LISTENER

Mrs

  • 30
  • reviews
  • 7
  • helpful votes
  • 49
  • ratings
  • In the Frame

  • By: Dick Francis
  • Narrated by: Tony Britton
  • Length: 7 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 86
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 70

The house was stripped bare of all its treasures. Gone was the furniture, the family silver, the paintings and the antique china. And if that was a shock for Charles Todd, painter of horses, how much more harrowing was the trauma for his cousin Donald, whose house it was and whose young wife lay on the sitting room floor, bloody and dead... A coincidental meeting with a middle-aged widow sends Charles off to Australia, on the trail of a gang with a fruitful business in forging works of art.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Dick Francis at his best

  • By Mrs on 15-01-19

Dick Francis at his best

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-01-19

I Loved this book as usual with dick francis you don't have to be mad on Horse Racing, The story twists and turns and takes you to the other side of the world. Loved Tony Britton narration.

  • Crisis

  • By: Felix Francis
  • Narrated by: Martin Jarvis
  • Length: 10 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 113
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 102
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 101

Harrison Foster is a lawyer by training but works as a crisis manager for a London firm that specialises in such matters. Summoned to Newmarket after a fire in the Chadwick Stables slaughters six very valuable horses, including the short-priced favourite for the Derby, Harry (as he is known) finds there is far more to the ‘simple’ fire than initially meets the eye. For a start, human remains are found amongst the equestrian ones in the burnt-out shell. All the stable staff are accounted for, so who is the mystery victim?   

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Irritating Americanisms

  • By MJD on 21-09-18

enjoyed

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-10-18

brilliant as usual great incite to horse racing with a good who dun it. keeps you wanting more.

  • I've Got Your Number

  • By: Sophie Kinsella
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,103
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 825
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 822

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier: She is about to marry her ideal man. But in one afternoon, everything begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill, but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations and mysterious phone calls, she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic!

  • By VINCENS on 14-04-12

loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-10-18

this book is funny entertaining and lovely. I felt sometimes it was me, telling lies and getting in to more trouble. at the end it is a love story.

  • The Girl in the Letter

  • By: Emily Gunnis
  • Narrated by: Jane McDowell
  • Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 114
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 95
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 96

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved. 1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave. Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A fairly good read...

  • By Anonymous User on 17-12-18

Loved it!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-09-18

Couldn't put this book down. I got a bit confused at the beginning and had to read the first couple of chapters again. When I understood all the characters I was hooked and really enjoyed the story and all the different characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Nurses of Steeple Street

  • By: Donna Douglas
  • Narrated by: Penelope Freeman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 91
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 77
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 78

Welcome to the district nurses' home on Steeple Street, where everyone has a secret.... Ambitious young nurse Agnes Sheridan had a promising future ahead of her until a tragic mistake cost her the love and respect of everyone around her. Now she has come to Leeds for a fresh start as a trainee district nurse. But Agnes finds herself facing unexpected challenges as she is assigned to Quarry Hill, one of the city's most notorious slums.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • District nursing between 2 World Wars

  • By SUEDENIE on 24-09-16

lovely easy read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-08-18

easy read, and enjoyable 1920 in northern england when people really cared . will look for other titles from this author.

  • Come a Little Closer

  • By: Rachel Abbott
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,000
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 927
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 921

Snow is falling softly as a young woman takes her last breath. Fifteen miles away, two women sit silently in a dark kitchen. They don't speak, because there is nothing left to be said. Another woman boards a plane to escape the man who is trying to steal her life. But she will have to return sooner or later. These strangers have one thing in common. They each made one bad choice - and now they have no choices left. Soon they won't be strangers, they'll be family....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic as ever

  • By Hayley on 16-06-18

enjoyable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-08-18

another good inspector Tom mystery. Enjoyed this book lots of twists and turns. want to read more from this author.

  • Villa in Italy

  • By: Elizabeth Edmondson
  • Narrated by: Nicolette McKenzie
  • Length: 13 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 604
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 543
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 543

Marvellously atmospheric tale of strangers summoned to a grand but neglected villa on the Italian coast. Each of them has been named in a will, but nobody knows their benefactress.... Four very different people are named in a will. Delia, an opera singer robbed of her voice by illness; George, an idealistic scientist who cannot face what his skills have created; Marjorie, desperately poor and unable to dislodge her writer’s block; and Lucius, ostensibly in control but whose personal life is in chaos.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent book

  • By david dodson (purple triangle ltd) on 24-02-16

loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-08-18

the story was lovely lots of twists and turns and how came together in the end great.

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,316
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,207
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,208

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Story well worth a listen

  • By Cathryn B. on 11-04-16

very gripping

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-08-18

this book is good reading twists and turns insights into the world of a cop.

  • The Woman Who Met Her Match

  • A funny romantic comedy that will make you laugh out loud!
  • By: Fiona Gibson
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 11 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 308
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 272
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 272

What if your first love came back on the scene...30 years later? After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her 40s, but she's got a good job and wonderful children, and she's happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough. That is until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her - after 30 years.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Dreadful

  • By Claire Boynton on 20-07-18

lovely light reading

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-08-18

I enjoyed this book because it is light easy reading good beach book looking for more from this author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,146
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,045
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,039

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Vanessa on 22-02-14

enjoyed <br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-08-18

I enjoyed this book had lots of twists and turns, will look for more titles from this author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful