for an emotional journey filled with humor and adventure. Bachelor and newscaster Pete McCarney buys two plane tickets for a trip around the world with his girlfriend, but they split up shortly before the trip, and he can't get a refund. In a gutsy last-minute move, Pete goes on social media asking for women with his girlfriend's exact name to join him on the trip. Twenty-one women apply, and the ensuing interview process is both awkward and hilarious. 

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • ok

  • By HarrietJ on 06-12-18

ok

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-12-18

this is a story about travel apparently so I expected a lot more scenes from the holiday. There were few. the novel attempts to deal with some real life themes like divorce and cancer which is great but I felt they were a bit rushed. didn't do them justice

  • An American Dream

  • By: Norman Mailer
  • Narrated by: Christopher Lane
  • Length: 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3

As Stephen Rojack, a decorated war hero and former congressman who murders his wife in a fashionable New York City high-rise, runs amok through the city in which he was once a privileged citizen, author Norman Mailer peels away the layers of our social norms to reveal a world of pure appetite and relentless cruelty. One part Nietzsche, one part de Sade, and one part Charlie Parker, An American Dream grabs the listener by the throat and refuses to let go.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic writing. trippy surreal story. loved it.

  • By HarrietJ on 29-09-18

Fantastic writing. trippy surreal story. loved it.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-09-18

fantastic accomplished writing. loved this book. interesting story so glad I read this marvellous book

  • Just a Child

  • By: Sammy Woodhouse
  • Narrated by: Katy Sobey
  • Length: 8 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 157
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 140
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 142

Sammy Woodhouse was just 14 when she met Arshid Hussain. Ten years older, he promised to take care of her. Sammy thought she was in love, but in reality she was being groomed by a ringleader of Britain's most notorious child sex ring. Just A Child tells the heartbreaking story of how a young girl from Rotherham was abused by her drug-dealing 'boyfriend', eventually giving birth to his baby, right under the nose of the very authorities who were meant to protect her. When reality dawned, Sammy realised she was one of countless vulnerable child victims - many of whom were trafficked around the north of England.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • outstanding bravery by this woman.

  • By Amanda Kelly on 11-07-18

great read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-07-18

A decent and seemingly honest account of child sexual exploitation. a challenging read in that it really makes you think about how widespread abuse is

  • Fangirl

  • By: Rainbow Rowell
  • Narrated by: Maxwell Caulfield, Rebecca Lowman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 177
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 168
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 169

Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they're off to university, and Wren's decided she doesn't want to be one half of a pair any more - she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It's not so easy for Cath. She's horribly shy and has always buried herself in the fan fiction she writes, where she always knows exactly what to say and can write a romance far more intense than anything she's experienced in real life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • As amazing as I knew it was going to be.

  • By Jodie Wilkins, Fanlovesbooks on 04-11-16

Urghh boring

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-07-18

boring uninteresting meandering story. annoying main character and the narration... what was going on with the sad low energy voice for the entire book. drove me mad!

  • Surprise Me

  • By: Sophie Kinsella
  • Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 289
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 263
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 264

Random House presents the unabridged, downloadable edition of Sophie Kinsella's new title.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Not the norm

  • By Sophie Anderson on 13-03-18

ok not the best kinsella

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-07-18

bit of a boring main character and not the most engaging plot. not my favourite SK novel

  • Almost a Bride

  • Destination Love, Book 2
  • By: Jo Watson
  • Narrated by: Carly Robins
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 23
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 23

Annie is having a very bad year. First she walks in on her boyfriend having sex with another woman. Then she accidentally gets arrested and loses her job. So when her sister invites her on a trip to Mauritius, Annie jumps at the opportunity to get away from it all. But her holiday soon turns into a nightmare when she discovers her ex and the other woman are staying at the same resort. But then Annie meets Chris, a cynical screenwriter with a bad case of writer's block.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • loved it.

  • By Amazon Customer on 04-07-18

most boring predictable story I've ever heard.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-02-18

boring. predictable. dull. dreary. uninteresting. no laughs. urghh i just hated all of it sorry

  • The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck

  • A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life
  • By: Mark Manson
  • Narrated by: Roger Wayne
  • Length: 5 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,392
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,928
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,860

For decades we've been told that positive thinking is the key to a happy, rich life. "F*ck positivity," Mark Manson says. "Let's be honest, shit is f*cked, and we have to live with it." In his wildly popular Internet blog, Manson doesn't sugarcoat or equivocate. He tells it like it is - a dose of raw, refreshing, honest truth that is sorely lacking today. The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck is his antidote to the coddling, let's-all-feel-good mind-set that has infected modern society and spoiled a generation, rewarding them with gold medals just for showing up.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • First half interesting, second half meh

  • By P. Healey on 30-03-17

hated it. so boring. so juvenile. learnt nothing.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-12-17

boring simple thoughts dressed up as something deep amd important. written in a juvenile, irritating way. waste of time

  • The Light We Lost

  • By: Jill Santopolo
  • Narrated by: Jill Santopolo
  • Length: 7 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 84
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 76
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 78

It's 11th September 2001. Lucy and Gabe meet in New York on a day that will change their lives - and the world - forever. As the city burns behind them, they kiss for the very first time.

Over the next 13 years, they are torn apart, then brought back together, time and time again. It's a journey of dreams, of desires, of jealousy, of forgiveness - and, above all, of love. As Lucy is faced with a devastating choice, she wonders whether their love is a matter of destiny or chance.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • hated every word

  • By HarrietJ on 24-11-17

hated every word

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-11-17

most cliched book imaginable. self indulgent. couldn't have cared less about the main character. spoilt and privileged and not remotely interesting

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • The Kind Worth Killing

  • By: Peter Swanson
  • Narrated by: Karen White, Keith Szarabajka, Johnny Heller, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 196
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 175
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 176

'Hello there.' I looked at the pale, freckled hand on the back of the empty bar seat next to me in the business class lounge of Heathrow Airport, then up into the stranger's face. 'Do I know you?' Delayed in London, Ted Severson meets a woman at the airport bar. Over cocktails they tell each other rather more than they should, and a dark plan is hatched - but is either of them being serious? Could they actually go through with it? And if they did, what would be their chances of getting away with it?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Didn't hold my interest

  • By Mrs on 26-08-16

incredible book!!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-11-17

Amazing amazing book, kept me guessing from the start to finish and the ending is fantastic. Very skilled tight writing and gripping storytelling. Perfect!

  • Sweetpea

  • By: C. J. Skuse
  • Narrated by: Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 791
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 741
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 737

Rhiannon is your average girl next door, settled with her boyfriend and little dog...but she's got a killer secret. Although her childhood was haunted by a famous crime, Rhinannon's life is normal now that her celebrity has dwindled. By day her job as an editorial assistant is demeaning and unsatisfying. By evening she dutifully listens to her friend's plans for marriage and babies whilst secretly making a list. A kill list.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic

  • By D. Childs on 29-05-17

Fantastic book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-09-17

incredibly well written book. creepy character. gripping story. will appeal to fans of Maestra or Dexter. loved it!